We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner in the Fork Restaurant at the Royal Berkshire Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel

FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel | London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot, England
+44 1344 623322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $59
Cuisines: French, British, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: FORK at the Royal Berkshire Hotel is an exciting new restaurant that's open to hotel guests and local residents alike. It has a modern, welcoming ambience thanks to the contemporary design and fresh colour scheme of yellow, grey and black set against the light oak floor and dark oak tables. The stunning wall art and gorgeous views across the beautiful landscaped gardens means that there's always something interesting to look at. The biggest talking point, though, has to be the eye-catching and highly individual three-dimensional FORK artwork that takes centre stage above the fireplace.The kitchen brigade are passionate about local produce with a traceable provenance and take great pride in sourcing the finest, freshest ingredients. The skill of the chefs is matched by an equally professional front-of-house team, who provide a cheerful blend of hospitality and service.Another attraction at this exciting restaurant is the stunning and bespoke wine display. Large enough to hold up to 220 bottles at variable temperatures, its clear glass construction sits alongside a solid wall of glass connecting onto the main hotel corridor. Any guests strolling along the walkway can see right through the wine storage into the restaurant and out to the grounds.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner in the Fork Restaurant at the Royal Berkshire Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We decided to return to the Fork Restaurant for a family birthday meal we were not disappointed on our second visit, we had pre dinner drinks on the terrace over looking the wonderful gardens and we even saw the local monk jack deer starting to forage for its dinner.

For starters we thought we would all choose a different starter so we could all have a pick of one an others, this proved to be an excellent decision as the mix of duck spring rolls, salmon and steak went down a treat!

We then choose our mains all of our party choosing a different choice, one went for the pork belly, one for the flat iron steak, one for the veggie burger and the last choice was the cod dish all cooked really well and served with an excellent selection of sides.

On this occasion we left just enough room to share one of the desserts so we decided on the sharer fairground dessert...you must try this one out.

Overall and excellent meal can't wait for another visit later in the year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very adverage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I took my partner there as a birthday treat and was bitterly disappointed. Although the décor of lemon and grey is pleasing to the eye, that was about the nicest thing about the place and the wooden floor boards although nice to look at vibrated as if a herd of elephants were crossing them every time a waitress walked by. I asked for a nice table and we were seated in a row of very close two seater tables, with large lamps hanging over each table, hardly intimate, in fact the couple next to us once seated took one look at the menu and left ... which in hindsight we should have done the same.

Because of the class of local restaurants in that area, I was really expecting fine dining, however the restaurant is almost canteen like, with service to match. With a very limited menu which on paper sounded a lot better than it actually was, the duck croquettes had bones in them, my salmon and caper salad starter was basically just a piece of salmon on tarter sauce with a few leaves thrown on, the steaks were mediocre and over cooked with the wrong sauce and the fairground dessert a joke at £15.00

Even with the free bottle of wine which is on offer at the moment the bill was just short of a hundred pounds for two, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant it lacks identity and sadly the food isn't all that. It would probably suit somebody staying at the hotel on business, who can't be bothered to drive out to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on amazing grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent a weekend at the Royal Berkshire hotel. The hotel grounds are amazing. The Fork restaurant was nice. The menu is somewhat limited, but the food was nice. The decor is modern, staff was pleasant and friendly. Their recyclable bottles used to served bottled water was a nice touch. I was initially concerned that the water was tap water, but the waitress took the time to explain. We had a ribeye steak with buttered potatoes, a hand-made burger and (I can't remember what it was my son had). We all enjoyed the meal and it was generally a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reunion dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great food, great service, great atmosphere, that's what we experienced at Fork. We booked a table for 10 adults for a family reunion and everyone was impressed with all aspects of the dinner. Everyone ordered three courses, the quality and creativity of all the dishes stood out and this was matched by the attentiveness and efficiency of the staff. Serving a table for ten is not easy and they got all the orders spot on. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, explaining certain items on the menu and making recommendation. If the opportunity arises we will return and we will dine at Fork.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went as a family group for dinner, as we are local to the area. We awere all quite excited as it was a new restaraunt in the area and we had heard good things about it. We received a fairly lukewarm welcome but were taken to a nice corner table. I like the decor, its cool contemporary and comfortable. People have commented on the lack of music and atmosphere, it maybe could do with some cool jazz instrumental-at a low volume-just to give a little vibe maybe. One problem is with service- or lack of it. We went on a Saturday and there was one waitress for the whole restaraunt! When the place filled up by 8.30pm people were sitting staring at each other wondering when we might get served. The place wants to be known for steak but its odd they don't serve Fillet, or Sirloin, two of the most popular cuts. My wife ordered rib eye, medium but it was unedible, no flavour, it was as if it had been boiled. We asked for it to be changed, it was changed to the pork belly which was very tasty. Some of the dishes were okay, the cod was nice, the duck starter was tasty. The salmon starter was a piece of smoked salmon steak but with nothing else on the plate, it would have been better with some sliced cucumber, cherry tomatoes,or salsa, or sweet chilli-something to take the edge off the salty smokiness. Overall we came away a bit disappointed. Sunningdale and Ascot have many good restaraunts, standards are high, and i think Fork needs to try harder.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel also viewed

 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FORK at Royal Berkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.