We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place for family holiday...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Still the best place for family holiday...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I have been to this resort many times over the years and we love it. We've just come back from our last visit and can't wait to go back! The staff are so friendly and service is great, from front reception, bell desk staff to all restaurant staff, you all made us feel welcome and special. Plenty of activities, swimming pools, beach, bikes, golf, archery, Mt Coolum climb, the list goes on! The rooms are nice and clean with comfortable beds and being close to the main pool and Village Square is fantastic particularly when you have children. We looked forward to breakfast each morning, it is amazing with plenty to choose from. Thank you for another great holiday, my family will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Double Double studios are lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    135
    82
    60
    56
See reviews for
125
141
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although this place was a little out of shape the short staff did everything they could to please, the little buggies that ferried everyone from there rooms to the conference venues or the restaurant were fantastic I would like to commend them, they worked 24 hrs an with the staff shortest we often saw the same driver. We only did breakfast there and the staff again were very helpful.

Our rooms were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was dubious about staying at the palmer coolum resort after reading a lot of negative reviews, and hearing of second hand bad experiences. The reality was 5 star all the way, excellent staff and facilities, the golf course in top condition, the only thing was the expensive breakfast($30 a head and then extra for a coffee)make sure to include breakfast in your package. I will be going back, and staying longer than just the one night we had this time

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

"I am thankful for everything and have no complaints whatsever."

Room airconditioner wasnt effective and was fixed at 10.30 at night, thankfully.

Buffet Breakfast at Ned Kellys restaurant had good variety of foods. cooked to order poached eggs are available.

Lovely place to enjoy the sounds and temperature of queensland!

Room Tip: Rooms near the Palm lounge were close to The Village, one of the many pools and The Pavilon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I was a recent retreat attendee during the day and evening at the Palmer Coolum Resort. Although I didn't sleep there, i spent a lot of time at the resort and signed up for the conference's meal plan. So I got a good feel for the place.
My main comments are on the meals and general condition of the the place.
We were charged a fair amount for the meal plan and all were served on paper plates and plastic forks. Oops. The food was fair, adequate but not worth the price paid. Maybe it was the paper plates that influenced my experience.
The place is quite run down. I mainly noticed the lack of grounds keeping done, and the toilets used for the conference were smelly. Once I told the front desk, they got someone on it pronto. Staff, were great.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We recently stayed at Palmer Coolum Resort at Coolum Beach. Unforturnately, the resort is very run down, barely maintained and staff are completely overworked and clearly very stressed trying to meet the needs of customers. Cars are to be left in a car park well away from accommodation. Psh bikes are provided to get around and there is a shuttle service. However push bikes were in appaulling condition with my bike having something sticking out from under the seat, and my husbands bike didnt have front brakes. The shuttle service to the car park was under a lot of pressure transporting people to and from the car park and reception and around the resort . The addition of giant dinosaurs and prehistoric animals did not add to the natural beauty of the place. Gardens were in bad need of raking of dead matter, watering and pruning. The excessive amount of leafy material on some roofing and around units looked to be a fire hazard. The rooms themselves were tidy but also dated. We had a constant stream of ants found both in the bathroom and I even found one crawling on me in bed. We had no tea or coffee in the room or information booklet about the facilities in the resort. The bed however was comfortable and the cleaning staff were very polite and helpful when we requested fly spray for ants and tea and coffee to be left in the room. There were often long waits at the bar, resturant and reception waiting to be served. The wine list in the resturant was very expensive, out of date and special trip to a wine rack needed to select wine as none of the wines on the wine list were available. We were very surprised to find that the only wifi int he room was via an outdated computer connection and a $12 per hour charge to use it. Even in Vietnam we had free wifi in our rooms. If you went to the resturant area which was a substantial walk from our apartment you could access free wifi and was hardly convienient. The resort was not cheap and in our view did not provide value for money. It just seemed like a crude grab for money by the owner who clearly has no interest in the property, the buildings, the customers or its staff. The resort is nicely located in the bush and its quiet.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

This resort is a great place for families and deserves better reviews! The food was great The Best Pizzas I have had in Queensland and very reasonable prices for quality of ingredients. Great pools free bikes dinosaur park beach clubhouse were wonderful.The staff were absolutely Wonderful efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.