We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surcharges and Service Fees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surcharges and Service Fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked through Wotif - no problem there, and I have been here before. However upon arrival I was introduced to a "service fee" of 5% supposedly for the use of hotel amenities like the car park. This is a first for me but I had prepaid so I hade to cop it, but I will not cop it again. Owners and Operators just have to understand how much this surprise, and the growing practice to apply surcharges to pay by credit card, gets up the nose of travellers. These are costs of doing business and should be included in the room price.

I had seen the reviews bagging service before booking and expected some shortcomings. But the experience was quite the opposite - first class. Just those very very annoying fees!

Noddy - Brisbane

Room Tip: There's nothing in the bar fridge. There is an offer to fill it but at very high prices. Bring i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    134
    81
    60
    56
See reviews for
124
140
11
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The overall experience is unique and pleasant. There are antique cars at the lobby, they have golf carts running around to send you from the lobby to your room and pretty much any part of the resort (like spa, swimming pool, etc) you want. For morning buffet, there is lots of salmon sashimi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tathra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very pretentious just like the man himself but lacking in comfort, lacking in great service, lacking in fine dining.

For the giant price we paid i would have hoped for a better experience than what we received.

My advice: stay closer to the ocean

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Been to Disneyland... Now come to Palmerland ?

Having read recent reviews, we were quite concerned about our stay here, however a conference necessitated staying so off we went.

Greeting us on arrival ware titanic references, a dinosaur, subliminal signs in size 200 font saying "Palmer grill, fantastic food", a collection of cars, more photos of Clive then personally I'm comfortable seeing (I'm actually a little surprised there wasn't a photo of him beside my bed, but thankfully I could watch one of the 3 tv Channels about him should I have felt a little "Clive deprived" upon returning to my room) ... But this being said... The staff were fantastic, the room while a little dated, was very clean, big and functional and the resort facilities were quite good

The breakfast staff in particular I'd like to mention as being fantastic.

My wife with children went to and from the resort frequently and then formula 1 golf carts were quickly on station to transfer them to and from the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Palmer Coolum resort but have noticed services and staff have been reduced compared to previous visits probably due to reduced patronage. The Asian restaurant in the square (now Smiling Duck) was only open two of the five nights we stayed. The beach was only patrolled one of our three visits and there were no umbrellas or chairs. So we didn't swim. The beach club pool area was not serviced though food could be ordered in (slower with added fee). The gardens were well maintained. We did not play golf and noticed that only a few did.

On the plus side staff, when present, were wonderful and the food possibly a little better than before.

Room Tip: Golf Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here before and it was much nicer but that was many years ago. The hotel is a bit older and more tired but is still comfortable. The staff try to give good service and the amenities around are good with excellent food in the restaurant. Mainly in the area for my golf so the hotel is not so important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In general I agree with the most recent negative reviews. The staff were pleasant, however the resort needs major work. The rooms are tired and have nothing modern about them. It would appear that the money is all being put into dinosaur statues and building a new show room for Palmers cars rather than investing in the rooms and amenities that the resort used to provide. Unfortunately I couldn't recommend that anyone spends their hard earned cash on this "5 star" resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.