We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Grill

Palmer Grill
Palmer Coolum Resort | Yaroomba, Coolum Beach, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 49 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Oh dear. Our table was not ready when we arrived, so we had a pre dinner drink at the bar. I ordered a cocktail, but the bar tender had know idea how to make it, there was no crushed ice, just blocks? No limes so had lemons had to do. Not a good start. There was a staff member off sick, so tempers were frayed and cold. We both felt very uncomfortable. We were called to our table eventually, strangely the restaurant was almost empty, I kept wondering why we had to wait so long for our table? Ordered our dinner, my husband order wagu and I had eye fillet. Dinner arrived but the waitress had no idea who was who's. my husband was hungry after waiting so long, so he grabbed the largest steak. Mmmmm, simply put... Awful, over cooked and poorly presented for a $65 steak. Finished our meals, still hungry and fleeced $275, never ever again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underdelivered”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

paying $56 for a T-bone steak that could have been better picked and cooked from Woolworths.

Each time we ordered a drink, we were told they had run out or don't have the spirits to make it.

The staff were lovely, however the management of this place need to pick their act up or get new management.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“check out the decore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

décor was worth seeing to be believed, a giant dinosaur out the window, palmer cartoons and family shots with famous people

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buderim
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“could have been a bad nite!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booking not recognised. Staff were more interested in taking order as soon as possible. (perhaps a staff party later) Requested a break between entree and mains...*8mins and not 20 as stated. Food very average. Wine prices some 300% up.
overall not a pleasant dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High tea with champagne - give it a go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have done this three times now and really enjoyed it. Last time group of 8 of us entertained a lady celebrating her 100th birthday - a perfect choice for her and didn't she love it all, including the pianist playing (Sat and Sun) It's a real treat and something special and a bit different for visitors too. Very nicely and professionally done and you certainly won't come away hungry. One tip, the car park is a bit of a walk away, so if you have anyone not up for that, drop them off at Reception and they can amuse themselves looking at the vintage cars in the lobby while they wait. Love the dinosaur or loath it, the experience is worth the effort.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer Grill also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Palmer Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.