We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Valentine Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant

Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant
108-3800 Bayview Street | On the waterfront, Steveston, British Columbia V7E 6K7, Canada (Formerly Sockeye City Grill)
+1 604-275-6790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Steveston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Sockeye City Grill is located on the waterfront in Steveston B.C. We proudly serve only the freshest of wild B.C. Seafood. Live Lobster and Crab from our crab tank are a local favorite and are available daily.
Tsawwassen, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Valentine Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I made a pact a few years back that we would not go out to a Restaurant on Valentines Day. It always seemed the restaurants were too crowded, food not at its best, service not up to par.
Tonight we decided we would go and have dinner at Sockeye City in Steveston, along with my two sisters, after we saw their special menu on Facebook.
What a surprise. All the ladies in the restaurant were brought a red rose by Werner, one of the owners which was a nice start to the evening.
Three of us ordered the Smoked Salmon Chowder to start. I am rather a fan of any kind of chowder, but all three of us agreed this was probably the finest chowder we have ever eaten.
My husband and sister both had the salmon special and my husband always says there is no better place to have salmon than at Sockeye City.
My other sister has been ill and does not have much of an appetite, but she had the cod and chips and really enjoyed it.
I had the tenderloin with prawns, scallops and bernaise sauce. It seems funny, as this is a Seafood restaurant, but my steak was probably better than any steak I have had in a real steak house.
Our waiter, James, offered wonderful service and really made it a special night for all of us.
I guess it is fair to say that we know where we'll spend next Valentines Day and hopefully many more evenings between now and then.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SockeyeCity, Manager at Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much! We hope to see you soon again at Sockeye City...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great seafood in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had guests coming from Toronto who wanted to go to a seafood restaurant for dinner in Steveston, BC. Having enjoyed lunch there before, we decided to take our Torontonian friends to Sockeye City for dinner. They loved it and so did we. The location was great with a nice view of fishing boats and the harbour. The staff were very attentive and efficient. And the seafood was supurb. After our crab cakes as appetizers, two of us had the salmon with couscous and the other two had seafood penne. All of us were impressed and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stopped by here for a leisurely lunch with friends while heading to the Tsawwassen ferry terminal. Location is excellent – on the dock with a view of fishing boats and just a short walk from a large, free parking lot. The atmosphere is casual, and service is fast, friendly and efficient. Although the menu focuses on seafood, as you might expect, there are lots of other choices. I had the lunch bowl, a tasty stir-fry of chicken and vegetables served on rice that arrived piping hot in a lidded metal bowl. The same type of bowl was used to serve hubby’s hot pot, a fish, seafood and vegetable medley cooked in an extremely flavourful broth. Our friends shared a large (two pieces) halibut and chips, which proved more than sufficient for two. We could have ended the meal right there, but the crème caramel was too tempting to pass up. Sockeye City does an excellent one. Rich and creamy but not overly sweet, one order is sufficient for two. I’d be happy to return here next time we’re in the Steveston area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Been coming here for years - love the halibut, Sunday crepes - and the once-in-while steak. Most recent was a business lunch - we both had the pasta special which caused a pause in discussing weighty matters of the day as my colleague - who was out from darkest Canada for this meeting - made a point of saying "This is far superior to places downtown where I have spent way more for disappointing food - and no ocean!" Sums it up!

Visited December 2013

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We did not rate meal as one of the best we've ever had at the restaurant as they have all been excellent. We have been going to the Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant for several years never been disappointed. Servers are very professional. Setting with views of the river adds to the enjoyment. Seafood is fresh. Restaurant is fully wheelchair accessible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Steveston, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sockeye City Grill Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.