We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Coolum Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Coolum Beach to your Saves list
The Point Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great relaxing retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed here several times over the years since a friend made a recommendation. We have stayed in 1 bedroom, 2 bedrooms and a Penthouse with 3 bedrooms and have never been disappointed with the facilities on offer.

You are initially supplied with enough soaps, toilet paper, dishwasher powder etc. for the first couple of days so you will need to buy some additional supplies which can be annoying... although on our last stay we asked reception for some additional supplies and it wasn't a problem.

Location, Location, Location can't be beaten by the magnificent views up and down the coast or simply the view from the balcony to the ocean which is amazing and very relaxing. There are plenty of stores nearby to allow you to purchase supplies so that you can make your own meals or take a leisurely stroll into Coolum Beach and eat at one of the many great restaurants.

See my other reviews for some great places to eat while staying in the area. There are also a number of attractions just a short drive away that can provide great entertainment; Australia Zoo, Aquarium, Ginger Factory etc. or spend your time at one of the great beaches along this strip of coastline.

On all visits to this part of Queensland we have always had a great time and the weather has always been pleasant; nice and hot in summer and winters are possibly the best time to visit as the cool weather is actually quiet pleasant.

You will certainly not be disappointed by your stay at this property and they cater for all groups of singles right through to multiple couples.

Room Tip: Calling the property will allow you to get the right room as they have different numbers of bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thankyou for your review and continued support over the years. Settled on the top of Point Arkwright all of our Villas have such amazing views, no matter the size. We have a number of different styles and configurations within the resort and our helpful staff are more than happy to discuss the different accommodation types. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    49
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
78
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Darryl.Mackay QLD Excellent surroundings,accomodation and staff.This would be the best place we have stayed at in a very long time.Close to everything you need to complete a wonderful stay.The view of the ocean from our balcony was stunning during the day and romantic at night with the moon shinning over the water.

Room Tip: The Villas are beautiful,well set out and have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thankyou for your review. The views at The Point Coolum are amazing. When combined with the abundant gardens and large Villas it makes for a perfect weekend getaway. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our recent stay at The Point in Coolum was a little bit of heaven. A peaceful retreat from our everyday lives. Panoramic views of the ocean from the hilltop vantage and only the sound of the birds in the nearby gardens to disturb the peace. Friendly resort staff made our stay a pleasure. The unit we stayed in was beautiful, with all the little extra creature comforts one could wish for, we really felt at home. A lovely stroll along a beachside boardwalk takes you back to reality and the hustle and bustle of the shops and sidewalk Cafés of Coolum. A beautiful swimming beach with a variety of restaurants and Take-always to suit all tastes. The nearby Eumundi Markets were a delight and a short trip to Noosa for a walk in the National Park rounded off our perfect holiday, our first without our two children in tow. It felt like a second honeymoon. Shirley Webber

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us. The gardens and grounds combined with the ocean views make The Point are perfect escape for a relaxing holiday. Being the perfect distance from Coolum Main Beach we offer a lovely balance between peace and quiet, and the hustle and bustle of a busy beachside community. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Comfortable, clean and convenient. The apartments have excellent views. There is also a bus outside the door for those who are car-less too! Only down-side is that the lower level apartments pick up quite a bit of traffic noise - however the wound of crashing waves compensates for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thankyou for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our one bedroom standard apartments are large and spacious. Situated at the front of the property with views over the ocean, they can pick up some traffic noise from the balconies during the day, and the sound of the waves hitting the rocks at night. We do have alternative room types situated further back amongst the manicured gardens if silence is a priority. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

14/12/13 We stayed at The Point Coolum Beach Apartments.
I was doing some Sunrise shots for my Photography Business. We have stayed here before and have always remarked on the lovely ocean views from the balcony. Very relaxing, puts you in a holiday mood even if it isn't a holiday. We were in Apartment 31 looking out over Coolum Beach towards Perigian. Very private and quiet. Highly recommend this place.
The staff are always helpful to get you a suitable Apartment to fit your needs.
Thankyou for fitting us in for just one night.

Room Tip: The Apartments looking over the Coolum Vista suit the family, as there is plenty of upstairs and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thankyou for your review and the wonderful pictures of our manicured gardens and grounds. The views from the Point are amazing and make for some good photography. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see some more of the your photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We've being coming to The Point for 12 years and it never fails to remain perfect
Great staff although miss Mayanne and Mike but Kim's crew looked after us well
Villas always great and gardens and amenities up to date and beautifully kempt
Booked for next year already

Room Tip: Sorry can't give secret room away but have stayed in most so all good Love the 2 fat ladies roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thankyou for your review. It was lovely to see you again and we look forward to seeing you again next year and every year after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This resort is magnificent position with all units getting an excellent view.
Our apartment was well furnished with everything we needed for our stay; the views were exceptional with 180 degree beach views from the balcony. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great outlook, but no. 19 was especially good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review. No 19 is a beautiful unit in our hilltop villas. It has a nice modern feel and a magnificent 180 degree view. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas and penthouses suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay.The Point-Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views in luxury Villa style accommodation situated over our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Hyatt Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. Secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep. The layout of our property & villas are ideal for corporate retreats, informal meetings and family get-togethers. Combine the comfort and convenience, and our fabulous views with our superb golf packages makes The Point-Coolum Beach perfect for your next executive retreat or team building exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Coolum Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.