We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy Easter!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant

Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant
37 Northgate | Baildon, Baildon, Bradford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Baildon
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shipley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unhappy Easter!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our fish n' chips. But felt hurried to order. Ordered an adult meal for my two small children to share (dearer than 2 kids meals combined!!). Easter offer of a free Easter egg ( actually a Cadburys creme egg!) With childs meal. Despite spending £26.00 Manager refused my two kids the offer. Shame on you Simon Clark. Jobsworth manager. Maybe a staff outing to the smile factory would be useful too!!! Happy Easter .....but not here!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    11
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food, but overpriced and run by Mr. Scrooge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been a big fan of Websters (Idle branch) ever since it opened, until it closed down recently.so we thought we'd give the Baildon branch a try.

The food was excellent - can't fault it. fish perfectly cooked, chips just right. Portions good but not excessive.

The staff were pleasant and helpful.

so why the low score you may ask, well dear reader please bear with me and all will be revealed.

The prices were a shock. A whole pound more expensive than the Idle branch. I know you expect to pay more for a sit down as opposed to a take away but twice the price is asking a bit much. £9.45 for a standard fish & chips and £11.75 for a special. The food was good, but not *that* good.

The main reason for the low review however is the debacle with the loyalty card. This was a fairly recent thing started by the (now closed) branch in Idle. This is a "buy 9 meals and get the 10th free" kind of thing. We had accumulated 6 stamps on this card and when we heard about the branch closing I enquired about the loyalty card status. No problem came the reply, you can use it at the other branch in Baildon.

So we did.

Or rather we tried.

To cut a long story short (too late!) they have a "policy" or only stamping one card per person per visit. so if you go as (say) a family of three, you get three cards, each with one stamp on! Since at this rate we would have to buy 27 meals before there was any chance of a free one I produced my existing card and asked whether we could have all 3 meals on there. Oh no came the reply, the boss has said we can put one stamp on a card per visit.

Now, compare this to almost any other loyalty card (EG McDonald's, costa, cafe nero etc) and you get as many stamps as coffees you have bought. (and usually the bonus crops up sooner - say after 6 or 8 not 10) stamps.

This, combined with the whopping prices leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth, which unfortunately is not sufficiently compensated for by the excellent food.

Damn shame...

-M

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Would definately return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

What a lovely fish and chips place- the atmosphere was like we were at a sea side restaurant. It is quiet and old fashioned and wonderful. We have eaten the take away at the Webster's in Saltaire which was very tasty indeed- and decided when we were next in the area to try the sit down in Baildon- we were told that the company had opened up a couple of other locations. There is a lot of choice- larger portions, scampi, prawn salad etc. You can purchase a beer or wine by the glass which also we found added to the dining experience.The place is clean and the staff always helpful. Only point maybe that could improve is that the room itself is rather cold.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Websters_2014, Manager at Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it!
we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over price refryed rubbish..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the last time i Will buy from this fish shop... Bought this cake this evening.. In one word disgusting .. Burnt .. Re cooked... Vile....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great yorkshire fish shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

have visited Webster's on numerous occasions and found the standard as never drop its a clean well appointed restaunt with great fish and chips with very friendly staff its children friendly and easy entrance for the disabled plus a very busy out sales well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Webster's Fish and Chips Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.