We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Just back from two nights and it was just lovely!! Quite apprehensive after some if the reviews but quite frankly people like that should just stay home.... Our room was ready early, which was greatly appreciated, receptionist was just delightful and vert attentive and cheery. To be fair, every member of staff was happy, smiley and bent over backwards.

All prices and charges are very clearly marked and yes it might be pricey but it's a 4 star hotel near Ascot, so if you want cheaper and a lower level of service look elsewhere.

Rooms very clean, bathroom is a bit on the small side but it's not like you are having a party in there! Hotels generally do have noise from other guests but I know I'm a light sleeper so I naturally take earplugs everywhere.... Sorted! You can't blame the hotel for the noise of other guests and if you know you get disturbed easily, do something about it, not whine on here.

Overall, a beautiful hotel, pleasant staff and will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your very fair and balanced Tripadvisor review. I am really pleased you chose to stay after reading our reviews. Whilst from time to time we do make mistakes we aim to achieve very high standards of service and hospitality and reviews are very subjective to the individuals posting them. I am delighted you found the team to be so welcoming.and I hope you do choose to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    268
    188
    83
    40
See reviews for
187
302
18
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. From arrival to departure, all staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was big and the bathroom was a decent size with a good shower. We had drinks and food in the bar during the evening, plus breakfast. All the food was of a really good standard. Couldn't fault our stay here, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 342, a large room on the first floor. We didn't experience any high noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again as it seems you really enjoyed your stay! Thank you for commenting on our staff's friendliness we are all keen to please. We also place a high emphasis on the quality of our food and beverage product and I am delighted you found it to be of a high standard.

Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Toilet broken. Spa broken. Hydro pool broken. Phone in room broken. Keys continuously stopped working. Bath towel had poo on it. Very expensive for the quality of hotel. Staff were friendly but never knew answers to questions.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I would urge you to contact us directly at the hotel as your comments are most unusual and certainly not in keeping with the standards and quality of our Hotel. I look forward to having an opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail as we have no record of a complaint of this nature.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent three nights here with a little one in tow who was desperate to visit Windsor Castle and LEGOLAND. The hotel is very well located for all the surrounding attractions and you can get most places without having to get onto the motorways.

We had booked a family room which had a large clear space for the temporary bed, the bed itself being fairly large and of good quality. The bathroom was a but disappointing as it was really quite small but it was adequate. There is air con which was very welcome given the high temperatures and, overall, the room was fine.

My only real complaint was the sound proofing, both in terms of external noise and room to room. The windows are old metal frames and we could hear every movement outside, especially when someone had their car parked too close to their room and their mobile phone conversations were broadcast far and wide! Equally when the family next door burst into their room at 10pm every night, the noise was unbelievable. It's an old building and the communal areas look great but this would seriously make me think twice about returning.

There is a nice pool and the little one insisted on going every day. no matter how late me got back. Kid's swim times are 4pm-7pm and if you get in there bang on 4pm, you'll likely get it pretty empty. After 5pm the child quotient shoots up.

We ate in the bar and there is a reasonable child menu. The portions for the little ones were very generous although the adult portions were less so. Nevertheless, it suited us. If you fancy a night out, the Windmill pub is only a 2 minute drive away and the food there was very good indeed. The bar opens out onto a lovely terrace which is a really nice place for a quick drink.

The breakfasts were very good and staff always seemed to be filling up things as they emptied, even when it was very busy with a conference in progress.

The real piece de resistance is the staff. From the absolutely charming Canadian girl who checked us in right through to the excellent chap at breakfast time and everyone in between, they were cheerful, helpful and a joy to do business with.

I'm not sure if rooms in the main area of the hotel might be quieter (we were way at the back) but the noise issue was a biggie for us. I used to stay at McDonald Hotels when I worked and they all had one thing in common - fabulous old buildings but inadequate investment, particularly at individual room level. This was no different but the people helped to make up for the other shortcomings!!

Room Tip: I'd be tempted to go for a higher room to dampen down the noise. I actually found the A/C noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience whilst staying with us. I am so pleased that you found our team to be so cheerful - we all work in hospitality as we like to please! Your comments have been noted with regard to our guestrooms and please be assured that we are continually investing in the fabric and facilities of our property and have invested over £1 million pounds in the first half of the year.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed for one night in this fantastic hotel, the room was wonderful, clean and maintained to a high standard. The pool and spa facilities were beyond excellent, with the outside hydropool a distinct favourite. The breakfasts are huge and you can have anything you want. Anything you want is not too much trouble for any of the staff. Very friendly and accommodating - I will definitely stay here again. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Executive suites are lovely, the beds so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Delighted to read your review of your recent stay whilst visiting the area to attend the Red Bull Air Race at Ascot Racecourse. I hope that you have reason to visit the area in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just had a two day visit to the Berystede for my sons marriage at nearby Coworth Park.The hotel was therefore just for sleeping and Breakfast. So first the good things,the room was of a good size as we had booked a de luxe room and it had a very good bathroom with two sinks shower and bath and this was also a good size.The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice as well as th chef in the breakfast area cooking anything you couldn't find on the buffet which was fairly extensive.
The staff both at breakfast and check in were excellent and the parking was very good with ample spaces.

What let it down was that in the conference area was a generator which started at 6 am and went on to midnight so we were only able to get 6 hours sleep at the most. On the night of the wedding we got back to our hotel by 1am so by the time we got to bed we had less than 5 hours.
We had complained to the management about this soon after our arrival on the first afternoon and the manager assured us that it was switched off by 11pm but on the first night we rang down about 11.30 to be told that the earliest it went off was 12 and then they also didn't mention it started again at 6 am. As we were only there 2 nights we didn't ask to be moved on the second day as we had to get to the wedding but I wouldn't stay again and if we had been going the on a normal break I would have checked as we had asked for a quiet room away from lifts and air conditioner units.

Room Tip: You must make sure that you don't get a room close the conference centre part of the hotel altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay. Thank you for your balanced review and please accept my apologies that you were disturbed at night by plant equipment. Clearly this is not the experience I wish guests to have and I am working with our property management team who are re adjusting the operating times on the equipment you mention to the correct times and reviewing options for further sound proofing of the area it is situated in.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a superb stay in this FABULOUS hotel. Our usual choice of hotel is the DeVere chain, which meant we were aprehensive with new accomadation. We had an Executive room, which was well wort the money. The bathroom was first class. The room was eceptionally clean ( I am not easy to please). The bed was very comfortable, the llighting was perfect. I have to mention the staff at this Hotel were eager to please and very friendly without being to obvious. On arrival we were met by Antonella, who took our booking a few weeks before. She was absolutely lovely and remembered small details that made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was first class even when busy, the staff made it look easy, well done to them. As the hotel is near Legoland, there are some children, however, we were not disturbed by them at night and at breakfast the staff accomodated all to feel comfortable.
The hotel is beautiful and gated at night. It has beatiful grounds and is well situated to visit Ascot and Windsor. We would without doubt recomend this beautiful hotel. If you have a problem with walking maybe you should mention this when booking as the hotel has many corridors, not a problem unless walking is a problem, without doubt the staff would accomodate you as Antonella did for us. THANK YOU to all the staff for a very happy stay.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking mention this when booking as the hotel has long corridors (well kept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Many thanks for posting a great review of your stay with us. I am really pleased that the team looked after you so well and in particular Antonella who is a real star! I do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future if visiting the area again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Ascot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.