We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service, very overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coolum at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coolum at the Beach to your Saves list
Coolum at the Beach
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Corner Margaret Street and David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Qld
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shocking service, very overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed here last Christmas/New Year and our unit was poorly serviced: no cover on the doona, no TV reception, the much touted stereo system didn't even work. When we complained, the staff dismissed us with a "it's holiday time, we can't get servicemen in" and "we'll get onto it tomorrow". Friends stayed in nearby accommodation which was much cheaper, much classier. We stayed for 10 days, our room wasn't serviced once, and it was supposed to be serviced every third day! Staff refused to move. Don't stay at this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed in 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa. We booked on the internet about 3 months before and paid a very good rate. The villa was very large and plenty of room for 4 adults and 3 teenagers. It also had 2 undercroft carparks with rollerdoors. It was very well equipped and furnished. Cooktop and ovens were fine. The rooftop seating area and spa were enjoyed. There were several patio areas and a Weber Q BBQ. The resort has lovely gardens and heated pools and is only a 5-10 minute walk to a patrolled area of the beach. It is also close to shops and restaurants. There is a fantastic bakery next to the IGA supermarket - well worth trying their pies. I had the best curry chicken pie I have ever tasted! Coolum is fairly quiet but that's the way we like it.
Unfortunately the villa was a bit dirty when we arrived however reception was very apologetic and arranged for cleaners to redo the cleaning on the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This place was great. Brand new pools are excellent and friendly staff. Went there with my boyfriend for a few days and chilled right out. The 4 pools were great too.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

The only room that was available at the time we wanted to stay was a 3 bedroom villa. These are huge villas with private garage on the ground level, living area on the 1st level, bedrooms on the 2nd level and private rooftop with spa on the top level. These would be great for a family stay for a week or so. The kitchen has everything you need. Pots, pans, cups, glasses, plates, utensils etc etc. There is a bbq on the porch with an outdoor setting.

The resort is still fairly new and so are the facilities such as the pool and gym. The main pool is heated with a little café attached with coffee, drinks and snacks – a nice touch.

Coolum itself is fairly quiet and a bit too quiet for us. There a few cafés but not many restaurants. There is a supermarket across the road from the resort for food supplies as well as a liquor store for drink supplies.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Had a nice relaxing get away with family and friends. With 4 swimming pools including a lap pool, the kids were entertained all day. Just a short walk to the beach and major shopping strip, it is well located and quiet. And for something different, there are buses to Noosa every 20 minutes.
The resort itself is very modern and new so its clean and well equipped.
Staff were friendly and helpful. This is a must stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Fantastic place with 4 pools in the resort. Will be back for sure. Friendly staff and pool scene.

  • Liked — Pools and apartments
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

My husband, three children and I stayed at this property recently and we were looking forward to staying in our accommodation as it is relatively new. We stayed for a total of ten days and were very happy with the price the resort charged us (although my husband did have to haggle quite a bit with the staff to get a good deal).

I don't know whether I have been spoilt in the past or not as I often stay on the Sunshine Coast for holidays with my family, but I wasn't overly impressed with the accommodation.

Our main problem was that we felt that $100 for cot hire for the stay was outrageous (@ $10 a night). Also upon arrival, we found that our four storey villa we had booked did not come with stair guards, so there was nothing to stop our 1 year old from falling down the stairs. Some travellers may find it a bit strange that we would deliberately choose to stay in accommodation with stairs with such a young child, but I have never had any issues in the past with either of my other children and stair guards have always been provided at every other resort we have stayed at. Naturally assuming that stair guards would be in the room (and considering the fact that we had booked a cot, it was obvious we had a young child with us), we had to go and ask at Reception whereby they stated that they had "never had a toddler stay at the resort before" and had never come across this problem. I find it difficult to believe that no toddlers had stayed at the Resort in more than six months and we certainly saw several of them there whilst we stayed there. Finally the staff arranged to hire them from somewhere, but then stated that we would have to pay the additional charge ($36). My husband let it be known that he wasn't happy to pay the additional charge, so it was eventually waived and the stair guards were delivered within a couple of hours, free of charge.

The villa itself was quite spacious, clean and well stocked with kitchen utensils, etc. The top floor had a BBQ which we used several times and it cooked satisfactorily. The oven and cooktop in the kitchen however, were dreadful. Nothing cooked on the cooktop and my husband eventually had to run our meat up to the top floor to cook it on the BBQ. I couldn't even boil any water in a pot as it could not maintain a high enough heat, so we did find ourselves eating a little more takeaway food than we originally planned (not that the kids complained!)

We had a small secluded patio that came in quite handy during rainy periods for the kids just to sit outside instead of being holed up inside, and we also found the front gate useful and used the side road to park the car instead of the underground carpark which took quite a while to manoeuvre our large car out of. It was easier to leave it outside on the street right at our front door. The remote control for the carpark roller door also only worked sporadically, but we couldn't be bothered going back to complain to Reception again about a trivial matter such as that.

The pools were relatively clean and there was plenty of outdoor furniture available. The kiosk was open every time we went to the pool, although we did not purchase anything from there.

I must comment that I was impressed with their backup generator as one night whilst we were staying there, a blackout was experienced which was caused by a huge thunderstorm and although there were no street lights or any lights in any of the nearby houses, we were not even aware that the power had switched over to a generator the transition was so smooth.

We found Reception well staffed and relatively helpful, although I wouldn't say they were the friendliest staff I have ever come across.

Also, rubbish removal was not ever mentioned on checking in, and we had to try and figure out for ourselves what to do with our rubbish. There was a bin downstairs in the carpark with our villa number on it, but we had to look to find it and then we had no idea how it was supposed to get emptied considering it was inside our locked garage. In the end we took a guess at what night "rubbish night" was and wheeled the bin out into the carpark and hoped for the best. We were lucky we picked the right night and it was duly emptied. However, none of this was explained to us and perhaps it needs to be added to the Compendium as there was nothing mentioned about it anywhere.

I'd probably give this resort a 7/10, had I not been travelling with a toddler and having the stair guard problem and the overpriced cot, it may have been an 8.

  • Liked — Spacious Villa & Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cot Hire Cost / Lack of Stair Guards / Kitchen cooking facilities weren't the best
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolum at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum at the Beach

Address: Corner Margaret Street and David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coolum at the Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolum at the Beach is Coolum's newest beachside resort. Offering spacious, modern, fully self-contained 1,2 and 3 bedroom apartments and luxurious 3 and 4 bedroom villas with rooftop terrace and spa, Coolum at the Beach is a great choice for couples, families and groups. All apartments are fully air-conditioned and feature a balcony overlooking a pool or lush tropical gardens. The resort offers 4 pools (2 heated) including main resort pool, fabulous kids wading pool, 20m lap pool and plunge pool - plus a gymnasium - all set within lush tropical gardens. Located directly across the road from gorgeous Coolum Beach and the Coles supermarket complex - Coolum at the Beach is perfectly located for your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Coolum at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolum @ The Beach Hotel Coolum Beach
q Hotel Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolum at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.