We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where else can your kids play with a spider monkey?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar & Lalo

Oscar & Lalo
Carretera Federal #307, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
+52 984 115 9965
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Wonderful Palapa Restaurant since 1982 with a pebble floor, mayan sculptures, waterfalls, hammocks, exotic birds, a peaceful garden with a fantastic jungle setting. Excellent Seafood, Authentic Mexican and Yucatecan Cuisine. World Famous "Lalo's Special", a dish made with fresh shrimp, lobster, calmer, fish and chicken fajitas is Superb. The ceviche made of fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, octopuss and lemon is also exceptional. The most relaxing place to laze in a hammock after a delicious feast.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“where else can your kids play with a spider monkey?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to stop by this side-of-the-road restaurant for dinner with our two kids, ages 4 and 6, while on vacation in the Akumal area. Great decision. The owners are extremely friendly, and the restaurant is very family friendly. The food was very good, exactly like numerous other restaurants we went to in the area (grouper prepared several ways, beans/rice, chicken and beef dishes) and the prices were comparable to other restaurants in the area. The distinction was that they have an outdoor large kid's playground and the owner has a juvenile spider monkey which happened to be out and available for playtime with our kids. This turned out to be a highlight, if not THE highlight, of our entire vacation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    95
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

During our honeymoon in Playa Del Carmen, we went on a tour with Riviera Adventours, and part of the excursion was stopping at Oscar & Lalos for lunch. Let me tell you, even if you are not on the tour, you can't miss going to Oscar & Lalo's if you're anywhere in Quintana Roo. Based on the food alone, the restaurant/bar is a must-do. But it made it even better that from the second we walked in, we felt like family, receiving a warm welcome hug from Virginia the owner. She chatted with my wife and I for a bit, and we were then seated at a table in the gazebo out back.

The setting is awesome, as you're surrounding by the lush greenery. We had a fresh coconut water (still inside the coconut) waiting for us at our table, along with a fresh chaya/pineapple juice (you have to try it!), fresh guacamole/salsa/tortilla chips. Next came the main courses - we shared the grouper dish and the chicken fajitas, which were both so fresh and very tasty. To top it all off, we had delicious home-made flan. The food is very fresh, and there isn't one thing we had that we did not like. My wife and I were the only ones out there for most of the time, so it worked out perfectly for us honeymooners.

The best part of our visit came next...play time with Lala, the resident spider monkey! She's so playful and friendly, with just a hint of naughtiness. Tip: ladies pull your hair back, because she fell in love with my wife's hair and kept wanting to play with/pull it. We stayed and chatted with Virginia for a bit, until it was time to go for the rest of our tour.

As a side note, if you'll be visiting the East Coast of Mexico, you have to check out Riviera Adventours (also owned by the awesome Virginia). They have tons of different excursion all over the area, and again, was an awesome experience. They don't over book or rush you through the different locations - they sure you are well taken care of the entire time, and mostly that you enjoy yourselves. We did the Extreme Expedition, which included zip lining, cliff jumping, canoeing, and snorkeling in 3 different locations. See our separate review for more info.

Between our experience at Oscar & Lalos, and our awesome excursion, they definitely were the highlight of our honeymoon. Not just because of the places we visited, or the good food, but because of the awesome staff. We'll definitely be coming back in the future!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalTraveler
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Slightly above average; especially the Ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Entrees are standard for the area - $12-$16 each. Table of 4 spent around $140 with 4 margaritas (which were very sour and not very tasty). Shrimp were so-so. Poblano stuffed with seafood was a winner. Stay with whatever fish is fresh and you'll be fine - simpler the better (as with all local restaurants, "Veracruz" style is over-sauced). Overall, was better than most local places - owner (Virginia) is very pleasant and a good source of local information.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Unexpectedly great quality food in a casual outdoor setting. Seafood ceviche and soup, fajitas, chips and salsa - all top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, friendly service in the tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Super gracious service. Seafood dishes were generous, delicious, and fresh. 3 people shared the seafood special for 2. Another hungrier couple shared the same special. One couple shared a smaller seafood plate, and one ordered the steak. Lobster was perfectly cooked and larger than we had expected. Our group of 8 arrived for dinner after making a last-minute, unconfirmed online reservation about 2 hours before. The staff was busily preparing for a wedding reception, but since we had made a reservation, they explained the situation and seated us on the back patio, which was a gorgeous jungle setting, and politely asked if we could try to place our orders as quickly as possible, since the cooks would soon be concentrating on the reception meal. Drinks were delicious, large, and cold. Staff stopped by occasionally and apologized for being busy with the reception, but asked if we needed anything. We ate at a leisurely pace and towards the end Virginia, the owner, came and spent a good 15 minutes with us. The wedding party had moved on to the beach for bonfires, more celebration, and camping. Virginia shared her enthusiasm and passion for jungle plants and rescuing monkeys. Wish we had more time to return earlier in the day to see her monkey. Highly recommend eating here! Not a typical cheap mexican meal, but very good food with pricing in line with other restaurants in this area. Only caution - be prepared for mosquitos. We had repellent with us, and were glad we did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar & Lalo also viewed

Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Soliman Bay, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oscar & Lalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar & Lalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.