We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why dinosaurs and golf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Why dinosaurs and golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at this resort 6 times and this week will be my last. The food is good and the staff friendly but "Cliveland" has ensured I shal not return. It is a 5 star resort that has been cheapened with the addition of gaudy yellow signs telling you to eat at Palmers bistro. The photos of Clive shaking hands with various people are such a w$&k. The photos seem to remind me of third world dictators who plaster their photos on all street corners (think Mao nod Saddam Hussein). Oh yeah the resort busses and many other things have huge CLIVE PALMER FOR PM written all over them.

The golf villas are spacious and comfortable, well cleaned but showing signs of age. The grounds are well cared for and huge. I myself have a healthy ego but I am nothing compared to our beloved potential leader Clive. All hail King Clive.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    137
    83
    65
    63
See reviews for
129
143
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's called Palmer Resort for a reason. Clive Palmer is EVERYWHERE. From the posters on the fence, to the dinasours on the golf course, and the promotion of his titanic project you just can't get away from him (or his personal passions). I found it overwhelmed the resort, which is also showing its age and in need of a refurbishment. I feel sorry for the staff who are great, and making a big effort to make do with what they've got - but I think they are fighting a losing battle. Certainly not the luxurious resort it was in its Hyatt days, but if you love golf, are looking for a 3 star experience, and can ignore Clivesville you could have a good stay. I won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times since 1998, on one occasion for a month, but all when it was the Hyatt. We were staying elsewhere this time, but were invited by friends staying at the Palmer Resort, for a game of golf and a meal.

This resort has gone downhill fast, we would endorse all the negative comments below. Palmer have ruined what was an outstanding place.

We will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have played this course 6 times in the last 9 years but this latest visit was a real shock- gone are the tasteful signs and helpful staff- they have been replaced by large tacky bright yellow signs advertising the owner- gone is the beautifully groomed course- instead gross dinosaurs tower over you and also gone are the overpriced but nice sandwiches on course- instead a poor sandwich, bought from the bar costs $8 Bring back Hyatt

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

As entitled - the resort, was tired, tawdry (with large scale dinosaur models) & minimal service. The room was tired in the extreme and given over to large scale infestation of little black ants (like a moving black carpet in some places). Buying new models of dinosaurs is obviously considered to be a higher priority than refurbishing the rooms.

After a work dinner, we all went to relax at the bar, only to find that, despite them having the option to continue serving drinks for a good couple of hours, they decided, on minimal notice for last drinks to close at 10pm.

All in all - unless there has been significant improvement in the last couple of months - this is a definite 'avoid'.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June, courtesy of relatives as an anniversary present. I can imagine that in its heyday it was a truly luxurious 5 star resort but unfortunately it’s no longer the case. Our room was ok but certainly not 5 star, and the rest of the resort was looking rather tired and a bit shabby. It’s was also all a bit weird, a dinosaur on the golf course, Rolls Royces in the lobby and pictures of Clive palmer everywhere.

What spoilt it for us though was the fact that on the Saturday night we stayed it was deserted. The central square and restaurants were almost empty and devoid of any atmosphere whatsoever and we pitied the poor singer who was due to sing to an empty square for the next 2 hours. Rather than sit in an empty restaurant, we got a take away pizza and took it back to our room. We heard from a staff member the next morning that the occupancy rate was only about 10% and I’m not surprised considering that the cheapest room that night was $300.

I suspect that Clive Palmer’s future interest in this area will be concentrated on his new dinosaur and car museum and his attempt to build a new beachfront hotel, at the expense of this once luxury resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This used to be the Hyatt Regency and I stayed there for a convention a few years back. I remember thinking it was better back then. Overall, much better value for money elsewhere and I would recommend looking elsewhere as a consequence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.