We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5 stars!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely not 5 stars!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very poor standards, our room was filthy with dead flies on every windowsill. There was a foul smelling sewage smell in the bathroom when we checked in. Clearly not serviced before we arrived and I woke with bites on my face and neck.

Almost $20 to watch a movie?! How can you justify this price?

Website states Minibar included, we had a carton of milk with tea/coffee amenities?

A very run down resort, I would not return!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    130
    78
    58
    54
See reviews for
121
139
10
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place looks great from the front (driving in) and your room. That's where it ends. We stayed one night on Saturday the 11th of October, after a long day of driving and trying to find a place this was the only one available in the town and surrounds. We arrived late and checked in we then had to drive to the car park which is on the other side of the resort but it's okay because a guy picks you up in a golf buggy and drops you off outside your apartment.

We walked up the stairs and it looks very old school and run down :( we walked in and the room was amazing!! The best room I've been in and I've been in a lot of different rooms in my life. After a while we decided to go get dinner in the village square. We decided on the fine dining place ned Kelly's. The staff didn't know what type of the meat was the ribs and if it was 500gram or 1 kg rack of ribs but I quote she said "it can be shared between 2" it cost $40 and it came out and was 12 pieces of ribs!!!! It was terrible. I also got a drink ( midori and lemonade) it had barely any alcohol in it!!!!!! I paid $8 for soft drink - not happy!

We didn't like dinner at all but finished it and went to the apartment and watched a movie, then went to sleep. We had an entry into the dinosaur or car park. We decided on the dinosaur park because it was a different experience. Went there and out of the 180 interactive dinosaurs on the walk only about 30-40 were working! Half of which the sound was terrible and the the other half the movements didn't actually work!

I won't be back and won't recommend. The staff are clueless, the place run down and the attractions don't work and are expensive! Sorry but it's just not worth my money

Room Tip: Room 102 is great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a two night luxury room paid over $1,000. This hotel was advertised as a 5 star. This hotel was dated, stank of mould, and our room was dated and mouldy. The walk from the car park to our room was over 15 minutes. Overdue on a re vamp or should drop to a 3 star. Sent them two complaint letters and didn't get a reply to either.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice stay at this resort but it could have been so much better. The resort is beautiful but dramatically under staffed. Village Square is seriously lacking in decent food options and the breakfast offered was awful. The Spa was no tope once the whole weekend we were there, the shop was shut at 4pm. With the beautiful grounds and wildlife roaming this could and should be so much more. Rooms are old and tired and seriously need an overhaul but are a good size and wonderful locations. This is a 2 to 3 star resort at best and could have been a 5.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked this for our wedding anniversary last minute, my husband sais it was a pro golf course and 5 stars, so booked. Only on the drive there did I have chance to read reviews I was quite upset, on checking in I requested a refurbished room and lucky for us they gave is the last one, there seemed a few people about but not like I had expected in the school holidays,there was a conference on, if theses people had not been here OMG . Ghost town we stayed 2 nights Friday and Sat , out of the 6 or so restaurants 1 was open and it wasn't very reasonably priced especially to sit on our own all evening, the conference people had a party on so that was the only life in the resort so we paid taxis to the surf club which was very good, we woke up thinking maybe sat night maybe different and were hoping so as it was our anniversary and we want to just relax around the resort. mid afternoon hubby decided he would treat me to a cocktail, the bar was empty the only people we saw were staff, after reading the cocktail list and trying to order I was told unfortunately they didn't have stock to make any of the cocktails :( so I choose Malibu and pineapple disgusting very old and again not cheap, we drove to Coolum that evening for a nice meal, but no joint champagne drinking . The room was nice other than that the restaurants were mainly closed, the buffet breakfast was cold and only 1 style of egg, the lap pool was green, the spas are separate male and female!!, the gift shop was closed, burger place closed,,so over 700 later I wanted to cry, the place gardens etc are run down they are short staffed with no stock, this is nothing like the 5 star resort that the website premotes, and checking out and already knowing they had held our money plus a deposit, the lady requested we pay the full amount again and the wait 5-8 days for it to be released back into our bank which means we would have spent 1400 plus until refunded I refused but it took a considerable amount of time to sort out, I liked the free bikes and the room, do not go here you have been warned :)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a tough group...16 people housed in four apartments, three generations ageing from 7 to 73 years and all there to celebrate a wonderful family milestone. The resort absolutely delivered beyond all imagination.

The staff consistently welcomed us with that friendly 'Queenslander' smile whether that be at the reception on arrival, golf club, spa or simply from the lads transporting us around on the local buggies. Every request was met with ease, satisfaction and a comforting conversation.

We certainly recommend the beautifully renovated and luxurious apartments by the lake (room 622 as an example). Each morning we were greeted by the local ducks, swans and kangaroos. The kids just loved it! Our days consisted of golf, runs to the nearby beach, hikes up Mt Coolum and plenty of relaxing around the outdoor grassed area.

The quality time is something that we'll value and remember as a family for many years to come.

Perfection!

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here regularly over a thirty year period when managed by the Hyatt, we were appalled at the deteriation of this once beautiful and pristine resort. It now seems like a "ghost town" with precious few staff and even fewer guests. The only real signs of life were from the resident dinosaurs whose constant roaring was so annoying even though we only played golf and had a light lunch in the Village Square. The once magnificent Coolum Golf Course which hosted the PGA for so many years was virtually deserted and had broken pipes on more than one fairway. No friendly starter, no drinks cart, in fact no players other than us on the days we played. Very disappointing but mainly just very sad. This was once one of Australia's most prestigious and enjoyable golfing resorts -that is now extinct. The whole complex now seems like a Giant Dinosaur!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.