We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sky Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sky Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tankah Bay, Riviera Maya 5 km north of Tulum, Soliman Bay 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We loved this place. We lucked out and the owner was there while we were. They are so nice and accomidating. We were only planning to stay one night but ended up staying two and wish we could have stayed more. It is a great location in Tankah in the middle of beautiful rental homes. you won't see any crowds here. Only six rooms. They are beautiful rooms with nice linen and the best mattresses we found in our mexican vaction from Cozumel to Tulum. We stayed in six hotels on our trip and this was by far out favorite. The cenote across the street was the best we found in all the area. The reaf in fron of the hotel has increadible snorkling. our room opened onto the pool with the beach directly behind. The food was gourmet. At $150 / night it was a stretch on our budget but after a week of $60 bungalos it was so refreshing to have such a nice place. The owner let me use his mountain bike and kayak. They went snorkling with us. They would talk all night with us and answer any question we had. The staff was extremely friendly. If you want a massage they will bring the people to your room. Way to go Blue Sky.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, new mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I have traveled to many Carribean destinations but Blue Sky Hotel is the best I have visited. The superb service started with Jan who was so friendly and helpful in making the arrangements and answering all of my questions regarding the hotel and area in general. She is a true professional.The hotel is a small boutique hotel with only 6 rooms and is very affordable. If your'e looking to get away from the The crowds in Cancun, this is it. An outdoor bar and resturaunt is quaint and very well maintained. The new stone fired pizza is to die for. The rest of the grounds are kept pristine by the constant work of the friendly staff. At the bar, Gilberto is the best bartender ever. Always has a new drink to try and always has the patrons smiling and laughing. The food in the restaurant is very good. Many choices with each a wonderful dining experience. The snorkleing is the best in Mexico. Off the beach or across the street in the fresh water cynote, an underwater world you must see. The management, William, Mike and Yania will make you feel like the only customer at the hotel. I went to Blue Sky to get away from it all and came home with many new friends. Thanks to Everyone at Blue Sky Mexico. See you all soon. john

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

My husband and I plan our vacations around beach, sun, good food. We were pleasantly surprised that Blue Sky exceeded all our expectations. The pictures on the internet were beautiful and we found Blue Sky to be all we hoped it might be. Since it was off season, we did get all the attention! The staff was so accommodating, pleasant, fun to be around. The food was our favorite and even though we tried many wonderful restaurants we still found their food the best! It was hard to choose which meal as they were all very good. The staff was expert at suggesting restaurants we might enjoy. The music playing in the common area was always a lift. A delightful chef. We missed the pizza oven opening but can't wait to get back for that. We loved the view of the water from our room and patio area and soon found the most beautiful beaches in Tulum and Akumal, both are close by and such fun to travel to. We felt safe the entire time we were in the area. The pool was always refreshing and clean. Shopping was easy and abundant and our rooms had a refrigerator and plenty of space to store lots of snacks bought at the modern, well stocked grocery store in Tulum. Our rooms were very nice and clean. Fresh water in our room at no cost was quite a surprise and really appreciated. There was an abundance of life jackets, kayaks, scuba gear, wake boards at our disposal. Fresh beach towels were always available. The staff was well-informed as to all the "tourist" locations and fun things to do we might not have known about. We are planning on returning soon with friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I read a review which was extremely negative, so I came here with my eyes open. All I can say is that whatever reviews dealt with the former managment (a guy named Tony) should be discarded as useless. The new group, the owner having discarded the old, is friendly, helpful, knowledgable, and simply great. The rooms are fantastic, all are large air-conditioned and full of art. The food is fabulous. While in the area we went to top rated restaurants in Tulum (Zebra, Margharita and the like) and Blue Sky was as good or better in most areas. Not to miss is the only brick oven pizza in the area. The beach is typical for this area, somewhat rocky, but the use of water shoes takes care of that. The real benefit here is that there is a beautiful cenote about 150 feet away, sparkling water, etc., but what sets this apart is that it empties into the ocean side and provides incredible snorkling and kayaking. In short, ignore any reviews regarding the old managment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

While staying in a villa along the beach my wife and I walked into the very pretty Blue Sky to inquire about the chances of renting kyacks from therm. I don't know who we spoke with but his attitude was indifference bordering on hostility so we immediately abandoned our plans to try their breakfast. These folk need some serious training in customer relations.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We stayed 2 nights (though we were supposed to stay 5) at Blue Sky in August 2008, and could not have been more disappointed. While the rooms looked amazing on the brochure, they certainly did not live up to expectations. The sheets were stained, the bathroom was dirty and moldy and there were mosquitoes everywhere. Our bath towels had holes and stains on them and we found suspect brown bits on the side of the toilet. I know, really really gross. Our room had a small terrace with a grass area in front of it leading to the beach, and there was (yes, I counted) 3 dog poops on the grass. My seven year old had to make sure to jump over them to get to the sand. While I was reading on the lounge chairs in front of our room, a dog came and peed on the feet of it. Also, we had been excited to know that there was Wifi in the hotel, but it didn’t work in our room, and was very slow elsewhere. Yet another problem.
Here’s what you need to know about the beach of the hotel: although the sand is pretty and white, it is also full of algae, and you CANNOT swim! There are too many rocks to make it safely into the water. Very much of a shame in a place known for its beautiful beaches and crystal blue water. No matter, you might say, there is a pool at the hotel. Well, the pool is VERY small (can’t swim laps, I assure you), more like a hot tub, and it was very murky, so who knows when was the last time they had cleaned it. It is also very hot, so not exactly a refreshing experience. I wouldn’t let my son swim in it, for fear he would catch some sort of infection.
Now on to the she staff – well, to say they are “indifferent” is a kind description. The manager, Tony, lives by the “barely” motto – barely there, barely friendly, barely professional. He did not make us feel welcome at all (we were clearly disturbing him by checking in) and we only saw him again when the “incident” occurred. More on that later. The rest of the staff is not very friendly, either, and looks unhappy, so it occurred to us that in a country where everyone else we encountered was kind and friendly, it must probably be due to the fact that their work environment is terrible. Who would want to work for Tony?? He does not speak to his staff respectfully, and probably pays them the bare minimum, so who would work happily under those conditions.
Anyway. The food is terrible. We had breakfast there twice and it was really really bad. They bring you this “toast” that looks like Wonder Bread with jams that are industrial and full of coloring. The coffee is awful. When we asked for eggs the 2nd day, the woman who tends the kitchen told us with exasperation that she did not have any, that it’s not her fault if Tony won’t do the shopping for the kitchen.
After 2 nights there, when we came back from sightseeing, Tony accosted us unapologetically and told us that they had lost electricity, that they have a generator, but not for the hotel rooms (so for what? Tony’s room?). It was the last straw for us. We were traveling with our 7 year old, and not having A/C in 100 degrees at night with the mosquitoes swarming everywhere was too much. We told Tony that we couldn’t stay there anymore, and that we expected to get our money back for the nights that were left on our reservation, and he said we needed to square it with the owner but that it wasn’t his fault if the A/C had broken down. When we went to our room to pack, the water in the bathroom was down to a trickle, so I imagine we would have gone without it too (check the other review by a woman who was without water and electricity in this hotel for 5 nights). We just couldn’t believe how rude the manager was, and how he expected us to spend our vacation. But we figured we would square it away with the owner, and all would be well. Well, we couldn’t have been further from the truth on that too. We talked to the woman who had booked our reservation, and she said she would need to reach the owner, and talk to him. After 2 days she emailed saying the owner was in Cuba and wouldn’t be back for many days. We emailed back saying that people were never completely out of reach, and could she please talk to him, or at least give us his information so we could contact him ourselves. We only received a copy of the reservation disclaimer as a response. (See, here is the main problem with Blue Sky: they want your money up front. No credit cards, only Paypal. Since it was the first hotel reservations we had made in Mexico, I naively thought that this was some Mexican hotel custom. DON’T DO IT! None of our other hotels in Mexico required this, we paid by credit card everywhere else, which gave us some protection.) Clearly they were abdicating all responsibility. We tried many times to reach Janice Spate (the reservation manager for the hotel) by phone, but she wouldn’t pick up our calls or return them for the longest time. It took us weeks of back and forth and they finally agreed to refund part of the money, and only to get us off their backs, I think.
We wanted to make sure we told the world so this didn’t happen to any other person or family wanting to vacation on the Riviera Maya. There are many, many better places to stay at. Don’t take the risk that you’ll live through this experience and especially don’t allow them to take your money up front!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLUESKYHOTEL, Owner at Blue Sky Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear,

Thanks to your comments about our management we decided to come to Blue Sky and run our hotel ourselves until we were able to find the perfect manager who really cared.

I know it is difficult to please every single person because we are human beings and we are all different and we think differently but what you experienced in our hotel was beyond the limits!!

We deeply apologize the way you were treated in our hotel. We, owners, are now here and we will do our best that what happened to you won't happen to anyone anymore.

We hope if you come to the area again give us the chance to show you the REAL BLUE SKY HOTEL.

Best,

Yania and Mike
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I love this hotel!
We stayed for four nights just before our wedding at Ana Y Jose Beach Club, while the rest of our friends and family rented homes or stayed at Tankah Inn in the same area.
We arrived after midnight on a Wednesday to a VERY quiet and shut down Blue Sky, to room #4 where we were staying. As a surprise, my husband had them decorate the room with rose petals, and champagne and it was absolutely amazing. There were rose petals everywhere on the bed, spelling out, "I love you." There was a bottle of champagne, and the most incredible beachfront view.
The staff here is incredible! As I said, we stayed in Tankah with many friends and family, and ate several meals at Blue Sky. By the end of the first night, my husband had already invited the entire staff to our Saturday wedding! (The tequila was flowing heavily!)
The sheets are not ultra-luxury, if we returned for a longer period, I would pack my own. The air conditioner went out, but was fixed promptly, and with the soft January ocean breeze, wasn't 100% necessary. Neither of these issues would stop me from a return visit!
I even favored this hotel over the other "more luxury" hotels we stayed at in Tulum! We will return.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Hotel

Address: Tankah Bay, Riviera Maya 5 km north of Tulum, Soliman Bay 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sky Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With nine air conditioned beach front rooms, pool and lots of sand and blue water, this cozy little beach hotel could be the antidote for your urban anxiety. The Blue Sky hotel is located in tranquil Tankah Mexico on the Riviera Maya coast, roughly 70 miles south down the coastal highway from Cancun. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax away from the crowds, and still not sacrifice your creature comforts, this is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Yucatan Peninsula
Hotel Blue Sky
Blue Sky Hotel Mexico/Soliman Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.