We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surcharges and Service Fees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surcharges and Service Fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked through Wotif - no problem there, and I have been here before. However upon arrival I was introduced to a "service fee" of 5% supposedly for the use of hotel amenities like the car park. This is a first for me but I had prepaid so I hade to cop it, but I will not cop it again. Owners and Operators just have to understand how much this surprise, and the growing practice to apply surcharges to pay by credit card, gets up the nose of travellers. These are costs of doing business and should be included in the room price.

I had seen the reviews bagging service before booking and expected some shortcomings. But the experience was quite the opposite - first class. Just those very very annoying fees!

Noddy - Brisbane

Room Tip: There's nothing in the bar fridge. There is an offer to fill it but at very high prices. Bring i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The overall experience is unique and pleasant. There are antique cars at the lobby, they have golf carts running around to send you from the lobby to your room and pretty much any part of the resort (like spa, swimming pool, etc) you want. For morning buffet, there is lots of salmon sashimi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas_Teh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tathra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Very pretentious just like the man himself but lacking in comfort, lacking in great service, lacking in fine dining.

For the giant price we paid i would have hoped for a better experience than what we received.

My advice: stay closer to the ocean

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank montymania111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coolum Beach hotels

Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Been to Disneyland... Now come to Palmerland ?

Having read recent reviews, we were quite concerned about our stay here, however a conference necessitated staying so off we went.

Greeting us on arrival ware titanic references, a dinosaur, subliminal signs in size 200 font saying "Palmer grill, fantastic food", a collection of cars, more photos of Clive then personally I'm comfortable seeing (I'm actually a little surprised there wasn't a photo of him beside my bed, but thankfully I could watch one of the 3 tv Channels about him should I have felt a little "Clive deprived" upon returning to my room) ... But this being said... The staff were fantastic, the room while a little dated, was very clean, big and functional and the resort facilities were quite good

The breakfast staff in particular I'd like to mention as being fantastic.

My wife with children went to and from the resort frequently and then formula 1 golf carts were quickly on station to transfer them to and from the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank b747sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Palmer Coolum resort but have noticed services and staff have been reduced compared to previous visits probably due to reduced patronage. The Asian restaurant in the square (now Smiling Duck) was only open two of the five nights we stayed. The beach was only patrolled one of our three visits and there were no umbrellas or chairs. So we didn't swim. The beach club pool area was not serviced though food could be ordered in (slower with added fee). The gardens were well maintained. We did not play golf and noticed that only a few did.

On the plus side staff, when present, were wonderful and the food possibly a little better than before.

Room Tip: Golf Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here before and it was much nicer but that was many years ago. The hotel is a bit older and more tired but is still comfortable. The staff try to give good service and the amenities around are good with excellent food in the restaurant. Mainly in the area for my golf so the hotel is not so important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In general I agree with the most recent negative reviews. The staff were pleasant, however the resort needs major work. The rooms are tired and have nothing modern about them. It would appear that the money is all being put into dinosaur statues and building a new show room for Palmers cars rather than investing in the rooms and amenities that the resort used to provide. Unfortunately I couldn't recommend that anyone spends their hard earned cash on this "5 star" resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Linds_t_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.6 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#1 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#2 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 14 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#4 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sheraton Noosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing