We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort hotel SHOULD NOT be classed 5 Star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Save Saved
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Brit living in Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This resort hotel SHOULD NOT be classed 5 Star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from two nights at the Hyatt Coolum.I had scoured the internet for weeks looking for a 5 star treat. I was very excited at the prospect of a touch of luxury.
I CANNOT believe this is a 5 star resort! I have stayed in many hotels in my time, and also used to work in the hospitality trade. The exterior of the rooms were covered in sheets of peeling paint, and i have never seen so many cobwebs! The interior of the rooms were drab; dirty tea tray; dust lined nearly all surfaces; the venitian style wardrobe doors were caked in dust; the shower cubicle was rusty and grubby. The whole place looked like it would have been nice when it was new - but now is old and tired (as the cleaners must be!) The patio furniture had bird mess on it, and the floor was covered in leaves and twiggs. It just looked like no one really cared.
The food was a strange mixture of good, bad and OK -but all VERY over priced.
Most of the staff were very friendly, just a few though that didn't seem to care, which is such a shame because it only takes one person to be off hand with you, to ruin your day.
Now i know i've been a bit harsh, but had this resort been advertised as a 3 star then i would not have expected such high standards - but when you are shelving out that much money you expect a certain standard. That standard was no way near reached.

  • Liked — Bird noise and tranquility
  • Disliked — dirty and uncared for
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go!!
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    127
    76
    53
    52
See reviews for
118
134
9
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

The hyatt is a great place to stay for partners and familys. It has alot of entinment for the children and alot of relaxating places for adults and parents. i have stayed there 5 times so far with my family and still think it is great to stay. it is worth ever penny you pay for it. The service is great the staff are friendly and the food is excellent. It is clean and hygenic and that is 1 of the main things. it is close to the beach and atractions like the Australian Zoo, the big go kart track and aussie world. So this place does show that it is 5 star!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — the kitchen
  • Tips/Secrets — You have to go there it is really nice
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

If you enjoy the outdoors and love interesting fauna, insects, birds etc but dont wish to compromise on home comforts - this may well be the place for you.
The Hyatt Coolum is very sprawled out. Hire a bike - its an easy and fun way to really appreciate the vastness of the resort. Its very pretty riding past the huge lagoons and thru the lightly forested areas on your way to the beach pool ( a gentle quiet cycle of 1.3km ).
If you're not the energetic type, dont worry, there are plenty of motorised vehicles to take you everwhere.
Mt Coolum is a fairly easy walk - our 8 and 5 yr olds managed it without any prob. You will need a pair of shoes with decent grips as some parts are rocky and slippery.
We stayed in a woodland villa. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchenette, washer and drier, comfortable lounge/ dining area and two decks with outdoor seating. Sure the odd spider or two got into our quarters but considering the ecosystem of the place - hardly a surprise. If you dont like nature - stay away!
We hopped on the free shuttle bus to Noosa. A lovely town on a gorgeous beach. Enjoyed an evening meal - and then caught the shuttle back to the Hyatt. Very convenient and very easy to organise.
The main pool is heated and hence is very busy with lots of wee children. There are however other pools to go to in order to escape the littleuns. We thought the beach pool was charming. The beach itself is beaut. My children enjoyed a dunk in the ocean - I was glad the Life guard chap was close by as it was quite choppy.
All up it is a great place to stay - the staff are friendly, the climate perfect, an abundance of good food.
If the Hyatt Coolum is a little rustic in places - dont let it spoil your holiday - relax and go frog hunting - you 'll love it!

  • Liked — very roomy. Washing machine!
  • Tips/Secrets — bring lots of sunblock
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Great place - stayed on the Freedom package and made full use of the vouchers for spa treatments, golf lessons and evening dinner. Most helpful staff - even to the point of recommending using one voucher for dinner and sharing starters/sweets.

Its quiet at night, which was great for us. There are a couple of places to have a drink, but not a lot going on.

Didn't try the golf course - looks a bit too difficult!! Warning in the pro shop that on average people lose 9 balls a round, so stock up before you go!

It's deal for a nice, relaxing and romantic break.

  • Liked — Freedom Package with spa treatments
  • Disliked — No washing machine/kitchen facilities in our rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Freedom package is very good
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

Celebrated our anniversary - a weekend with no kids! Stayed in the Ambassadors Villas - expensive but beautifully furnished and quiet. A small point - some services are complimentary for guests staying in this type of accommodation but no where is this detailed except on the website - an outline of these services in our room would have been appreciated. We hired bikes and loved the freedom to move easily throughout the resort. Facilities were good and dinner at the Mackenzie Grill OK.

Only really negative point was the spa -
1. Menu of treatments advertised on the website doesn't exist
2. Promised email of same arrived 5 days late
3. Treatments booked over phone were inaccurately described
4. Waiting area is like a football locker room, seats very uncomfortable
5. Therapist was 25mins late - I had to ring down to reception to see where she was
6. Therapist appeared disinterested, didn't know how shower in room worked, etc
7. Treatment was average at best.

This is probably the worst spa experience we've ever had. Hyatt Coolum is a good place to stay but yes it is getting a bit run down and service seems to be suffering.

  • Liked — Ambassador Villas
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Before arriving I was quite excited about staying at the Hyatt Regency Coolum. Upon arrival, my heart sank. What a dreary and depressing place. 5 stars - no way, 3 maybe.

First room the AC wouldn't work - no worries though, that happens - except it didn't really work in the second room either. About 4 hours later, however, I finally felt a bit of cold air blowing and could finally begin to cool off. I won't mention my internet issues, but you get the picture.

Secondly, all the rooms I was in smelled the same, which is to say stale and moldy. If you have allergies and are sensitive to this kind of thing, then avoid this place like the plague. I wouldn't call them especially clean either. There were dead bugs in the corners and rust on the shower and toilet.

Service was ok at best. I arrived for breakfast 5 minutes after 10, and was turned away - they stopped serving at 10. The hostess even told me to get up earlier the next day! Food, when I could get it was adequate, and the staff pleasant enough. Don't think I'd call them informed though. I wanted to climb nearby Mt. Coolum and was told I could follow the path from the hotel. However, after asking no fewer than 4 staff members, and being pointed in 4 separate directions, I gave up and went to the bar - that I could find.

The Sunshine Coast is beautiful - definitely worth a visit, but please avoid the Hyatt Regency Coolum. Life is just too short to spend even a few days in a shotty place like this.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We have just recently discovered Tripadvisor so our review is a bit after our stay (Nov 05).

We looked for 5 star in the area and this looked the best .... what a joke! They said they had lots of pools (one thing we look for) and the photos on the website looked nice.

First i would rate it as 3 star compared to Asia 5 star and maybe 3 to 4 star for Aussie.

1. The setting was nice as was the gold course

2. The inside of the rooms were nice but the outside HORRIBLE - peeling paint on the stairs, dirty balcony, more peeling paint - no maintenance.

3. Pool at the beach is only ok.

4. Pool at the village square ok but they have got rid of the vegetation in the photos.

5. Spa was ok and the lap pool average but it was a welcome retreat from hords of kids!

6. Beach - nice but windy but Jonno the lifeguard was a hoot!

7. Food was good.

Would I recommend it ...... NO ..... especaially not for the price. If you expect 5 star etc you will be disappointed but if you go expecting what it is it will be ok. I would spend my money elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.