We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garam Masala

Garam Masala
7 Beach Rd, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
07 5446 1116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 49 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great when asked about gluten content of specific dishes. beautiful flavours and well cooked breads.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great food - as spicy or mild as you like.
Easy to get to from the Esplanade however
it can be cool in the winter as it is not enclosed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice atmosphere but the food lets things down. I'm a bit of an Indian food fanatic and generally Indian is hard to get wrong but these folk at Garam Masala do just that. The spices are lacking, the butter chicken sauce tastes like tomato sauce. I've given these guys a good go and have either eaten in or had takeaway at least 5 times but nothing is fresh, nothing zings and nothing will make me go back for a sixth time. You're better off going to Tandoori Flame in Birtwill St Coolum- their Indian is some of the best I've ever tried.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tasting Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This restaurant was close to where we were staying and boasted the best tasting Indian food. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the bright lights and plastic tables and chairs were very ordinary but the food was great so we had takeaway the next time and enjoyed that on our balcony overlooking the sea.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dirty cutlery very off putting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My partner and I love Indian food. The food was fine but the service was very slow. I had to ask for fresh cutlery because it was not clean. We brought our own wine and were not offered a cooler so a beautiful white that is meant to be cold when you drink it was warm and not very nice. It is very sad that two very simple services were not met.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garam Masala also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Garam Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garam Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.