We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmerland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Palmerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Been to Disneyland... Now come to Palmerland ?

Having read recent reviews, we were quite concerned about our stay here, however a conference necessitated staying so off we went.

Greeting us on arrival ware titanic references, a dinosaur, subliminal signs in size 200 font saying "Palmer grill, fantastic food", a collection of cars, more photos of Clive then personally I'm comfortable seeing (I'm actually a little surprised there wasn't a photo of him beside my bed, but thankfully I could watch one of the 3 tv Channels about him should I have felt a little "Clive deprived" upon returning to my room) ... But this being said... The staff were fantastic, the room while a little dated, was very clean, big and functional and the resort facilities were quite good

The breakfast staff in particular I'd like to mention as being fantastic.

My wife with children went to and from the resort frequently and then formula 1 golf carts were quickly on station to transfer them to and from the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank b747sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Palmer Coolum resort but have noticed services and staff have been reduced compared to previous visits probably due to reduced patronage. The Asian restaurant in the square (now Smiling Duck) was only open two of the five nights we stayed. The beach was only patrolled one of our three visits and there were no umbrellas or chairs. So we didn't swim. The beach club pool area was not serviced though food could be ordered in (slower with added fee). The gardens were well maintained. We did not play golf and noticed that only a few did.

On the plus side staff, when present, were wonderful and the food possibly a little better than before.

Room Tip: Golf Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here before and it was much nicer but that was many years ago. The hotel is a bit older and more tired but is still comfortable. The staff try to give good service and the amenities around are good with excellent food in the restaurant. Mainly in the area for my golf so the hotel is not so important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In general I agree with the most recent negative reviews. The staff were pleasant, however the resort needs major work. The rooms are tired and have nothing modern about them. It would appear that the money is all being put into dinosaur statues and building a new show room for Palmers cars rather than investing in the rooms and amenities that the resort used to provide. Unfortunately I couldn't recommend that anyone spends their hard earned cash on this "5 star" resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Linds_t_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coolum Beach hotels

Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place used to be my favorite hang out spot after a long week at work I would head north and check into what to me was a European style haven when it previously was under the Hyatt-regency

The staff, I agree with the other reviewers, are just amazing.
Dedicated to trying hard to keep this place what it was once used to be.

The staff numbers have been slashed, the beach/pool restaurant no longer operates as it used to (now is only open if number of guests is enough)

The place used to have a totally different classy feel to it now unfortunately it has been completely stripped of that

Some unnecessary final touches for example the yellow signs and lack of road tidiness and lack of regular gardening/tree trimming has left the whole atmosphere gloomy.

The rooms are largely unchanged from the time of the previous management, agree need renovation works.

Overall, I cannot put my finger in one thing, the previous Hyatt-regency had that special touch and value for money was there, that is no longer the case, the lack of staffing has translated into so many things.

I have given this place multiple chances to see if it was going to improve, I've stayed numerous times since the new management and can only say this place is more like a sad memory of the old Hyatt-Regency

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

In general, I agree with the other reviewers. Pleasant staff but the resort is a little tired. The rooms are spacious if a bit dated. We knew that the golf course was undergoing spring treatment but were only informed on the day that the entire back 9 was not available for play - fees were discounted but had we known we would rather have chosen another course in the area. Half of the eateries were closed - disappointing once again! Having said that, the meal we had at The Captain's Cabin was a delight! The yellow signage is off-putting! Hopefully, when the dinosaur park and car museum are complete the resort will get a well-deserved upgrade!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff were polite, efficient and very helpful. The rooms are a bit old but very spacious and clean. I particularly loved the bathroom. Very big. Plenty of options for eating the food was good. Loved Jeff the T-Rex. Also loved the vintage cars although it will be better when the vintage car museum is built and they are not in the reception area. I liked that the resort is spacious, I don't like that you can't get your car anywhere near your room but the buggy transport was good. We never had to wait to long for a lift. We enjoyed our stay. If your into dinosaurs, vintage cars and golf you have to stay here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TRossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.6 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#1 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#2 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#4 of 5 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sheraton Noosa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing