We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, really big portions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sorrentina

La Sorrentina
72, High Street, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9NN, England
01344 876200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Sunninghill
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food, really big portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I took my family here and I must say, the food was delicious. We had a three course meal each and all the food from the Calamari starter to the Tiramisu pudding was delicious and such large portion sizes! The staff were all friendly, chatty, and happy to help. We certainly will be returning soon, we're so lucky to have this restaurant so close to home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    19
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything I want in a local food joint.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We moved to the area this year and have ended up in fair proximity to the various eateries of Sunninghill. Our waistlines and ability to home-cook have suffered as a result. Chief culprit is La Sorrentina....a genuine Italian restaurant run by genuine Italians. Food wise you get what you pay for....not fancy, overdone, over priced food.....more likely tasty, great value, Italian homespun food.

Easy to pop in for a glass of house and a bowl of pasta.....or scrub up and make a full night out of it and take in the delights of the dessert trolly too.

Driving by a couple of weeks ago we were greeted by the sight of a dozen teens stood outside wearing faux chef hats looking very much like they are about to toss some pizza dough....a birthday party I presume ?

There are many worse value places, but not many better. If you want relaxed and welcoming, you can do a lot worse than this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad example of Italian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

wanted a ITALIAN and visited on Friday evening. The restaurant was busy ; appeared to be a big party. We and booked for 3, and we were offered a table close to front door and this an area at entrance that should not have a table; two small tables joined but the tables of uneven height!A pre drink Campari was unavailable and you would expect a Italian to stock same.the service was slow;bread poor,food when it did arrive was poor. My wife asked for filleted Fish and was served with bones ; requested change and Head waiter said"this is the best we can do" Fish returned and my wife went without !peppered,Steak served with whole pepper not crushed

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Authentic a firm local Favourite..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stumbled upon this hidden gem as newcomers to Sunninghill Village about a year ago on a Monday evening when most of the other village restaurants were shut. We were greeted with a friendly "Ciao" from the owner, who is, refreshingly, a genuinely Italian from the South of the country working in the industry for years his passion and enthusiasm for authentic rustic italian cuisine was immediately obvious .
After explaining a few daily specials he sent us a complimentary garlic and cheese pizza bread starter from the new fitted pizza oven which was delicious...

We chose a Veal parmesan and chicken and spinach dish which both came served with a generous amount of beautifully seasoned pasta.

We have been regulars ever since, the food is rustic and delicious the restaurant is invariably always busy however a quick call will always secure a table and we still always get a cheery greeting and time for a chit chat from the staff, Try the pan fried squid to start, and the Dover sole is market fresh and superb... or Melanzzano a delicious baked aubergine and cheese dish cooked in a deep rich tomato sauce, am baffled by other reviews comments...I wish I could find this sauce in a tin…..?

Interestingly reading other reviews I have never seen this restaurant open for lunch maybe before it changed hands, I'm sure the owner was mortified to let people down on a special occasion as he is genuinely interested in making sure his customers enjoy their experience….

The service is fast, chaotic, friendly and at times amusing, the owner has a genuine passion for service and this is displayed as he floor manages the busy restaurant with a smile and an eye on every table. Fine dining this is not …however for taste, food choice atmosphere and attention to detail this is our go to favourite in Sunninghill…I would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We happened to be in the area and looking for a restaurant. This place looks like any other Italian but I have to tell you the food was exceptional. It was clearly prepared fresh and with style by the chef. We liked the way the chef delivered the plates to the table. It was busy so maybe he was just helping! The pudding trolley was also fabulous. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorrentina also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to La Sorrentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sorrentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.