We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolum Baywatch Resort

Coolum Baywatch Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coolum Baywatch Resort to your Saves list
Coolum Baywatch Resort
1768 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at Coolum Baywatch, just cannot beat the location on the Sunshine Coast. Coolum is quieter than some of the other towns along the coast which suits us. The beach is lovely and from our room balcony we could see right up the coast line. Coolum Baywatch is very central and unlike some accommodation in Coolum, it is right across the road from the beach and close to all the shops and restaurants. The restaurant on the premises is a very popular spot with locals and visitors. You can sit on the veranda area and eat while gazing out to the ocean.... lovely spot and amazing food. The owners are lovely and very helpful and friendly. We love the large rooms which cater for all your needs and that the garage area under the building is very secure. Even though Coolum Baywatch is on the main road, the accommodation is very quiet as the rooms are set back from the road. We slept very well in our lovely comfortable bed and every morning joined all the other walkers taking a stroll on the beach. My only small complaint would be that the bathroom in our room could do with a spruce up, needed some new sealant around the spa bath, some tiles replaced and a dripping tap fixed, then that would have made it perfect. These things really didnt bother us but may put someone more fussy off. It really was only a maintenance thing which I am sure they will get to. Otherwise the room was all we could ask for and great value for money. Would definitely return here to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Once again we return to this gray little accomodation without disappointment in any way. We stay twice a year plus and would recommend to the most discerning traveller. Elaine always makes you welcome and since her arrival here it is a joy to stay nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at Coolum Baywatch for two nights. The owner rang on our way to resort to tell how to access room which meant we could take our time. the room was well furnished with views of beach across the road. Great location with a number of restaurants & cafes within a short walk. patrolled beach is just across the road.

My only complaint was noise late at night that restaurant makes when emptying bottles into recycling bins

Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I arrived at Coolum Baywatch on a Friday afternoon. The lady who manages the resort was terrific. We had not stayed in Coolum before although we had been through the area. My wife and I had a meal at the restaurant which is on the ground floor of the complex. It is called 'My Place'. The food was good and their wine list was reasonable. The next morning we went for a walk on the beach. If you walk to the north there is a creek which crosses the beach about a mile from 'Baywatch'. Quite a few people do morning walks along the beach and it is a friendly place. Later we went inland to the Ginger Factory which was worth the visit. There is also a macadamia processing place across the road.

Room Tip: We had a single bedroom at the front on the third floor. Can't remember the room number but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This resort is situated in the most premium location in Coolum... above the cafe that serves the best flat whites and opposite the board walk. The unit overlooks the bay so you can enjoy your evening drink watching the sun setting from your balcony. The bed room spacious and private and the kitchen/dining/lounge functional and comfortable and a very large spa bath to relax in!! Lovely pool and gardens and a really great BBQ area, and the service was excellent. The only thing we heard at night was the sound of the surf.
There is an abundance of walks and restaurants and a great library. We caught a bus to a few of the tourist attractions, but really enjoyed just being in Coolum.
Stay at Baywatch.. you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

While we didn't stay at Baywatch Coolum, we did try and have breakfast at the cafe/restaurant on the ground level. I use the word "try" as we sat down, waited unsuccessfully for menus and were ignored by the wait staff, most of whom I observed floating around the cafe searching for things to do - it wasn't like it was very busy. I got our own menus from the front desk and we waited....and waited..... After about 10 minutes we decided to go elsewhere. Very unimpressed. :(

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have stayed here often and in the floods in January 2011 we had to leave early as our property in bribane was threatened. we received a voucher to return and were once again made welcome on our return. This proprty is clean , centrally located with good restaurants all round once you park your car there is no need to start it till you leave. We will definately return in January 2012 for a week.

Room Tip: They are all good as we have experienced several although the fron rooms facing the beach give a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolum Baywatch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum Baywatch Resort

Address: 1768 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coolum Baywatch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolum Baywatch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.