We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location but very run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful location but very run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for a national conference, extremely under staffed and staff training appalling. The rooms were at one time 5 star but are patched up and generally run down. Very disappointingly venue even the tiles were falling off the bathroom walls!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    130
    80
    58
    55
See reviews for
122
139
10
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a rought,the rooms are extremely dated.dust everywhere ,we awoke with little bites all over us,bed bugs?cockroaches seemed to be breeding everywhere,a long walk from room to get anywhere,taps kept dripping all night,heaps of mosquitoes ,and terrible service and was charged $460 for one night ,never again,terrible experience

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visited with a friend due to a decent deal (and that you could book just one night, a definite perk as so many places wanted minimum two night stay).

Perks:
We got a large double queen room - very good size and was told it had just had new carpets installed recently.

The TV flips around from lounge to bedroom, nice touch

The bathroom was large and clean and nice aesthetics

The main pool was clean with ample deckchairs and umbrellas

The pizzas were quick - under 10 minutes, and tasty

Drawbacks:
The tv quality wasn't great - both visually and number of channels available - the repeated Titanic movie station was very poor quality indeed!

The pool had no towels available when we arrived at 12:30pm, and no staff around- we went back to the room and found some in the cupboard

The main dining area and spa areas are run down aesthetically.

Hard to find staff anywhere - spa, pool, dining etc.

Not at all worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor standards, our room was filthy with dead flies on every windowsill. There was a foul smelling sewage smell in the bathroom when we checked in. Clearly not serviced before we arrived and I woke with bites on my face and neck.

Almost $20 to watch a movie?! How can you justify this price?

Website states Minibar included, we had a carton of milk with tea/coffee amenities?

A very run down resort, I would not return!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmercoolum, Manager at Palmer Coolum Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
It is very difficult for any Venue to address guests concerns when they are not expressed at the time of stay. This guest was checked into a room that, due to a glitch in our system, had not been inspected and cleaned ready for use but was showing as open. Had the guest called and mentioned this we would have room moved them immediately. $20 for In Room is about standard across the Coast and is unfortunately cost driven mostly by the external supplier. Again - no mention of anything wrong including "bites on face" on check out. A Facebook message was responded to immediately but even then no mention of "bites all over face and arms"
We accept all reviews and use them to constantly review our performance - however we also appreciate the chance to rectify any guests concerns while they are still onsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place looks great from the front (driving in) and your room. That's where it ends. We stayed one night on Saturday the 11th of October, after a long day of driving and trying to find a place this was the only one available in the town and surrounds. We arrived late and checked in we then had to drive to the car park which is on the other side of the resort but it's okay because a guy picks you up in a golf buggy and drops you off outside your apartment.

We walked up the stairs and it looks very old school and run down :( we walked in and the room was amazing!! The best room I've been in and I've been in a lot of different rooms in my life. After a while we decided to go get dinner in the village square. We decided on the fine dining place ned Kelly's. The staff didn't know what type of the meat was the ribs and if it was 500gram or 1 kg rack of ribs but I quote she said "it can be shared between 2" it cost $40 and it came out and was 12 pieces of ribs!!!! It was terrible. I also got a drink ( midori and lemonade) it had barely any alcohol in it!!!!!! I paid $8 for soft drink - not happy!

We didn't like dinner at all but finished it and went to the apartment and watched a movie, then went to sleep. We had an entry into the dinosaur or car park. We decided on the dinosaur park because it was a different experience. Went there and out of the 180 interactive dinosaurs on the walk only about 30-40 were working! Half of which the sound was terrible and the the other half the movements didn't actually work!

I won't be back and won't recommend. The staff are clueless, the place run down and the attractions don't work and are expensive! Sorry but it's just not worth my money

Room Tip: Room 102 is great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a two night luxury room paid over $1,000. This hotel was advertised as a 5 star. This hotel was dated, stank of mould, and our room was dated and mouldy. The walk from the car park to our room was over 15 minutes. Overdue on a re vamp or should drop to a 3 star. Sent them two complaint letters and didn't get a reply to either.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a nice stay at this resort but it could have been so much better. The resort is beautiful but dramatically under staffed. Village Square is seriously lacking in decent food options and the breakfast offered was awful. The Spa was no tope once the whole weekend we were there, the shop was shut at 4pm. With the beautiful grounds and wildlife roaming this could and should be so much more. Rooms are old and tired and seriously need an overhaul but are a good size and wonderful locations. This is a 2 to 3 star resort at best and could have been a 5.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.