We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer Coolum Resort

Save Saved
You added Palmer Coolum Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmer Coolum Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This used to be the Hyatt Regency and I stayed there for a convention a few years back. I remember thinking it was better back then. Overall, much better value for money elsewhere and I would recommend looking elsewhere as a consequence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    127
    76
    54
    52
See reviews for
118
134
9
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed with my boy wonder (husband of 24 years) and what a splendid time we had.

Our driver to the resort was friendly and informative - we bombarded him with questions after all who doesn't want to try and understand his somewhat quirky employer - and then we arrived....

Initially I was a little nonplussed by the dinosaur on the golf course, the vintage cars and bright signage - I couldn't work out the theme.

Once I stopped trying to work it all out I settled into just allowing everything to be just as it was and simply let go and started to enjoy myself.

Yes somethings could do with some sprucing up, but our room with a view was comfortable and immaculately clean. I thought how the mini bar gets stocked makes sense, one can request what they would like and the stock is quickly run to you - I liked that I knew how fresh it is.

The Spa, mmmmm delicious, a spa with forceful jets, palms, the one I love - a lot of time was spent there. The facilities were super clean and importantly well stocked with towels, robes and slippers and best of all...... Molten Brown toiletries

On two occasions of our stay we dined at The Captains Table - oh what a delight - the food was sensational and service attentive without being intrusive - we were ably looked after by Debbie and Ray.

Boy wonder enjoyed the gym numerous times, I was happy spa-ing, cycling and ambling about.

We found all of the staff friendly and professional and found everything we were looking for to create an enjoyable experience.

If you go have a great time - you are the captain of your experience and you will!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished room with a view of the golf course and enjoy the serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent a week at the resort to attend a business conference. The resort was very quiet but it was winter. First impressions were great, nice lobby and welcoming staff. Walking through the resort though you can see that it was getting tired and was in need of some maintenance. Some paint on wooden structures and a pressure clean of walls would be a quick easy way to improve. The rooms were also getting tired and would not consider to be 5 star. No mini-bar, good for some (I know) but something that I would expect and generally needs freshening up!. There was a nice little "Village" with restaurants but was disappointed when the bar closed at 9:00 PM - even with a group looking for a drink. Overall the resort getting tired and in need of refresh, may less money spent on the dinosaurs and back into the rooms to reach 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times when it was the Hyatt Regency Coolum. The first thing I noticed was the bright yellow tacky signs.
I didn't stay as a guest this time But visited the spa facilities and dine. The spa didn't fail to impress however when we finished we ventured into the village square for a meal. Absolutely no one around! There was only 1 couple dining, it was like a ghost town, no staff approached us despite them being very quiet, so we left and drove back to Noosa for dinner.
I love this resort, but I don't think I would stay here on my next trip, the atmosphere was dead and staff very off putting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff went out of their way to help with any requests I had, including activities that weren't planned on the calendar. The resort is right next to a small mountain, which has an easy/medium walk up for a nice view. The pool, sauna, steam room and ice bath were great for recovery. The gym could have a few more usable weight machines but it is quite good in comparison to other hotels/resorts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Were there during the Easter Holidays and couldn't believe how quiet the resort was. Having stayed at the resort two years ago it just doesn't seem the same. The room are getting a little dated and requiring some TLC. The staff are very nice and at hand to give help when needed. Overall a little disappointed by the experience. We as a family are very divided over the dinosaurs on the golf coarse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buderim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent a few days at this resort and was concerned that if inspected it would not maintain its five
star rating. Having been to the ex hyatt on numerous occassions I was somewhat dissapointed at
my recent visit. The suite was tired and not up to its ranking. The room staff were friendly but outside on the verandah it was full of leaves and had not been swept for sometime. The food outlets provided the basics without the class previously experienced.
Overall I would rate it as a 3+ resort.

Room Tip: A woodland suite facing east close to the village square is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmer Coolum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer Coolum Resort

Address: Warran Road, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Coolum)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmer Coolum Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the base of Mount Coolum on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, Palmer Coolum Resort is one of Australia's finest all encompassing resort destinations. Accommodation at Palmer Coolum Resort is set amongst natural bushland, lakes and gardens. Spacious Deluxe Studios are popular with couples, while 2 bedroom Woodland, Golf and Lakefront Villas are ideal for families. The exclusive Ambassador Club offers the ultimate in accommodation on the Sunshine Coast, with luxurious 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Suites. The Ambassador Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily, pre-dinner drinks and canapes each evening, a private pool and tennis court. Superb leisure facilities at Palmer Coolum Resort include an 18-hole championship golf course, the largest day spa in the southern hemisphere, tennis centre with 7 floodlit courts, 9 sparkling swimming pools, direct access to the beach, Kids Club for children aged 6 weeks to 10 years and the activities centre with cookie decorating and craft projects! The championship course is complemented by an extensive range of practice facilities including the Golf Education Centre with PGA Teaching Professionals available for private lessons, a chipping green with an adjoining practice bunker, a practice putting green and floodlit driving range. The Village Square is the heart of the Resort. Enjoy Modern Australian at Ned Kelly's restaurant, authentic South East Asian cuisine from The Smiling Duck, or delicious pizzas from the Pizza Pasta. Palmer Coolum Resort is now home to one of the largest private car collections on display and the largest Dinosaur Park in the world. The Resort offers a wonderful 4 star family experience as well as catering for couples who want an indulgent week-end away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Palmer Coolum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Hyatt Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer Coolum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.