We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Coolum Beach

Save Saved
You added The Point Coolum Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've had the pleasure of visiting The Point on many occasions and am never disappointed.
The villas do vary in decor and style and we are yet to find one that wasn't clean and well maintained.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful with any requests, comments or enquiries dealt with efficiently and quickly.
I cannot recommend The Point highly enough for couples or families (we have done both). The pool and proximity to the beach are great for kids but it's also great for couples as it's not overrun with children!
From reading other reviews it seems others don't like that you're a good 10 minute walk out of Coolum but personally I think the walk is so beautiful along the coast and the views from the Point just take your breath away and make up for it anyway!

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget to a penthouse you will not be disappointed! Also I recommend you phon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort
Your kind words are greatly appreciated

We look forward to seeing you back here again soon

With kind regards

Tanita Heap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    43
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
65
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

5 lovely nights in The Point with my wife and daughter. The accommodation was perfect for us and what made it even better was the fact we got a free upgrade. The staff were very freindly and helpful as well. I would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone heading up to Coolum Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Scott J

Thank you for your kind words. We thank you for visiting us here in Coolum and look forward to seeing you back here again soon

With kind regards
Tanita Heap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great position but wild life kept us awake all night running around in the roof. Wouldn't have expected to have to put up with such problems for the price per night we had paid - did not find it good value. Couldn't recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Joanne

I am so sorry to hear your stay with us here at The Point was spoiled by our local wild life (possum) keeping you awake.
Upon you informing our reception staff of your concerns, we called in our wildlife control man who came in as soon as he was available and he set a trap.

I am please to report that Penny the possum & her baby have now been relocated to nearby Mt Coolum National Park.

Villa 11 which you stayed in (photo shown on this Trip Advisor page and can also be seen on The Point website and Facebook pages) is one of our most popular renovated 2 Bedroom Hilltop Villa’s and is surrounded by palm trees which are currently fruiting berries. Penny the possum was using the roof as a short cut to get to the berries. She was too lazy to walk around the building to climb the tree.

The Point Coolum is situated on 10 acres of land and is surrounded by natural rainforest, we do share our space with local wild life that also call The Point home. Along with Possums we also have rock wallabies, laughing kookaburras, tame & very demanding pee-wee birds that will share your breakfast with you, soaring wedge tailed eagles and the occasional koala.

Once again I sincerely apologise for Penny the Possum’s heavy foot.
Sometimes these situations are beyond our control but we do endeavour to act on any complaints we receive to the best of our abilities.
WIth kind regards

Tanita Heap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spacious villa. Good value in off season. friendly people in their management office. Excellent cleanness. We will visit there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for thaking hte time to review our property.
I am so happy to hear that you were pleased the servic from our team.
We look forward to seeing you back here in the very near future

With kind regards
The Team from The Point Coolum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment with fabulous views over the ocean and along the coast to Noosa. The apartment was very well appointed with full kitchen, laundry, lounge/dining, ensuite and another bathroom, private balcony with outside setting, and private garage underneath. Quiet location with beach over the road.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I stayed in a one bedroom Coral Sea villa for 2 night in January 2012. The apartment was clean with a large balcony and bathroom. Location was great, just what we were looking for. However it was not within walking distance to the Coolum beach. The views were beautiful. We were there with our 3 year old. There was a window between the bedroom and the living room, which was not very convenient for us. We had to tip toed around the apartment as my 3 year old was sleeping. There was a garbage skip at the ground floor near the stair to go to our unit. There was unpleasant smell every time we opened the front door. Glad the smell didn’t come into our unit. I would probably recommend for the management to clean the garbage regularly to get rid of the unpleasant smell. Under cover carparking was available. The girls at the receptionist were very friendly. We would definitely go there again and probably stay in a higher or different unit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Flotravel

Thank you for taking the time to review and give us your honest opinions of your experience at The Point Coolum.

We were mortified to hear that you experienced a “FOUL SMELL”.
With all upmost respect and with out trying to sounding defensive, may I please clarify that we do not and never have had a “Garbage Skip” anywhere in our resort.
Each Villa have their own garbage wheelie bins, one for general rubbish, one for recyclables, which are located in designated areas around our 6 acres property.
The Garbage is collected each Monday morning by the local council.
After each collection our grounds-man hoses out and disinfects each individual bin. He then line the bins with heavy duty 240L bin liners to maintain the highest possible hygiene level.

Given that you visited us in January at the height of summer heat, it is possible that another other guest may have disposed of prawn shells/seafood in to a bin near by to your particular villa. It only takes a couple of hours in the summer heat for this type of food waste to produce a “FOUL” smell. For this we sincerely apologise that you had to experienced and if you had made us aware of this at the time the offending bin could have been removed and relocated to an isolated area.
We will endeavour to be more vigilant in monitoring this situation in the future.

THE VILLAS.
The architectural design of 1 Bedroom Coral Sea Villas where you stayed all have wooden shutters between the bedroom and the living room. These villas are more suitable for business travelers or couples as opposed to families. As not one villa is the same here at The Point our team will be more than happy to discuss upon booking your individual requirement and decor taste and find a villa that will be most suitable for you and your family on your next visit.

We sincerely hope that this experience has not tarnish your impression of us. If any of my team or my self can personally be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at any time on 07 5440 9888.

With upmost respects and sincere regards,
Tanita Heap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed one night and found it to be good value (in low season), clean and well-maintained. The apartment was certainly well equipped for longer stays with cooking equipment, even a washing machine and dryer. Ours was on a lower level, had a great view out to the ocean so I can imagine the higher ones have even better vistas. Handy to Coolum Beach and about 20 min to Noosa. In our brief interactions with staff on the phone and in person, they were very friendly and helpful. Recommended - we are planning a return for a longer stay in summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas and penthouses suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay.The Point-Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views in luxury Villa style accommodation situated over our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Hyatt Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. Secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep. The layout of our property & villas are ideal for corporate retreats, informal meetings and family get-togethers. Combine the comfort and convenience, and our fabulous views with our superb golf packages makes The Point-Coolum Beach perfect for your next executive retreat or team building exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Coolum Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.