We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Savour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savary Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Savary Island Resort to your Saves list
The Savary Island Resort
1721 Vancouver Boulevard, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savary Island
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Place to Savour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Savary Island Resort owners Kim & Michael have built a gorgeous and welcoming retreat on this gem of a Gulf Island. We stayed in the luxury suite, which includes a king sized bed, HUGE tub, mini-kitchen and comfortable seating area. We were quite happy to lounge away the hours in this lovely, private suite, but were inevitably pulled away to spend time in the fully (FULLY) stocked (equipment-wise) communal kitchen downstairs. Don't be shy: bring everything you need for a feast, because cooking in this self-catering facility is a JOY.
Oh, and the Island itself was pretty great too: white sand beaches and warm water. We were on Savary over Easter, and even then we were able to dip our toes in the ocean. Most of the island is cottage country, and there's not much for tourist infrastructure, so I would recommend Savary for those who are content to bask in the sun and read a book, walk for hours, and gaze at views of mountains and misty waters.
Definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaryResort, Owner at The Savary Island Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Hi Kim,
I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful review that you posted on Trip Advisor for us. We sincerely appreciate all of your comments. Your description of our luxury suite was fantastic.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Cheers!
Kim Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

What an excellent blend of luxury and the beautiful basics. My fiancé and I stayed at the Savary island resort for 3 nights, I really wish it would have been another night longer. My top three favorite parts of my stay were: #3. The architecture of the resort, we were lucky enough to be taken for a tour of the resort and the amount of wood work is astounding! #2. The kitchen! Let's just say you could cook a Xmas dinner for a pack of wolves in there. #1. The island, kind of obvious for those of you who have been there. The closest description I can think of would be "your soul takes a deep breath".

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Savary Island Resort is so beautiful in every way! From the bunk house to the suite to the communal kitchen. The property is situated amongst old cedar and Douglas fir trees and complements the scenery perfectly. The bunk houses are well built and the beds are so comfortable. The luxury suites are just that...luxurious! It is a high end suite in the middle of the forest, the best of both worlds as far as I am concerned. The communal kitchen is equipped with high end appliances to make your culinary adventures a breeze and with an industrial sink, clean up is easy too. Beautiful sandy beaches are within a few minute walk and the trails on the Island are wonderful as well. Hats off to Michael and Kim, such wonderful people and a job well done! I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a terrific place to holiday! We have visited the resort on two different occassions, for two very different getaway's. The first visit was a perfect family getaway. We stayed in the bunk houses, great family fun.... luxury camping. We explored the island endlessly. We frolicked on the sandy beaches, building sandcastles, discovering the abundant sea life. We hiked through the forrest, rode bikes, rented canoes..... Then at the end of each day, we landed back at the resort to enjoy the tranquil setting in the tree's. The common kitchen / living room area was equipped with everything anyone could need, terrific family fun!

The second visit was a romantic getaway in one of the luxury suites. We explored the island with romanitic walks on the beach... you can walk for what seems like forever without running into a soul. We found the perfect private setting for a picnic and an afternoon of relaxation on the beach. The next day we explored some of the many hiking trails through the forrest etc. Returning to the resort we enjoyed both visiting with the other guests and our perfect hosts, but were also thankful to have our own kitchen area if we wanted to spend time alone...... The beds were very cozy ..... The big soaker tub was a plus too..... highly recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Now that I have discovered Savary Island and the beautiful Savary Island Resort it is a must visit for me every year now. What an amazing, peaceful and serene place to relax and rejuvenate. Perfectly set up for friends and family to enjoy and spend time together. Very accommodating and all the amenities were first class. Thank you Savary Island Resort for an amazing time!

Room Tip: Couples looking for a romantic, private experience should stay in the suites and friends should stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have been going to Savary since I was a kid but my boyfriend is new to it and as I did he has also fallen in love with this magical place. We try to visit once a year if not more. Since the Savary Island Resort has opened it has made these trips easier seeing as how we no longer have our family cabin. The resort is great for couples and family's! It can be a very social place but is also easy to find that quiet space to just relax. The resort is well maintained, very clean and VERY comfortable! The owners are awesome too all smiles and extremely helpful!! When we were there last June we had the pleasure of joining them on their boat for a cruise up into Desolation Sound and it really is one of the most spectacular places on the coast of BC. Can't wait until our upcoming trip this summer and all the new memories to be had. We highly recommend you try this experience just once but guaranteed once will not be enough as the island will steal your heart too!

Room Tip: The luxury suites are stunning! All the bunkrooms are exactly the same so anyone is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We arrived like the Clampetts on Savary Island, loaded down with bikes, coolers of food and gear for four days of family fun. Twelve of us ranging from age four to 64 converged on Savary Island Resort from all over and used every possible route that BC Ferries offers to get there! The younger crew stayed in the bunkhouses and the elders enjoyed the comforts of one of the suites. We thoroughly enjoyed our "cookoffs" in the communal kitchen, the beautiful showers, exploring all the beaches, cycling and just hanging out. Kudos to Kim and Michael. You have a lovely resort and everyone has good memories of our time spent there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savary Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savary Island Resort

Address: 1721 Vancouver Boulevard, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Savary Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savary Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort consists of 4 bunk rooms and two decadent luxury suites. Each bunk room has a queen size bed plus two XL twin bunk beds. The main building consists of a communal living area with a big screen TV, games, books and movies to rent. There is a communal kitchen with two 4 burner gas stoves, two large fridges plus all the pots and pans and dishes you’ll need. The main building has two luxury suites. Each suite hosts a king size bed, 6ft bathtub, a flat screen TV plus a mini kitchen and outdoor BBQ. There are men and women's indoor shower rooms. Each consists of two private showers, a toilet and two sinks. There is also a two person outdoor shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Savary Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savary Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.