We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy anniversary ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Berkshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Berkshire Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Berkshire Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Happy anniversary ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend at this lovely hotel. It was our 10th anniversary also my husbands 30th.

Receptionist was lovely very professional and helpful with dining options etc.

Arriving in the dark we did not appreciate how fabulous the location is until the next morning . We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Really stunning views.

Champagne in the room which we opened whilst getting changed for dinner.

We decided to eat in the bar and the menu offered lots of choices. We sampled Cajun chicken, pasta, salmon & burgers during our stay and presentation was lovely. Salad dressed subtly so thoroughly enjoyed it. Extensive wine list and cocktails which we enjoyed.

Breakfast was lovely, nice fresh juice, fruit and a hot buffet. Really good.

Room overall I was really happy with, bedding and pillows very fresh and crisp. I normally book contemporary however enjoyed the character.

New Year's Eve dinner was very enjoyable and for £ 29 good price.

The breakfast on New Year's Day was busy. Unfortunately for the staff everyone arrived at once & they tried so hard to help everyone . Chill out people it's a bank holiday! At the end of the day it was all going to be fine! We waited whilst the chef prepared more food and it was lovely. The table next to us ordered poached eggs and they looked amazing. I heard some tables complaining but we were perfectly happy . Just a suggestion...I have stayed in London over new year and n y d offers later sitting for breakfast or even a brunch until 11.30....after all it is the morning after the biggest night of the year!


Well done guys customer service is great especially the guy from the Netherlands in the bar .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 'double' celebration with us!

What a great way to start 2013.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    134
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
95
128
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here many times , like always the staff are proffesional and friendly, Lovely grounds in the summer to have a casual stroll, the rooms are always clean and in good order, different rooms have different characters, but always a pleasure to stay here.

Would recommend to anyone locally or travelling to the ascot area.

Room Tip: Nice local restaurants,and plenty to do as its not far from Windsor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your great comments.

You will be pleased to hear we are just completing a walk way through the woods in the grounds, so on your next visit you could possibly take a stroll though there!

Meanwhile I will be sharing your review with the team.

We look forward to see you soon.
Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my Fiancee for her birthday. we had a suite with a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival. The grounds are lovely and lur room was cosy but grand with a four poster bed. The bar and restaurant were also cosy, with a log fire in the lounge. The food was also delicious and the service friendly and efficient. Couldnt have asked for anything more. I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Berkshire with my husband while he attended a conference hosted there. We found the hotel very charming and loved the grounds. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, allowing us to check in early after our over-seas flight. I believe the accomodations for the conference, although I didn't see them, were very satisfactory and my husband enjoyed attending the conference at hotel. The pool and sauna were also very nice after a cold December day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a weekend break at The Royal Berkshire for a friends 50th/reunion. We each received a warm welcome from the friendly staff, where nothing appeared to be too much trouble.The hotel is luxturious and well placed being in Ascot and near to Windsor.The bedrooms where superbly furnished,spotlessly clean beautiful bathroom, comfy beds and spacious to relax in.We dined at the restaurant, again staff where friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. The food was imagingly presented and impeccably cooked. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind words and review.
I will be sure to pass on your thoughts to the whole team.

It is especially nice to note your great comments about the food.
Our new Executive Chef has been with us since September, settling in very well and cooking many great dishes.

We hope you can find a reason to visit again before next year’s reunion.

Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location of the Hotel is delightful and its gardens are a nice feature. We have stayed here, called in for drinks before Ascot Races and recently had Sunday lunch with out son, daughter-in-law and two young grandchildren.
It is a good option for families with young children because the lunch is a buffet and they do not have to wait for an order to be taken or their food to arrive! The choice is excellent and the price reasonable though the wines are bit excessive and the hotel could do with a reasonably priced house wine on its list. It might sell more!
We just have a couple of suggestions. The dining room was rather gloomy and the lighting could be better to give some ambiance. Secondly there was only a waitress on duty who did not explain that it was a buffet so initially we sat for some time waiting for menus. Finally the staff need to trained to know about what is being marketed. We booked stating that we were using the "Times" offer but it took twenty minutes to sort out the bill with various internal calls to managers - a rather embarrassing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuttrange, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful little boutique hotel in the middle of a fantastic parc, in the landscape of Ascot, very close to Windsor Castle. Just lovely! We stayed here for the wedding of friends, had an ''ok'' room, big enough for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children),nothing over the top, but nice.Good breakfast in a beautiful breakfast-room. Lovely bar too.Nice and helpful staff.To recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Berkshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.