We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great beaches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Coolum Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Coolum Beach to your Saves list
The Point Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here 22 to 27 August - found via Trip Advisor. Was given a 2 bedroom unit although just the two of us so very spacious with full kitchen (stovetop/oven), washing machine & dryer. Ocean view and could see the sunrise from our bed - very nice. Short walk over the road and down a goat track to beach (beware naturalists use this beach too!), better beach either by walking to the left or to the right (1.6km). Really well presented rooms, everything we needed. Quiet at night, good walk in wardrobe.

Room Tip: Get a car so you can drive up and down the Coast - stock up on supplies at Coles just off the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thankyou for your review. it was great to see you exploring our many goat tracks and bushwalking paths along the cliffs. They offer amazing views of the coastline and can take you too different coves and beaches. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Point Coolum Beach is in an awesome location overlooking the ocean. Short walk to a small beach and a quiet spot far enough out of the busy area of Coolum but not too far for accessibility. Room was very tidy, open plan lounge/kitchen/dining. Clean and spacious bathroom and big relaxing balconies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
The Point Coolum is situated walking distance from the main part of Coolum allowing guest to enjoy the amazing views a long with the peace and tranquillity a holiday should offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights during the final leg of our holiday. We were very impressed with the homely feel of the flat/unit.
It was clean and very well presented and had everything you needed.
The view from every single window was lovely, the bed was comfortable and there was loads of space. It was a home away from home.
Reception were friendly and happy to help point us in the right direction (despite me growing up in Brisbane and visiting Coolum many times during my life, I've been away for 14 years so had lost my bearings)
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

BTW - for anyone looking for things to do, you MUST visit the Eumundi Markets - they are fantastic!
Anyone looking for a great breakfast, head back down to the main town (2 minutes drive) and stop at Raw Energy. We were there every day - I was sad to leave.

We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thankyou for your great review. The views at The Point are amazing and all our villas are large and spacious. We strive to make our villas a home away from home and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have recently returned for our 2nd stay at The Point Coolum Beach. Perfect family holiday with well appointed, private villas and wonderful view. We will be returning again in the future. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Penthouse 26# had stunning views and was the pick! Gorgeous view over Coolum Beach and very well app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thankyou for your excellent review. All of our villas boast amazing ocean views and we are glad you enjoyed the comfortable surroundings. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed just the one night for the first time after finding The Point Deluxe online. Excellent location and well appointed. A 5 minute drive away is everything you would need - cafe's, food, groceries and a beautiful patrolled beach. The villa's are private and spacious and all utensils etc included. Will definitely be back again. Only a couple of minor negatives but really small personal tastes - a fan in the main bedroom would have been nice (2nd bedroom had one) and found the bed not quite to my comfort level but nothing extreme.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thankyou for trying The Point and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. All of our villas are owned and furnished separately making every villa unique. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing break from the pace of Sydney life and found the perfect spot at The Point. We stayed in one of the hilltop villas (#12), which was beautifully appointed and had amazing views. We loved sitting on the balcony, gazing over the sun-lit ocean with a glass or two of wine.....OK, it may have been a bottle or two, but we're blaming it on the wonderful ambience! We liked the fact that The Point is situated just outside the main area of Coolum Beach. It is close enough for easy access to the shops and cafes (just over 1km away), while having quiet surrounds and a degree of privacy.
Two things we'd recommend during your stay - a visit to the Eumundi markets & a meal at The Spirit House in nearby Yandina - make sure you book in advance, it's very popular!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thankyou for staying with us. With our location just outside of Coolum, The Point provides guests with a more private and relaxing holiday experience. It is just a short walk along the ocean front to the main town of Coolum Beach allowing holiday makers to sample all of what Coolum has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked a one bedroom villa (#43) for Queens Birthday weekend after enjoying staying with friends at this property over Easter.

Unfortunately the weather was less than stellar so we were unable to take full advantage of the wonderful terrace overlooking the ocean.

The villa itself was clean and nicely furnished with lots of nice little touches i.e. a bookcase with books and a huge apple shaped lamp by the T.V. There was everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The kitchen was fine for us because we were doing minimal self catering. But some may find it a bit restrictive as there is only a microwave and two ring cooktop, no oven or BBQ.

The sea view is fantastic and nothing beats being lulled to sleep by the roar of the ocean.

We loved it here and hope to return before the year is out.

Room Tip: All of the one bedroom villas front David Low Way except for no. 16. The ocean tends to drown out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thankyou for your review. All our villas have individual owners and their own unique touches to make them homely. The one bedroom coral sea villas only have a small kitchenette but why not take advantage of our BBQ hire service on your next stay. We will happily install a BBQ on your private deck for the duration of your stay for a set price of $30.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas and penthouses suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay.The Point-Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views in luxury Villa style accommodation situated over our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Hyatt Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. Secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep. The layout of our property & villas are ideal for corporate retreats, informal meetings and family get-togethers. Combine the comfort and convenience, and our fabulous views with our superb golf packages makes The Point-Coolum Beach perfect for your next executive retreat or team building exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Coolum Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.