We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away was very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shelley's Thai Restaurant

Shelley's Thai Restaurant
19 Birtwill Street, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Take away was very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Maybe if you eat in the food is better but the take away meal that I recently bought was very average. The rice was nice (not outstanding) but the beef in both the Thai special fried rice and Beef and cashew was very tough. Maybe worth a trip back to eat in but not convinced. Coolum Thai Spice was much better.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Thai in Coolum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

Perfection. Loved it. I will be back. Best Tom Yum and Red Duck Curry. Keep up the brilliant work.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Very Good for this part of the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Unless you live in a big city it is hard to find really good authentic Thai food - but this place has some very good food and hints of what you would find in Thailand. The Pad Prik Khing - on the house specials menu - is quite good. Essentially Pad Prik Khing is a dry curry - meat stir fried in the paste - so should be quite spicy, which this was - and it was very good. See photo.
They give you the option of ordering 'medium spicy', 'Aussie Hot', or 'Thai Hot' - and we ordered 'Thai Hot' - but 'Thai Hot' is really 'Aussie Hot' when compared to what you find in Thailand.
Also ordered the chicken stir-fry with pepper and garlic - comes on a sizzling hot plate - bit of a gimmick - but was a nice dish.
Dishes come with lots of vegetables - which is great - but not much thought seems to go into what vegetables suit each dish - seems like they just toss the same medley of vegetables in each dish.
Also tries fish cakes - plain tasting - need a bit more spice (red curry paste) - and should be served with sweet chilli sauce - which they are here. Veg spring rolls - very average - also served with sweet chilli sauce.
Service was missing - we had to get up and ask for menus and we had to request the waitress take our order, and then had to walk up to cashier to pay so we could leave.
Value - good given food is quite good compared to other similarly priced Thai restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Shelley's used to be great, our last experience there was take-aways. The main dishes lacked flavour and vegetables. Rather disappointing since the cost for mains is on the higher side for Thai food.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Queensland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had two of the curry dishes and they were outstanding!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelley's Thai Restaurant also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Shelley's Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelley's Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.