We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Hospitality at a Fantastic Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papillon Coolum

Save Saved
You added Papillon Coolum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Coolum
Richmond Close, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save!
Melbourne
1 review
“Quality and Hospitality at a Fantastic Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay and you couldn't ask for better hosts! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Enthusiastic and helpful on-site host. Very peaceful location - except when the adjoining property - a youth hostel is hosting a school visit.... The unit we stayed in was beautifully appointed with thoughtful layouts of day beds and couches. We felt like we were staying in a tastefully decorated home not a rented beach unit. It was perfect for our purposes - R&R after major health issues but probably not suitable for a young family or anyone who wants to be located directly at the beach which is a brisk 8 - 10 minute walk downhill (and uphill on the way back!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb Aust
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Papillion Villas came highly recommended to us via friends.We loved what we saw on the website & booked without hesitation.On arrival everyone was impressed ( which is not always easy with teeenage boys).The three level appartment enabled everyone to find their own space inside and out. Our appartment was light airy and above all spacious with a remote control garage.The entertainment and kitchen areas came fully equipped and left us waning for nothing.The holiday was made even better thanks to Vicki, our engaging hosetess.She was able to assist with local tips,carhire,restuarants etc...Sitting back at home now makes me appreciate how good our time at Papillion Villas was. I remember having glimpses of seaviews from indoors on the couch while watching DVDs and BBQs on our upstairs deck having some giggles and watching the sun go down.Also a big must is a dip in the infinity edge pool with a stunnning rainforest backdrop.Even the odd butterfly flutters past.My partner and I would recommend Papillion Villas to anyone looking for a luxury holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The host of Papillon (Vicky) was so friendly and welcoming. She was incredibly warm and keen to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

The villas were really beautifully appointed and very spacious. Papillon is nestled amongst the trees (about a 2 minute drive from the main street of Coolum) so the setting is very quiet and relaxing. The master bedroom of our villa was huge with a large bathroom and the other guest bathroom had a laundry area which proved useful.

A great spot for a mini getaway or a longer stay as the kitchen was well equipped, there is enough space for a family without living in each others space and overall, our experience was very pleasant. I would recommend Papillon to families or couples wanting a nice getaway without being in the busyness of central Coolum.

Your hosts will make you feel welcome and Papillon is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

My husband and I and our late-teen daughter stayed here for a week and the apartment was just lovely. It's spacious, very well furnished, well designed, very clean, and with eveything we needed. The 3-bedroom rainforest apartment has a courtyard garden (shaded in the afternoon) and overlooks a small area of rainforest. There is a view of the sea to the left of the balcony. The pool is quiet and hidden by the rainforest on one side. Vicky, who manages the complex, is extremely helpful, kind and friendly. If you like walking, it is an easy 10-15 minute walk to beaches and shops (with more of a hill on the way back).

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Having recently stayed at Papillon Villas I shall indeed be placing them on my top list for the Sunshine Coast. The Villa well surpassed my expectations on all levels and I felt very comfortable as a solo visitor. It really was a home away from home and thank you to Vicky for making me feel so welcome. Hopefully, I shall be back with family for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Thankyou Papillon for helping to make my mothers 60th Birthday weekend so special. The villas are so lovely and roomy and most improtantly very clean and well equiped resulting in a very relaxing and stress free weekend for all. The pool was fantastic and the surrounding rainforest and views just made all our guests for the weekend felt very spoilt. We will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papillon Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Coolum

Address: Richmond Close, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a secluded fauna reserve, Papillon Villas provide luxury serviced Villas with modern self-contained facilities. Only minutes from Coolum's famous beaches and shops and 30 minutes from the best the Sunshine Coast can offer, after a day out, come back and relax with private balconies overlooking the ocean and rainforest. Papillon Villas Coolum are self-contained luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Papillon Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillon Coolum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.