We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food average hotel room not great customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Berkshire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Berkshire Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Berkshire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food average hotel room not great customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for a break with my husband for some quality time as I had recently had a baby. Restaurant food and staff fantastic but was not told on arrival pool facilities not in use and when advised we were not told on arrival and that we would look to go elsewhere to use their facilities and pay management was not really interested and were advised room was very cheap as it was ! It was a shame customer service not great as did dampen our stay and with 3 children the opportunity to do this does not happen often ! Would recommend the restaurant food although is quite expensive it was a nice treat and lady who served us was excellent. With the experience we had I would not look to stay again but would recommend the restaurant only. Breakfast was ok but as buffet could do with being warmer as cooked breakfast was just warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    55
    15
    7
See reviews for
93
114
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited the hotel on the last bank holiday of May 2013, the hotel itself is really nice with a lovely garden and great proximity to Virginia waters. The main part of the hotel are really nice and decorated well, the rooms are of a very good size.

Down side - The service was very slow with the need to chase the staff to get service. The rooms all be it well sized are in need of refurbishment. The pool/spa area is awful, the pool is small and the sauna's (One in men's room and one in women's so if you and your partner go there you have to go in separate sauna's which is far from ideal) and the Jacuzzi no longer exists and has been filled in apparently for the past few years (Pool/sauna not even worth visiting and not worth even putting on hotel list of features. There is also no room service which is poor for a hotel of this size. Restaurant food was good aside from when we visited they did not have half the grilled section available.

Overall the owners need to spend some serious money to bring the hotel up to the standard it should be.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room on the right side of the hotel in the main part of the building as this wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A superb overnight stay. Very courteous staff, especially the receptionist who went out of her way to take interest in our visit. Stopped here with 2 children (4 & 9 years) as it is a 15 minute drive to Legoland. Clean family room and very very comfortable king size bed with quality linen. Hotel set in lovely grounds that had been well maintained. IPads, game stations to amuse children. Also charging lockers for mobile devices. The breakfast was fantastic, from fresh salmon to full english. On the night we stopped we walked 5 minutes up the road to an Italian restaurant, which we would recommend. I would not hesitate in stopping at the Royal Berkshire Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very smart hotel and location for the money. Room was big even with four of us in it, very comfortable and quiet. We slept with the window open!

The food was great, both at dinner and breakfast. Service in the restaurant was a bit sleepy, we had to fetch staff to serve us a couple of times. Although the staff were very polite, kind and welcoming. We had a great evening with the children in the lounge and bar were we had a very relaxing time with friends.
The indoor pool was small and a bit poky and did not feel very special but it was warm, clean and we had fun mucking about in it with the children.
Easy parking and very near lego-land. We thought it would also make a good base for nipping to London or as a pre-flight hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What we lied about the hotel:
Lovely setting in its own extensive gardens
Peace and quiet
Good service
Lots of personality
Very comfortable bed

What we did not like about the hotel:
No lift so if you are disabled you might find this hotel a bit difficult
Decor could do with a bit of an update but it is quite OK
Overpriced food in the restaurant

Conclusion: We liked this hotel as it is set in lovely gardens and we found our night there very comfortable. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Try getting one of the rooms overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. I am pleased to read your really great comments, though also appreciate your remarks about the food value and bedroom décor.
I am delighted to say that our restaurant has been undergoing a major refurbishment and will open with a great new concept in September. Fork restaurant, will offer great local food, simply cooked and priced very competitively. I hope you can return in the near future to give it a try?
Additionally, our plans for continued refurbishment will next focus upon some of our bedrooms. This will be another very exciting time in our short 2 year history since taking over the Royal Berkshire.
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night and would recommend it. The grounds are well kept and sitting out in the garden is lovely. Staff attentive and friendly. Breakfast was excellent.
Was a little worried as to the noise factor as a wedding recepition was taking place but they had there own area and we couldnt hear them in our room.
Rooms here are ok ie bar & sitting area but a little dated and starting to look tired did notice the glass table we sat at a little grubby..bar menu we got given rather tatty.
Our room..again a little dated but ok usual tea/coffee t.v ect.
Now the pool..we used it but felt this could be so much better designed.. Its a little dated and dingy in there. I get the seperate changing rooms but having a sauna in each leaves me wondering how couples can enjoy this.. we wanted to but felt uneasy going into the others changing room. The whole lay out needs rethinking.
All in all it was a lovely enjoyable stay just feel certain areas need a little tlc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel 24th May after a long drive from Harrogate via central London. Lovely receptionist who explained everything perfectly, great room and just what i had requested. Wished i could have stayed longer....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Berkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.