We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful place on earth!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soliman Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas
Save
You added Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas to your Saves list
Soliman Bay, Soliman Bay 88870, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The most wonderful place on earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

For my husband and myself, Nah Uxibal is more than a vacation destination, it is our heart and soul. The owners are wonderful people who will bend over backward to be sure your stay is fantastic and the caretakers are absolutly terrific! You can arrange for Victoria to cook meals for you and that is a wonderful treat. Not only is she a terrific cook she transforms your table into a beautiful dining experience. We stay in a Casita when we are there. These are detached from the main villa with the water just steps away. They have full kitchens which is very handy and there are always a few staples in the fridge when you arrive so you don't have to go straight to the store. The bathroom has an outdoor shower which is alot of fun. But maybe the best part is the porch. You can sit out there with your drink of choice and just watch the beauty of Solimon bay. The sunrise on the bay is fantastic.
If you want to stay somewhere that has all the amentities you need but doesn't feel like a hotel at all, Nah Uxibal is the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The owners of Uxibal Villas are unique and kind people.....Skip and Jeannette made sure that our stay was the best it could....they really made us feel like family. The villa was clean neat with the perfect view of the bay. Snorkeling and kayaking each morning were great...and really helped us unwind. When we come back to Tulum...we will stay in Soliman Bay...and we will stay in Nah Uxibal!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We cannot thank Skip and Jeannette enough for the wonderful hospitality and accommodations at Nah Uxibal. We had a marvelous time enjoying the house, the beautiful bay and we felt very secure with the Security at the entrance. Javier and Victoria are marvelous caretakers. Our vacation was perfect... Thank you very much! We will see you again asap.

Room Tip: We like the main house the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dummerston, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I heard on NPR the other day that the coral reef won't be here in 50 years. at Nah Uxibal, you are able to easily swim out to the coral reef and see its beauty. We loved, loved, loved being at Nah Uxibal. it was a dream come true. Being on the beach, thatched hut but with modern amenities, it was all wonderful. We're going back every year, we've decided. We loved the place, the caretakers, the bay, the hammocks, the kitchen, the bathroom, the area, everything.

Room Tip: The Casitas were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

As we made our way to our casita, which sat right on the beach, I could see the beautiful, glistening water peeking through the palms - that brought an immediate smile to my face after driving 1 1/2 hours from Chichen Itza. The property was well manicured and extremely tranquil. The casita was very clean, tastefully decorated and well equipped with all we needed and lots of purified water. Viewing the property on the internet made me a little concerned about the turtle grass close to shore. I decided to just charge through it, which was no big deal at all, and enjoy the spectacular ocean. Once past the grass, I was able to walk and walk and walk and the water was still up to my chest. There was no rips, no under tows, just clear, peaceful water. There were no peddlers on the beach, no one lurking around and no noise. The birds do start to come alive around 5:30 but I can't imagine anyone thinking that was a nuisance. The dog was low key and never made a sound. We arrived on a Saturday so we didn't get to meet the caretakers until Monday. Javier and Victoria are a very nice and helpful couple and, since my husband can speak fluent Spanish, my husband especially enjoyed learning about the Mayan language and culture from Javier. One important thing to mention, people filled our head with doubt and fear before going to Chichen Itza and this area of Mexico. Never once did we have the slightest concern for our safety, as we were treated in a friendly and professional manner everywhere we went. Not that I suggest anyone do this, but on a regular basis, we offered rides to the local housekeepers and restaurant workers making their way down the long, hot road to Soliman Bay. Suggestions: We held off buying some artwork, etc.. in Chichen Itza and Coba thinking it would be less expensive and just as good in Tulum, but were terribly disappointed, so shop elsewhere. Eating in the town of Tulum is much cheaper and be very careful when buying gas. The gas stations were the only slightly shifty place, as they may not reset the pump or give you incorrect change - be on your toes. Travel with toilet paper, don't assume it will be there or you may have to leave a little tip for some. I would not recommend staying in town unless cost is a real issue. You will miss the experience of waking up and walking our the door to the beautiful view the ocean offers. Relax with your morning coffee and just take it all in. p.s. don't eat the watermelon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

we spent 8 days in the most peaceful, earthy and beautiful place!! we could not have asked for a better vacation. it was all we were looking for. no TV, no internet, no AC, no interruptions, only by the rain, the wind, the friendly dogs and wonderful ocean waves!! I hope it stays that way forever! we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

What an delightful experience. From the moment you enquire about Nah Uxibal to the owners, you can expect the exceptional guest service to begin. Jeannette answered all of my questions about the location, travel, rental car companies,activities, etc. within 24 hrs. and this was BEFORE I even booked. This continued after the reservation was made in the form of a guest packet which included information on everything from driving in Mexico to restaurant suggestions in Tulum.
Once we got there we were even happier. The drive is an easy, straight shot from Cancun and when we arrived at Nah Uxibal and walked to Casita IK we knew we were someplace really special. The grounds are beautiful, the breeze makes the Mexican heat disappear, and the bay is gorgeous. Our Casita on the beach was all we could have asked for-- quiet, lovely, clean, and with a kitchen better than some apartments I've lived in! This made it possible for us to travel the way we prefer-- buying food in local markets and cooking for ourselves so that restaurant meals are special.
We arrived on a Saturday so were on our own to settle in until Monday morning when the caretakers arrived for the week. That was fine with us as we wanted our first days just to relax. It was also really nice that we found fixings in our fridge for a light breakfast the next day (provided by Nah Uxibal), since the banks were closed and we were low on pesos (TIP: Get some pesos before you leave to tide you over and remember to bring your debit or credit card for the ATMs; we were unable to exchange dollars for pesos in the banks unless we opened an account there).
And, wow, can you relax there. Peace, quiet, beauty, and easy chatting with the other guests in beach chairs or in hammocks. Nah Uxibal is set up in such a way that even if the place is full, it feels like everyone can have as much privacy as they choose, although we were there when there were not too many people and no kids, which helps keep the noise level down.
The following Monday we briefly met with Rosa, the manager. She had been going around greeting the new guests as she lives off-site. Rosa was an amazing wealth of information and speaks English, which was very helpful. She gave us great suggestions on driving to Chichen Itza and places to stop on the way, among other tips. I only wish she had been around more for those times when we had questions come up that my Spanish wasn't good enough to ask the caretakers, Victoria and Javier, though they were both very patient and helpful.
For the rest of our all-to-brief time at Nah Uxibal, we used our casita as a home base while we explored as much Mayan Yucatan as we could while making sure to get back in the afternoon before it got too hot. It was so lovely to get there and relax on our porch after a hot day exploring ruins or negotiating the banks and cafes of Tulum. We cooked, swam, kayaked for the first time (easy! with the provided kayaks in the calm bay), read, and generally truly relaxed.
We'd go back to Nah Uxibal in a heartbeat, and we did look at other accomodations on a drive one day through the more developed side of Tulum towards the Sian Ka'an bioreserve. But if you are an independant traveler who values smaller, more private accomodations you're not going to want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas

Address: Soliman Bay, Soliman Bay 88870, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in a hammock, listen to the sea, feel the warm breeze and the soft white sand between your toes. Let the beauty and magic of the Maya Riviera sink deep into your bones, restoring your energy and your love of life. Weather you are on your honeymoon, anniversary, or just celebrating life together as a couple or as a family Nah Uxibal can prvide just the right accomodations for a perfect vacation.You are right on the water in the romantic beachfront casitas with thier magnificent views. The front decks are a perfect place to sip a margarita, watch the sunrise or hang out in the double hammock with a good book. Families of 4-14 people can enjoy tbe Main House, with it's large outside terrace, beautiful views, and spacious rooms all under a gorgeous 35ft high round palapa roof. You may rent the just number of bedrooms your family needs, from 2 to 6, all with king beds, private baths and ceiling fans. Our romantic beachfront Casitas are perfect for couples or a small family with one child. These casitas are just 25 steps from the waters edge with wonderful views and are our most popular units. Come and enjoy Nah Uxibal, the snorkeling and the beach are incredible, the accomodations will be more than you hoped for and Javier and Victoria will take care of your every need. You will love it, everyone does! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nah Uxibal Villa And Casitas Mexico/Soliman Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nah Uxibal Villa and Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.