We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long awaited stay at this beautiful oasis in Northern Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza to your Saves list
Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza
Nuno Rasura 5, 09560 Espinosa de los Monteros, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A long awaited stay at this beautiful oasis in Northern Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had planned a trip from France down to the south of Spain and planned to stay in this hotel in May. We misunderstood the location, believing it was in Burgos center. It is located about 90 minutes out in the countryside away from Burgos, so we missed our first chance...
This last trip, we planned better and mapped it out before going. When we arrived, it was exactly as we expected; beautiful, pristine and out of a history book. A small city castle with stone towers and beautiful grounds.
Our room was contemporary and extremely well done. Queen size beds, beautiful bathroom, spacious and very charming. We ate at their well known restaurant too and it was delicious. The owners personally do everything here and they are very attentive to guests' needs. The entire experience from arrival to check out was perfect. We will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a beautiful experience, we found this treasure by chance. The hospitality was superb as was the food. Nothing was too much trouble, the décor artistic and sympathetic to the beautiful building'

We will be returning next year en route to Santander ferry, a small detour but very worthwhile.
The Simons-Denville family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilabao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Juan helped to make it special by preparing an evening meal for us that surpassed all our expectations. I don't think I've ever experienced better cooking: the careful selection of top quality local ingredients, the fine combination of tastes, colours and smells were all fabulous!
Our room was lovely and spacious with a big arched window overlooking a walnut tree, just the place to savour 20 wonderful years of married life!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A great building which had been sympathetically and artistically restored but our bedroom and I suspect all on the second floor do not have windows but roof lights which detracted from the accommodation.
The restaurant offers high quality food and service but I suspect to get the best from you need to speak some Spanish.
The hosts are hard working and have created something of an oasis in this otherwise unremarkable part of Spain. But place this comment in context of the striking and vast landscapes on offer across Spain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan miguel o, Propietario at Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We regret that you liked the window of the room ,but being a century XII tower ,you can not open de Windows and the 2an floor which is where you were .The only solution was to puy a velux., but in other romos if you`re another tipe of window.
In the restaurant ,we will deliver the menus (cards) in english ,but I appreciate you comment because folllowing you suggestion we will try epand the esplanations of the diferents dishes from the menú.

thank you very much for you avice and yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thanks Juan and Olga for these warm and amazing days, in your unique hotel. We enjoyed our stay in the medieval tower - XII century, nicely and homely restored. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and so friendly, so the restaurant, high quality and a appropriate mix between innovation and traditional products. Even more, the place is the only in his category all over the region. Do not miss!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza

Address: Nuno Rasura 5, 09560 Espinosa de los Monteros, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Espinosa de los Monteros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Espinosa de los Monteros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.