We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, incredible place, but leave the food out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Las Terrenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peninsula House
Save Saved
You added The Peninsula House to your Saves list
Calle Coson, Las Terrenas 00013, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, incredible place, but leave the food out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Peninsula House is a place you will not want to leave, except maybe to just grab some dinner in town.

The house is perched high on a hill that faces the ocean. Once you manage to find the entrance, you'll drive up the steep hill and arrive at the gorgeous house, a blend of colonial, spanish, and asian architecture, with even more diverse and tasteful interior decor and gorgeously serene views of the ocean and Las Terrenas coast.
NOTE: The hotel instructions can be somewhat vague, unless you are used to navigation to the tune of "go past three hills, then tun left at a white house and continue on the road until you come across a gate." So ASK for very clear instructions when you go.

The rooms are big and beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the house. What we loved about The Peninsula House, is that you are made to feel at home immediately! Jerome, one of the hosts, is just wonderful and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable immediately. Because the hotel has only 6 rooms, it is very easy to feel like this really is your personal tropical abode.

We were concerned of not being 'ocean front'. But this in fact worked better. The hotel has a great beach house less than 7 minutes away. And the beach with its crystal clear blue water is amazing! It goes on and on with few people in sight. You can drive there yourself, or the hotel staff will be happy to drive you. It was so much nicer to spend the day at the beach and then retreat to the house in the evening; it gave us a good opportunity to engage in other things and visit the town and feel like we actually lived in Coson/Las Terrenas.

The town is not far away either--about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It is buzzing and full of wonderful and fun people. Great restaurants as well. Which leads me to the only downside fo the Peninsula House: The food is not great. Everything seemed deeply cooked in butter, butter, and more butter. The food was not typical Caribbean food. And that is fine, but I believe they aimed for a French style of preparation and it just was not working (unless you like butter). Also, you would think that they would serve local tropical fruits given they are in a tropical country. The fruit at breakfast left something to be desired. It did not taste fresh or local. Beautiful China, though.

Overall, a magical place. Just go enjoy dinner in town.

Room Tip: They have 6 rooms and all are wonderful. But ask for a room that directly faces the ocean of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Peninsula House is one of the most perfect places I have stayed.

The region of the DR where the hotel is located (Las Terrenas) is fairly accessible, but it somehow remains almost empty. Running three miles on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and seeing exactly zero people is a beautiful thing indeed.

The house itself sits about 10 minutes from the beach, high in the hills. The view is the best I've seen in a long time. The house has just 6 rooms, and the owner and staff make you feel as though it is your house. The rooms are all quiet different, but each is large and carefully decorated.

The food was top notch, as was the service. Thomas, Sophie, Jerome, Luca and all of the other staff have managed to create the perfect balance of service - it is both low key and attentive. Jerome's mojito is easily the best I've had. Also try the cafe Coson at the beach house.

I would suggest avoiding activities - and I am normally an activities junkie. We saw humpback whales, which was nice, but the entire time I was wishing I had stayed at the beach relaxing.

I think everyone should go, but at the same time I want to keep quiet about it because I want to have the place to myself. If you are deciding between The Peninsula House and some other Caribbean destination, go to The Peninsula House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The most challenging part of The Peninsula House is finding it - but once found it doesn't disappoint. The old world charm began when Jerome greeted us at the door after our drive up the long and winding road to its door (thank you Lennon and McCartney). We were barely across the threshold when we were offered drinks as we were shown to our chamber. Chilled champagne followed! The entire house was a lovely and welcome taste of European decor and atmosphere. Our room was adorned with a chandelier in the entry and opened to a spacious bedroom complete with a four poster and a separate area filled with a velvet couch and chairs. Antiques and artwork were everywhere. The doors and windows opened to the balcony which overlooked the rolling, manicured lawns. I sank into the couch for a time and sighed when I entered the enormous bathroom. I was delighted by the french style bathtub - the large double walk in shower and the L'occitaine soaps and shampoos. I didn't think it could get much better - then came dinner. A starlit night on the wraparound porch - exquisite china and service. Jerome hovered but didn't annoy. The meal was to die for - one of the best we have had anywhere on our travels. Marie Claude and her staff, Sophie and Jerome outdid themselves. The history and culture that this hotel offers is a lovely throwback to the old world elegance of France, Africa and Asia - right down to the dishes and other adornments. Breakfast in the morning on the sunny balcony was complete with silver coffee and tea pots and toast and jam. Unfortunately on our visit there was construction noise from a neighbouring villa - however it didn't dampen my enthusiasm for this magical place. It is a delightful escape into another world. I promise you will be charmed.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay and the Peninsula House is beyond amazing! The staff, the location, the view exceeded any expectation. A special place run by a family with great passion! Chef and Beach House bar staff is amazing!

Room Tip: must take the full day quad (ATV) trip recomended by Sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Peninsula House offers impeccable service, food, and amenities in a quiet, secluded setting. The attention to detail is astounding, and the house is incredibly beautiful, with gorgeous antique furniture, lush plants, beautiful artwork, stunning ocean views, five-star food . . . even the silverware was the most beautiful that I've ever seen. What really made this place worthwhile, though, was the kindness and attentiveness of the hosts. They went above and beyond to welcome us, help us, and make us feel comfortable during our stay. This place is perfect for couples who want a romantic getaway!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had a phenomenal experience at the Peninsula House from start to finish. The setting, design, rooms, service and food were impeccable. The views and grounds are unbeatable, and the beds are easily the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The value was terrific -- far superior to the run-of-the-mill larger places that we've seen elsewhere in the the DR. We felt privileged to be in such a wonderful and unique place and hope to be able to return -- it is a once-in-a-lifetime vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

we are two couples that always go away on vacation together. We were greeted when we arrived by the owner and three large dogs. This was a suprise since one of our friends is very scared of dogs. We were surprised that this small hotel had three dogs living on the first floor. This is a small inn as what you would consider more like a B&B. The place was secluded and had an armed guard sitting on a white chair outside of the front entrance-probably for security. The roads are not paved and not in a very safe area either. We stayed at the small inn as we did not want to venture into town as there were no signs. This is for someone who wants complete quiet and to be secluded from other people. We found the previous reviews to be somewhat misleading unless things have changed for the worse very recently. We wouold not recommend this place for a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Guy12, Public Relations Manager at The Peninsula House, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Mortgagemall,

I'm sorry but we believe you have mistaken us for another hotel as we have had no recent bookings of 2 couples "traveling together" prior to the 16th May 2011.

We have had other couples traveling together that stayed with us in early April, however... they were not visiting from New Jersey.

We do hope that you keep The Peninsula House in mind for your next trip with your friends when your travel plans permit.

Best Regards,
Cary
The Peninsula House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula House

Address: Calle Coson, Las Terrenas 00013, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
The Peninsula House Hotel Las Terrenas
Peninsula Las Terrenas
Las Terrenas Peninsula
The Peninsula House Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.