We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - but disappointed with additional costs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coolum Seaside Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coolum Seaside Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6-8 Perry Street, Coolum Beach, Queensland QLD 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel - but disappointed with additional costs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Although the room we stayed in at this 5 star hotel was nice the entire stay was tarnished because of some extra costs associated with pool towels and removal of rubbish. When paying $200+ a night at a 5 star hotel I do not expect to have to pay an extra fee for pool towels (with the threat of having to pay for the replacement of regular room towels if used in the hotel pool). As hotel reception closes at 5:30 and the pool is open until 8:30pm, guests wanting to use the pool between these times would not be able to unless they wish to traipse water throughout the hotel - of which there are also signs warning against. There is also a sign in the room that stated if rubbish was not removed and placed in their wheelie bins in the garage then an additional cost of about $15 would be charged to your account because the people cleaning the rooms would have to remove it. An otherwise nice experience was marred because of the annoyance over what seemed like the hotel was being cheap/petty. I would expect this from a 2 star / $80 a night hotel. (We had previously stayed at a 4.5 star hotel in the Gold Coast, which at half the price per night offered all the services of Coolumn Seaside apartments including FREE pool towels for our use & the room was cleaned thoroughly everyday with no extra expense to the guest).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Lovely Apartments, good value , very accomodating hosts. Lovely beach and interesting markets. Good food too.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My partner and I went to Coolum Seaside for three nights in October and we had a wonderful time. Truly the photos on the website do not do it justice. We stayed in a one bedroom, roof top terrace and the apartment was huge.
It has a full bathroom (with spa) and an ensuite in the apartment and then another shower and toilet on the roof top terrace. The roof top terrace has a great BBQ area with lounge chairs and a 6 seat table.
Compared to other apartments, the kitchen is well stocked with quality appliances. The lounge room and main bedroom both have flat screen TV's.
The lap pool, spa and wading pool was fantastic as well as the gym area (also equipped with a flat screen TV).
The resort accommodates the traveller who doesn't want to leave their accommodation and enjoy lots of space, outdoor entertaining areas (we had three to choose from in our apartment) and for someone who doesn't rely much on personal service. We only saw one staff member the whole time we were there and that was to check in.
Truly great apartments for someone looking to stay in Coolum.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Very nice and helpful management
The lap pool is the best part
Great internet and library room where you can borrow books
Very clean apartments
Truly 5 stars experience

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We checked in for 10 nights, with 3 adults and 3 young kids under 5. The apartments are sparkling, we had a 3bed spa apartment on the ground floor. On the positive side, coolum seaside is well located, a block back from the beach and in central coolum. The apartments are new with big flat screen TV's, miele appliances etc. On the negative side, I don't think these apartments are well suited to a young family. Its a little sterile, and only the very basics are provided. Its one of those places that cut the chux in half to save money. Despite the length of our stay, the apartment was serviced with items required for a single night only. ie one garbage bag, one tiny serve of milk etc. The toddlers wading pool is positioned between the spa and the lap pool. Places normally frequented by individuals not so keen on kids! so apologies to all of those couples canoodling in the spa when we arrived!...Coolum itself is very family friendly, and the sunshine coast is a great place to holiday with kids too young to do the theme parks of the gold coast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Everything you could ask for. Friendly, experienced staff. Designed for comfort. Underground car park that has a trolley for your cases and a lift! Spacious apartments with all the comforts. Our apartment was a three bed and we had bbq's on the roof top terrace with a table that seated 8, Perfect for the kids as they could choose which pool they wanted to go to from the 3 provided. It was quiet but with friendly people around to talk to if you wished. Close to the beach if you can drag yourself away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

My experience at Coolum Seaside has always been exemplary.
When my boyfriend and I first stayed here in 2003, we were taken in, and have returned just about every year since!
Room cleanliness/repairs are always spot-on.
Furniture & amenities are modern and tasteful.
Pools & spas are nice to swim in and well-maintained, especially the new pool/spa in Seaside 3.

The staff are very helpful and engaging, and remember their regular clients. The resort also has a loyalty card that provides various discounts in the Coolum/Sunshine Coast area.
The last time we stayed (late 2008), they even gave us some internet quota to use that was left over from the previous occupant in our room - how good is that!? We were supplied with FREE wireless internet for the whole of our visit, and were able to send friends and family pictures of our engagement, which occurred on that holiday.


HINTS:
If you're staying in Seaside 1 (the block of apartments closest to the main road), it can get noisy - hoons often drive up and down the main road late at night, and if you're on a lower floor, you can also hear people walking up and down the road.

Seaside 3 is the most recent addition to the resort, and it's where we've stayed the last few times we've gone to Coolum Seaside. It's beautiful, and if you can get an apartment with a rooftop terrace, the view from the terrace is worth it!
No traffic/pedestrian noise either.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolum Seaside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum Seaside Apartments

Address: 6-8 Perry Street, Coolum Beach, Queensland QLD 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coolum Seaside Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 STAR accommodation at Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coastcome relax…Designed with you in mind, enjoy the room to relax at Coolum Seaside Resort. Our spacious apartments are fully self-contained and range from one to four bedrooms with studio options also available. We've considered your holiday needs right down to the finest detail. Generous inclusions mean everything you may require is at your fingertips, from bathrobes to BBQ tools, even umbrellas. Whether for your family holiday, romantic getaway or a business trip, these stunning Sunshine Coast Apartments are your home away from home.Here’s more of what you can expect of this beautiful space:- Three heated swimming pools, including lap pool, toddler swim-out & spacious adjoining spas- Private rooftop terraces, balconies & alfresco BBQ areas- Full-size tennis court & air-conditioned gymnasium- Business lounge & reading library- Free WiFi & Foxtel- Lush, tropical, award-winning gardens- Fully compliant disabled apartment- Free secure underground parking & lift access to all floorsgo explore…With just a short stroll, you’ll discover Coolum’s beautiful patrolled beach, boutique stores, and bustling cafes and restaurants. Further afield, you’ll find yourself centrally placed to make the most of the stunning Sunshine Coast’s hinterland, beaches and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coolum Seaside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolum Seaside Apartments Hotel Coolum Beach
Coolum Seaside Apartments Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolum Seaside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.