We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely summer evening pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George and Dragon

St. George and Dragon
High Street, Wargrave RG10 8HY , England
0118 940 4474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Wargrave
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely summer evening pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We found this pub in an old (2010) copy of the AA Good Pub Guide, and took a risk in booking a table with friends. Unfortunately food is not served on the terrace after 5:30, whether this was a one off or a regular arrangement we were unable to find out.

The location is fantastic, with a terrace overloking a bend on the River Thames. It was a summer evening, so there were lots of boats on the river so a great opportunity to people watch. The car park is a bit tight, and we had one of the last spaces at 7:30 so you may need to use the village car park which is very close.

The food was fantastic, with a great choice. We had a selection of starters: scallops of the day (with cauliflower puree when we visited); avocado, tomato and prawn cocktail; salt and pepper squid. Main courses were: cod and chips; sea bass fillets with asparagus and samphire; and king prawn, crab, and chorizo linguine.

With drinks on the terrace, a bottle of wine, and a tip we paid £100 which we all thought was a bargain, especially given the location and potential to overcharge.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    73
    62
    81
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Evening - Food and Service Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm amazed by these negative reviews. We went on a busy Friday evening, requested a table near the window beforehand and were given one. Service was excellent, friendly and efficient, we were warned that there was a 40 minute wait for food but our starter arrived within 10 minutes and mains probably less than 30 after that. Food great. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars are due to another reviewer saying they had run out of tonic which is laughable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This pub/restaurant is in a wonderful spot alongside the river Thames. For that alone it is worth visiting. But if standing and queing at the bar waiting to be served is another of your pastimes then this is definitely the place to go. The service standards at the bar are shocking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but the food is poor,& what pub/restaurant runs out of tonic water on a Saturday, this one does!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been using the G&D for many years, so it was interesting to receive a response to "Can I get you a drink? Gin & tonic please. Sorry we ran out of tonic this morning." Coupled with the food being pretty average to not very god & smaller portions than 3 months ago, I really cannot recommend except for the location at the moment, Sorry G&D but you used to do very much better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I am stunned!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

George and Dragon has been my favourite restaurant for many years. We live closer to the Warren so visit there frequently but as it was our 5th wedding anniversary, decided to drive out here for a special meal. We visit once every couple of months. I normally only leave reviews for hotels but after this evening, felt I had to write about our experience.

I cannot believe how downhill it has gone. Our special meal was totally ruined. Firstly we had to move as we were put next to a table of 10 who were having a party and we couldn't hear ourselves speak. This didn't go down well when we requested this bug another table was found. Portions were much smaller than usual and food was poor. My wife left half her fish which I tried also and was disgusting. Salt and pepper squid wasn't salt and pepper at all. The gypsy tart (I am a kent boy so know my gypsy tarts) was thick and tasteless. I could go on.

Then there was the service. Not enough staff, took an age to order first drink and meal (we actually had to ask the waitress if we could order now) and it took 50 minutes between our starter and main. I appreciate it was Friday night and it was busy but this is ridiculous. Embarrassingly whilst trying to have our meal, the family next to us who has arrived before us, still hadn't had their main when we were served our dessert. They then complained to the host who claimed it was because we hadn't had a starter and they had so we were quicker through our meal. We had had a starter which they used in their argument so whilst trying to enjoy what we could of a poor evening, there were raised voices and finger pointing which was cringing and we tried to keep our heads down. They left without having their meal and we felt very sorry for them as it was a 40th birthday meal which had been ruined. They had arrived at 1930 and left at 2100 with only a drink and starter. Our experience was slightly better but not much. Staff didn't look like at all that they wanted to be there, no friendliness and we very much had the feeling that everything was a chore for them.

I doubt the management are reading these reviews and judging by the number of poor reviews lately, this must be the case or they are choosing to ignore them. Either way, you have just lost a loyal customer as we walked out and said we won't be coming back here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George and Dragon also viewed

Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to St. George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.