We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back now!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soliman Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay
Soliman Bay, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
PA, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We want to go back now!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We loved staying at Dolce Vita. Soliman bay is so private and beautiful. You won't see anyone on the beach most of the time.
The calm water is perfect for snorkeling, and we saw different kinds of fish.
They have all the snorkeling equipments for you to use. Water is pretty shallow.
We loved the room. We stayed at the downstairs room. Nice and clean. Nice size fridge. Just FYI, no cleaning service on Sundays.
Breakfast was great. Served at 8:30 every morning.
Owners, Connie and Chris were great. Chris answered all my questions so quickly when I e-mailed her piror to arriving. Connie picked us up at the airport. It's $85 one way and about 1hr 30-45min drive. He stopped at nice grocery strore for us. We stocked up on beer and wine there.
Gaspar, villa's caretaker was wonderful. He was always pleasant. He cut open coconuts for us one night, and we had coconuts juice with tequila.

If I have to come up with some cons....,
there's a lot of rocks where you enter the water on the beach. You need beach shoes to walk, but they have many of them available for you to use.
A lot of seaweed, it didn't bother us too much. Tulum beach has seaweed, too.
The road to soliman bay is horrible. about 2km of dirt road with holes.
No stores in walking distance. Only 2? restaurants nearby. Connie can give you a ride to Oscar&Lalo, and they can give you a ride back. Food was OK. And there is Jashita hotel & restaurant on the bay.
But it's only 10-15min to Tulum town/beach, and taxi will cost you about $12-17.

Thank you Connie, Chris, and Gaspar for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles, Belgique
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Made our stay in Mexico most pleasurable. Perfect environment for relaxation and meditation and early morning walks on the beach. Soliman bay is the most beautiful beach area that we visited in Mexico. The smell of ocean breeze each morning and the solitude of a the beach makes it highly recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've stayed in numerous places in the Tulum area and this was the best yet -- will definitely return! Great hosts, lovely property with nice pool and sunning areas, convenient to nearby sites, stores and restaurants. Chris immediately answers any questions or confirms bookings via email.

Room Tip: Check out excellent property website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Everything we wanted and more. The staff were accommodating and friendly and the scenery~AMAZING! bottled water always available, mini fridge in room, wifi in the common area, delicious homemade breakfasts(!), privacy and small town feel. A little removed from everything (Soliman Bay is outside of Tulum) but totally worth it if you just want to relax away from it all, or if you rent a car/use public transport. There is only one (delicious) restaurant in walking distance so plan to rent a car, or become regulars like we did! can't wait to return!

Room Tip: top room-better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

What a find! We never thought it would be such an awesome experience! We were going to do so much site seeing, etc.. but almost the entire time we chose to just hang out and relax at this beautiful place. It was so nice to go to a place that was not a large hotel with lots of visitors. This place only has two rooms and either one would be perfect. We stayed upstairs and it overlooks the bay. The breakfasts were the BEST! Perfect amount of food and excellent! The owners take pride in making your visit perfect. We also felt like the couple that stayed below us could not have been more fun to 'hang out' with. We will go back, no doubt! I must add that the beach and water were so beautiful. We snorkeled to our hearts content! Saw a lot of beautiful fish, even saw a turtle. We walked everyday and did not miss 'not having a car'. I also had a massage on the beach. She was great!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our family rented both of the B&B rooms, one for parents, one for 2 teens. We loved snorkeling right off of the beach, hanging by the pool, getting massages on the beach, and cooling off under the palapa. The proprietors are wonderful and helpful. Great breakfasts!! Definitely check out the Grand Cenote'. Of all the cenotes in the area, it is the most amazing. We stayed for 2 weeks, and it was sooo relaxing. Prepare to not cook, because there isn't kitchen access. Rooms are clean and nice. We hope to stay there again some day!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed at This villa for the 2nd part of our Mexico trip, for relaxation, and privacy while visiting the Tulum area. This place is beautiful and quaint little bed and breakfast, and just as I imagined it would be.

The villa: It is right on hte beach. The beach area is not large, but perfect for one or 2 couples that are looking to get away together. It will give you your owwn private beach, and private pool to enjoy. the landscaping around the vila is incrdeible, and the layout is perfect for a nice relaxing quiet retreat in the tropics.

The room: the room is clean and simple. there are many books there if you forgot a book, or needed an extra one for reading. My wife and I both read from the books they had available. there is no TV, so consider this a getaway for people looking for a brewak from technology and reality for a while. It is a grea tplace to just enjoy and focus on the person you are with. There was mini fridge in the room stocked with sodas, water, and beer which was a nice touch.

The beach: the beach was nice. ther is a lot of seagrass in the water in front of the beach, as this is a protected bay off of a live reef, so that might affect your abilty to get in water if that bothers you. otherwise there are hammocks and lounges to enjoy the sun

The pool; is great and very private. one of the reasons we stayed here was ability to do some sunning sans clothes. we were not dissappointed. pool and beac hat times is great place to be able to tan clothing optional if you so desire.

Overall, this place was perfect for quiet getaway, while exploring Tulum. we would recommend to anyone loking for peace and quiet on their trip. we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay

Address: Soliman Bay, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay Hotel Soliman Bay
Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Dolce Vita - Soliman Bay to your Saves list