We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coolum at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coolum at the Beach to your Saves list
Coolum at the Beach
Corner Margaret Street and David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Like we said, Awesome place to stay. We had a three bedroom apartment locked down to one. Clean and tidy and everything in the apartment works which is almost unheard of today. Peaceful sleeps and pleasant days. Two steps and a heartbeat to the soft white sand and beautiful blue ocean. Loved the four pools especially the lap pool. Also the secure parking is great. We have already recommended Coolum at the Beach to all our friends and family. A big thanks to the staff for their warm welcomes and fantastic hospitality. Thanks guys. We will be sure to be back real soon.
kind regards
Hemi and Kate

Room Tip: Down the lap pool end of the property was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello and thank you for your AWESOME review of our resort! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the resort clean and tidy, comfortable for sleeping and close to everything you need for a relaxing beachside holiday. I really get a thrill out of hearing happy guests enjoying their holiday here at Coolum at the Beach! Hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great place to stay. We had a two bedroom apartment. Kitchen facilities are great with all you need. Good size living area and balcony. Bedrooms are roomy with good storage in the main bedroom. Air conditioning in every room (already turned on before we arrived, thank you). Very clean and tidy. No problems with noise.

The other facilities are great with 4 pools. Great pool for toddlers. It's great having a kiosk at the main pool. Parking is good and there are facilities for locking up your bikes. Heaps of bike tracks handy for riding as well.

Coles is that close you can bring the food home in the trolley. Heaps of great restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk as well. Patrolled beach across the road.

The only thing that could of been improved was when the sheets etc are changed during the middle of the stay the floor in the living area could be vacuumed as well. I know there is a vacuum cleaner there and we could do it ourselves but the aim of holidays is not to have to do that sort of thing. Wasn't really a big issue but just feedback for making the experience a little better for longer stays.

Basically we didn't want for anything in our time there. Great accommodation at a great place at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello rating_service. Thank you for your great review of our resort! I am so pleased to hear you had an excellent family holiday and were able to enjoy all the great benefits our resort and our convenient location offer our guests. We aim to offer exactly what you mentioned - great accommodation at a great price. With regards to the service on your apartment mid-way through your stay, the vacuuming should definitely have been done and I will mention this to our housekeeping staff for future reference. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back one day.
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in a four bedroom villa. It was expensive but I guess you get what you pay for. We slept well, our villa was quiet and well equipped. The hotel is excellent, with 4 swimming pools – something for the whole family. The main pool has a kiosk and the hotel supplies a few floating toys which is a really nice thing to offer to the guests. The location is excellent. Two minutes walk away is a Coles Supermarket, and 5-10 minutes walk away is the centre of the small town of Coolum with all the things that families need like ice creams, pizza and fish and chips. Coolum Beach is great. Enough people so you don't feel isolated, but not too crowded. Overall Coolum town and the Coolum at the Beach hotel are so good you could just stay here for your whole holiday and have a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello Stjerne1 and thank you for your glowing review. As a person who loves their own family holidays, it brought me great joy to read your fabulous feedback about your stay with us. You are right about our 4 bedroom villa - it is a fabulous place for a family holiday. I 'm also glad you enjoyed the facilities offered by the resort and our convenient location. We hope to see you back again one day here in sunny, laidback Coolum!

Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to coolum at the beach for 2nights just after new year the room was very well kitted out & very clean all mod comes the pool was clean shops&resturants close by.The beach across the road was long and sandy overall a very relaxing couple of days would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello teebigboy. Thank you for your kind comments about our resort. I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month. As you say, our location is so convenient to the glorious stretch of sand on Coolum Beach, the shops and restaurants and our apartments really do offer everything you need whilst on holiday. We hope to see you again here in Oz one day!
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and were very impressed. Our unit was at the lap pool end of the building, so nice and quiet despite being a busy time of year. Our only complaint was receptionist Michelle was quite rude at check-in, but was also rude to group checking-in in front of us so we didn't take it personally. Gym could also use a clean but otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Fussy_Foodie88. While this is not the kind of review I enjoy, your feedback is still appreciated. We do pride ourselves on providing a high level of service to our guests. On this occasion, I apologise for the fact that my service level did not meet your expectation. Glad to hear you enjoyed all other aspects of the resort, however.
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Have just returned after 7 nights in a one bedroom unit (Unit No 116) on the 2nd floor. Very clean and comfortable unit, our unit overlooked the lap pool so we where away from the main pool so it was very quite. Grounds and pool where always clean and tidy, close to Coles, secure undercover parking. We are already planning on a return visit.

Room Tip: Units overlooking lap pool, very quite as most family's with small children tend to use main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Tricia R. Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience. I am so pleased to hear how happy you were with the apartment, the location and the amenities of our resort. All these factors combined help to provide our guests with a full holiday experience. Our one bedroom apartments are very spacious and ideal for a short or long holiday - especially perfect for a couple. We look forward to welcoming you back to Coolum at the Beach again soon.
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family and I (mostly teenagers) stayed for a week, rooms were amazing, beds comfortable, great size, pools and surrounds were well kept and very tidy.

However as having mostly teenagers internet, phone connection etc is important. Internet connection in rooms is via cable only No wifi. WIFI is available at cost near reception only. Internet with third party very expensive. Does not advertise this fact well. In addition to poor internet, phone reception in our room was very very poor. As i was working for a couple of days during our stay i spent a lot of time outside on the pavement taking phone calls which was very frustrating. Foxtel austar was also advertised but not available in our room.

I would come again if staying in touch with others is not important as everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle r, Manager at Coolum at the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Kay H. Thank you for your valued feedback on your recent stay with us. I too have teenagers and understand the importance of free wifi and believe me we are working on this right now as a priority for 2014. We do have free wifi codes for guests - mainly available around the main pool. Sorry if you were not made aware of this. I gather you may have had an apartment on the ground floor - which can experience problems with phone reception at times. With regards to the Foxtel, this service is available in all apartments so should have been available in yours? I'm not sure what the problem was there. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything else and we will be sure to spread the word when our new wifi service is up and running.
Warm regards
Michelle Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coolum at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum at the Beach

Address: Corner Margaret Street and David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolum at the Beach is Coolum's newest beachside resort. Offering spacious, modern, fully self-contained 1,2 and 3 bedroom apartments and luxurious 3 and 4 bedroom villas with rooftop terrace and spa, Coolum at the Beach is a great choice for couples, families and groups. All apartments are fully air-conditioned and feature a balcony overlooking a pool or lush tropical gardens. The resort offers 4 pools (2 heated) including main resort pool, fabulous kids wading pool, 20m lap pool and plunge pool - plus a gymnasium - all set within lush tropical gardens. Located directly across the road from gorgeous Coolum Beach and the Coles supermarket complex - Coolum at the Beach is perfectly located for your next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Coolum at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolum @ The Beach Hotel Coolum Beach
q Hotel Coolum Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coolum at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.