We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second chance....... Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. George and Dragon

St. George and Dragon
High Street, Wargrave RG10 8HY , England
0118 940 4474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 5 restaurants in Wargrave
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Second chance....... Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location. Husband had haddock and chips, haddock had been a little too long in the fryer, chips were a little on the cool side. I had the prawn, chorizo and crab chilli linguine, to be honest five prawns, a table spoon of crab and the smallest piece of chorizo chopped into the tiniest of pieces does not a meal make, however it was very flavoursome.

Last time we visited in the winter I had a pudding of fruit crumble with custard, it literally was warmed through fruit, with a crumbled biscuit sprinkled on top, accompanied by a custard with the consistency of warmed milk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

30% Recommend
    25
    44
    44
    53
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Rude arrogant and surly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Friday lunchtime and there isn't enough staff and the ones there are are rude and unhelpful. Drinks were brought to us and both glasses had lipstick on them. The toilets were filthy with used glasses by the sink and toilet roll all over the floors. Obviously not been checked since closing the night before. The food is good and the decor is lovely, very elegant. This place needs a good manager and some friendly keen waiting staff. The current bunch look and act as though its all a bit beneath them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting on the Thames”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This restaurant has ample in and outdoor seating for guests to enjoy the riverside. Food is modern European and service friendly and attentive. We went on a Thursday lunchtime and it was extremely busy. That said the food when it arrived (a bit slow but we weren't going anywhere) was good. The linguine with prawns was excellent (a few more prawns wouldn't have gone a miss) and my partner had a very good crisp traditional cod and chips. lots of choice on the menu coupled with lovely décor and comfortable seats made this a very pleasant lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Really great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

What a find! We stumbled across this place recently and tonight we had one of the best meals we've ever had. It's a beautiful but unpretentious restaurant, with wonderful, friendly staff and a brilliant chef. It's also very sensibly priced with food that's imaginative and varied without being so 'out there' that you don't want to take a risk. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant evening here, enjoying the sun by the river. The location is beautiful, on a bend of the thames. The staff were all very friendly and there was plenty of them but I don't think they were brilliantly organised so several different people served us during the course of our meal leading to some requests getting muddled.
We ordered off the fixed price menu which was 11.95 for two courses and 15.95 for three. This was excellent value and the food was very good. My only criticism was the poached egg in my asparagus starter was hard.
I would definitely recommend a meal here, especially if it is warm enough to enjoy the outside deck. Be warned the car park is very tight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George and Dragon also viewed

Windlesham, Surrey
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to St. George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.