We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful home in a traditional English Vilage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peveril House Bed and Breakfast

Peveril House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peveril House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Peveril House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster BH21 4AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A beautiful home in a traditional English Vilage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Peveril House for two nights, as we were in Sturminster Marshall for a wedding. The house is in lovely grounds, and the room itself is very comfortable.

However, it is the helpfulness of the hosts Jo and David which I will remember. They were able to give us advice on where to eat in the evening, and Jo even arranged for me to go to her hairdresser before the wedding.

The breakfasts were a real treat.

I would like to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A beautiful house and garden in quiet surroundings. Jo and David are the perfect hosts and their attention to detail is impressive. Delicious breakfasts. I have stayed with them many times and always look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in Garden Room with friends (2 couples) as we had a function in local Party Field. Absolutely perfect for our needs, everything required was thoughtfully catered for. Opted for a continental breakfast that was left in the room, this proved to be a fantastic option as it meant we could eat when we wanted and it was a great spread which, weather permitting, we ate on our private patio in the wonderful, extensive gardens.
Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a tranquil stay in Dorset.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a flying job to do early at Bournemouth and there is a very convenient small private airstrip two hundred yards away at Newton Peveril, so landed there and stayed overnight at the B&B.

Friendly, well furnished, spotless with wifi and every convenience and a very nice pub, serving food, a short stroll away.

Highly recommended and will be back I'm sure!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach BC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property is accessed down a long driveway leading past a lovely pond and well kept lawns, up to the gorgeous old home. It was a chilly spring day when we arrived and Jo offered us a cup of tea and yummy goodies which was very welcome.

Inside, the house is very tastefully decorated. The room was comfortable and warm with plenty of fluffy towels in the ensuite. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the room and fresh milk is left outside your room each morning. The breakfasts are excellent with a large variety of cereals, juices and fruit followed by a choice of cooked items made to order.

Jo and David are gracious hosts and nothing is left undone.

We are experienced B&Bers in Canada, the US and in Europe and this is one of the best. We stayed here 4 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Peveril House and found it First Class in every way. A charming cottage set in a beautiful, wildlife-friendly garden on the outside; a modern and elegant home on the inside. The accommodation is excellent, with nothing left out that can add to comfort. Breakfasts are scrummy - we could have eaten them 3 times a day! but there are several pubs serving very good food a few minutes drive away, so we did not need to. Jo and David so warm and friendly, you really do feel welcome.

This B&B is within easy reach of many of the most beautful and interesting places in Dorset, such as Lullworth Cove, Corfe Castle and the Isle of Purbeck. All in all one of our best English holidays.

Christine & Dan D.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful property can be a your sanctuary for a very good price. The owners are friendly and make you feel more than welcome. They go over and above what you would expect and the cakes on arrival are very tasty and home made. The breakfast is fresh and some from the garden which will keep you going all day.
The room is lovely and comfy, it just feels like home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peveril House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peveril House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster BH21 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster > Sturminster Marshall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Marshall
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peveril House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.