We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castro's Bar & Restaurant

Castro's Bar & Restaurant
Cnr Beach Rd & Frank Streets, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
(07) 5471 7555
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant and all enjoyed our meals. It had a nice buzz to it as it was a holiday weekend. I would return again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    20
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great food & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My partner and I arrived in town late at night and were afraid we wouldn't get a decent meal - they served us with a friendly smile at 8:30 on a Thursday! Food was amazing and the atmosphere was friendly and positive!
Defiantly would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My Partner told me about Castro's, describing it as one of the "Best Meals", she had ever had. We were staying at Coolum so we visited the Restaurant and made a booking for 7.30pm the following morning, we made sure we did not have a big lunch in anticipation. We arrived at 7.30pm (4 adults) waited near the entrance for a good 5-10 minutes, staff noticed us but paid no attention, we then walked to the bar, standing in the middle of the restaurant for another 10 minutes, again staff walking around us, I finally got the attention of a staff member behind the bar whom found our booking, then referred us to another staff member whom didn't even look at us and pointed to a table saying "table 7" and walked off.
I have only walked out of a restaurant three times in my life and Castro's was the third.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I dined at Castros mid week and were probably lucky to get a table. A very busy little restaurant. We shared a pizza and a bottle of wine (which was bottle shop price as a mid-week special) and really enjoyed both.

The wood fired pizzas are very, very good at Castros. I would recommend a visit to locals and visitors to Coolum.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A very nice trendy place to eat with really friendly staff. Nice atmosphere and a great location. The food was delish, enjoyed by husband and 3 teenagers! Cheers Castros!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castro's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Castro's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castro's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.