We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jashita - the best place in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jashita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jashita to your Saves list
Hotel Jashita
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jashita - the best place in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we made a tour of Yucatan and stayed, among other places, at Jashita for 5 days.
We had good hotels in Mexico, but Jashita distinctly tops them all.
Ourselves being designers we first of all were amazed to be met by such profound and exciting design on a very high level. The hotel is set into the landscape by the sea. The overall design just as much as the interior design and all details were amazing and mingled to one overall piece of art. At the same time the whole hotel is integrated into the landscape perfectly generating a very good feeling.
The design is also perfectly refined at a very high grade of workmanship.
Needless to say the rooms are wonderful.
Next, the location of Jashita is wonderful. The bay is the perfect setting for the small hotel, ensuring peace and quiteness, at the same time offering optoins for nice walks.
Food is absolutely excellent - Italian, Asian and Mexican cuisine, which offers you the potential to change every day. At first we were careful, because nobody is perfect in all styles of food: Well, had to revise our thinking: Jashita is perfect in different styles of food.
And the service is just how you wish service to be: friendly, helpful, always at your notice when needed, and at the same time in no way intrusive: to sum service up: quiet, friendly, helpful and nice people. -
The same also applies for the owners Monika and Tomaso. Both being very friendly and nice, they are always eager to help, at the same time respecting your privacy.
Also Restaurant and bar is very flexible with times - you usually get everything at any time, hence you are not restricted to specific times.
Would I go to Jashita again? For sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    41
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
291
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This boutique hotel is not only beautiful but it is also located in one of the most private, turquoise and nicest site beaches of the Tulúm area. The hotel staffs are incredibly friendly, helpful, kind and willing to accommodate your cravings! What else can you ask for?
It is overall a great place to spend a truly disconnecting time with your loved ones!

Room Tip: Any room literally. They are all beautiful, with pretty views and quiet. We stayed in 2 very differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is quite a little paradise on a beautiful private beach overlooking a quiet bay bordered by a coral reef. I arrived exhausted from my job and sick on top of it, and I just sat there in the shade under the palm trees, ordering whatever i wanted, and watched my family on the beach, the turquoise water and dark blue sky constantly changing their hues over the day. There are more activities offered on this beach alone, not to mention in the area, than we could take advantage of during our stay of 5 days. Swimming (the water is relatively shallow and safe for children all the way out to the far-away reef, snorkeling (the variety of the fauna along the reef was just amazing!), kayaking, a motorboat to the ruins of Tulum approaching them from the ocean. The water is crystal clear and evenly warm, the beach a perfect sand beach, groomed every night, plenty of shade provided by natural constructions. Which brings me to the style of the house: The design is the best and cleverest I have ever seen in a hotel. Apart from pleasing the eyes, you also always seem to find just the perfect quiet spot to sit. The food is - of course - excellent (owner is Italian). When we had to leave I felt perfectly restored. This will not be our last time, I hope.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is wonderful but as others have written not quite up to the standard to justify its steep price:
1. Location / setting - Right on the beach in a secluded lagoon. One feels quite isolated as there is no where to just wander for a drink or evening meal. Thank god we had a car to give us the ability to drive into Tulum. Heard from others that taxi fare very steep.
2. Beach - Can get very windy (need a cover to keep warm) and the water very wavey. Sand is quite coarse and entry into water not easy due to slippery rocks. Tip: take along water shoes.
2. Room - The rooms are nice (good size) with a large comfortable bed but not amazing. Sheets were scratchy. For the price charged would expect pure egyptian cotton. Bathroom compact with all one needs. Watched maid clean the room and wasn't impressed. Cleaning equipment very used and dirty. Used same water from previous room clean. Used one cloth to wipe everything down and then to our horror used the same cloth to wipe the bathroom glasses dry! Unacceptable!
3. Balcony - Large with lovely view of the bay. Had two comfortable lounge chairs and a sun lounger. Small corner dip pool but didn't use as water didn't look to clean and was not sure when last changed.
4. Welcome drink - Had two champagne glasses on arrival but no bottle. Was asked a few days later if got the welcome drink. Said no and got an apology but no bottle arrived anyway. Very strange behaviour.
5. Food - Quality of food was very good but found fairly pricey for the portion sizes. Breakfast was included in room rate and very good but got monotonous after a few days.
6. Service - Needs alot of improvement. Either did not pay attention that guests wanted servicing, or could not remember order, or forget orders all together. No room service. Annoying was the automatically added 15% service charge on everything even when one went oneself to order and collected one's own order, even just a single small bottle of water!
7. Spa - Not really a spa. A fully open very drafty room off the stairs to rooms so that everyone can peek in. Massage was very good though!
8. Pool - Mid-sized and useable.
9. Other - No cleared pathway to beach. Need to do an obstacle course around trees and pool.
10. Other - Met Tommaso and his family. Lots of smiles but he came across as non-geniune / stand-offish. Some of us were sick with a flu bug and there was no offer to provide medical assistance.

Overall nice boutique hotel for those wanting to be away from the touristy areas of Tulum and Cancun but not quite the poloshed gem is should be for the price charged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Nefertiti Suite and enjoyed the tranquility that this hotel had to offer very much! The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful; every time we looked out from the balcony we were taken aback by the beauty of the bay. The hotel provided free access to kayaks and snorkeling gear which we took advantage of. We would kayak across the bay to a restaurant that served some of the best ceviche and lobster we have ever had in Mexico.
The service was impeccable; the staff made you feel at home. Our favorite bartender, Luis, was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here, the food was delicious and the environment was inviting. This is the best hotel just outside the city of Tulum that allows you to avoid the "beach scene" that you would experience staying in Tulum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Tranquil beach vacations are hard to find in the Mayan Riviera, and we appreciated this hotel for providing this kind of setting. The hotel is clean, intimate, well-maintained and situated on Soliman Bay. There are no other hotels on this bay, so you can walk from one end to another and only encounter a handful of other people. The hotel's beach is small but clean, and although the hotel was full while we were there, there were enough beach chairs and palapas to go around.

Casual swimming is barely OK as there's lots of seagrass in the water, and the hotel clears a small area and a path in the seagrass for some wading, but primarily for snorkelers to get out into the bay. The snorkeling in the bay is interesting, with the most action being where the waves break into the coral reefs where the bay opens to the Gulf of Mexico. The bay is also mostly quite shallow, even near the outer reef.

Since there was a full house before New Years, we booked the only room available at the time, which was one of the double rooms. We enjoyed the room for the sleep quality and the basic but clean bathroom, which was sufficient for cleaning up after the beach. The double rooms are located on top of reception and are facing out onto the parking lot and road, so I expect they're noisier than the other rooms. Don't forget your earplugs if you stay in one of these rooms!

There's also a small seafood shack at the other end of the bay which serves delicious ceviche. A taxi ride into Tulum costs ~170 pesos during the day and ~220 pesos at night, but beware of taxi drivers trying to charge you more when they pick you up at the hotel--this happened to us and reception told us that the price they gave us should be the final price.

Overall, the service and facilities at Jashita were good. I would recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a quiet, serene beach vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want to relax and get away from EVERYTHING, this is your place. Combine the relaxing part (no fighting for beach chairs, no dinner reservations, no closed toe shoes!) with amazing service, delicious food (both Mexican and Italian), a gorgeous little beach, chic & romantic common areas, plus a fabulous bedroom- and the result is Jashita. Jashita is a true gem that managed to exceeded my (very high) expectations. I am already emailing with the owner to return next year. I miss Jashita and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
10.7 mi away
Ahau Tulum
Ahau Tulum
#2 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
El Pez at Turtle Cove
2.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jashita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jashita

Address: Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jashita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small eco friendly luxury Hotel is bathed by the colors of the Caribbean nature, the gentle aromas of bougainvilleas and the turquoise Soliman bay. The beauty of this bay is not only its heartbreaking color but also being probably the most protected bay of the Riviera Maya. This allows you to swim and snorkel safely all year long. Let yourselves feel free and enjoy this miracle of nature that lies in front of your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jashita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jashita Mexico/Soliman Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jashita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.