We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haselbury Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Haselbury Mill to your Saves list
Haselbury Mill
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   The Cottage, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne TA18 7NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We got married at the Haselbury Mill Tithe Barn in August 2013. The barn is absolutely stunning and very adaptable for the type of wedding and reception which we wanted and we had lots of time to set up and add our decor the day before the wedding.
The staff were always very friendly and accommodating; the owner Minnie, answered all of our questions very promptly via email and made us feel at ease before and on the big day itself. She cleared up any queries or concerns professionally.
The food supplied during our stay was excellent and varied and the hotel were very able to cater for a number of food allergies at the wedding reception.
We would definitely recommend Haselbury Mill and the Tithe Barn as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    59
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
135
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here at the weekend. Lovely location, very peaceful. Room fantastic, comfortable, clean and warm. The staff were excellent as was the food. Breakfast was wonderful. Would recommend for a great weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a result of a Christmas present from our daughter. The location is nice and rural and the grounds pleasant.

The staff were welcoming and the lady who showed us to our standard room offered to upgrade us to a superior room ( the Coach House) free of charge as she was concerned that the standard double might not have accommodated me, as I am over 6ft 3" she was probably right but it was very kind of her.

The evening meal was very good and well priced, we had the duck and it was delicious. Breakfast in the granary room was also pleasant.

The staff throughout were polite, engaging and attentive and really did make the stay a relaxing and enjoyable short break.

Would I come again/recommend? Yes, absolutely I would.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A lovely weekend here. Bridal Suite was gorgeous! Did not book it but was given it by request by emailing beforehand. The four poster bed was super comfy, and the huge bathroom great with the romantic double ended roll top bath. Also the high spec giant shower was a winner. Had afternoon tea and very good evening meal in cosy restaurant - lovely views. As we're the views from our room. Breakfast very good also.

Only issue was the temperature of the suite...it was freezing. The radiator in the bedroom and towel heater in the bathroom was just not warm enough in the winter. Such a shame. That said would definitely recommend! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the bridal suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Went on a travel zoo offer and was a very nice place to stay. The staff made our stay as were so welcoming Good standard of rooms would recommend this place.The grounds are lovely and the rooms are well kept.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Went on a travelzoo offer and wasn't disappointed. Weather was wet, cold & windy but the hotel was warm and welcoming - just what we needed. Checking in was effortless and we were shown to our room in the Georgian Mill house. Lovely warm and well appointed room. Didn't have a bath but had a more than adequate shower plus the usual toiletry selection. Even had a little mini fridge!!. Bed was very comfortable so we enjoyed a great night's sleep. Had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. The menu offered several choices for each course and the food was well prepared, well presented and tasted great. The chocolate fondant desert with homemade walnut ice cream was a particular delight !!.
Afterwards we went to Windy Millers (on-site) and enjoyed a pint and listened to the live music.
Breakfast didn't disappoint and was to the same high standard as the evening meal.
The staff were welcoming and very attentive / accommodating.
It also appears to be a popular wedding venue.
Highly recommended - especially for people who enjoy a more intimate surrounding versus the larger hotel environment.
We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaselburyMill, General Manager at Haselbury Mill, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and I am delighted you've enjoyed your stay so much.

I will certainly pass on your comments to all the team. It was a pleasure having you with us and I really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Denis Verrier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night with the special meal, B&B deal. The evening meal was absoutely fantastic, lovely flavours, attentive staff. Breakfast in the morning was pleasant. But our room in the old mill house (Oak room) wasn't good-no headboard to the bed, rickety wicker bedside tables, bathroom roller blind that didn't fit down to the bottom of the window, no bathmat. But the general setting of the whole place was lovely-you can see the focus is very much on weddings and big events, and the tithe barn looked stunning! Just make sure you ask not to be booked into that room.

Room Tip: Avoid the Oak room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaselburyMill, General Manager at Haselbury Mill, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I was of course delighted to see how much you had enjoyed our hospitality in terms of food, service, and of course the staff. It is always so enjoyable to hear such positive comments.

Obviously, I was rather more disappointed in regards to your comments concerning your room Oak Tree. I have taken note of them all and will certainly act on your comments where appropriate. I am pleased to say that we are currently going through a rolling program of work in regards to the rooms which will ensure that our rooms continue to provide and meet all of our guests needs.

Once again, thank you again for your comments and i hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Haselbury Mill in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Denis Verrier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haselbury Plucknett
1.4 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel
Yeovil Court Hotel
#8 of 12 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
11.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haselbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haselbury Mill

Address: The Cottage, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne TA18 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne > Haselbury Plucknett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Haselbury Plucknett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haselbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described as “Probably the most beautiful setting in the South West of England” The original buildings date back many centuries and are of great local interest with a history stretching back to the times of William the Conqueror and are reportedly mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Haselbury Mill is truly the ultimate somerset venue to commemorate and celebrate the special days in your life. The three magnificent listed buildings & newly built Tithe Barn provide the focus of this superb conference, restaurant, hotel & wedding facility. The Georgian Mill owner’s house & adjacent cottages have been transformed into a luxuriously appointed 21-bedroom hotel all with High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. All rooms are en-suite and are exquisitely appointed to add that little touch of luxury to the beautiful surroundings. The original Mill buildings have been sympathetically converted to a stylish restaurant and underneath can be found a traditional local's bar with flag stone floors and oak panelled walls. The Four storey Granary building nearby encompasses a lakeside bar and restaurant and further function and conference rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haselbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haselbury Mill Hotel Crewkerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haselbury Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.