We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great regional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-37 Ryley Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Great regional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel offers a lot from in order we experienced:
Very easy under cover car park;
Friendly front desk reception;
Clean, comfortable, warm rooms;
Reception provide useful suggestions to eat locally;
Walking distance to town;
Close to the wine region;
They call you promptly when you leave your pillow behind before you have driven back to Melbourne haha :)

Our room was a entry level room on the ground floor. No complaints, was approximately $130 per night, we stayed for 2 nights. It was located next to the swimming pool/spa/and sauna. Also next to a huge pergola where i ate my breakfast due to the feeling of undercover space.

In summary i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
44
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice hotel. Over the years I've stayed at this property a number of times, most recently January this year. Rooms nice, well appointed and clean with comfortable beds that ensure a good night's sleep. The pool just outside the door is an asset, providing its' summer of course.
The Chinese Restaurant which is just across the road looks a bit shabby from the outside but the food is great. Nearby to italian and Pizza and a 10 minute walk into centre of town.
I try and book when rooms are on special, check out wotif etc, otherwise this hotel can be a bit pricey.
Staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in June in a King Executive Suite. Whilst a tad more expensive, the room is brand new, lovely presentation, big bathroom with bath and jets. Very comfy king bed and outside balcony. The room had great Black out curtains which is a real bonus if you are wanting to sleep in.

The bath was lovely and deep, and the jets were fantastic - very relaxing. Bathroom has a separate shower and toilet. Only strange thing was that there is only glass between the bath and the bedroom, so could be an issue if not with the 'loved one'....

We had breakfast included which was quiet good. A variety of fresh fruits (really nice) cereals, and a selection of hot breaky to order. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was very nice.. great steak and good wine selection.

Signage in the carpark to the rear lift could be better. That was compensated when after checking out, we found a note on our windscreen that they had washed it, complimentary.. a lovely surprise !

Whilst the Executive king was a tad more expensive, they are much newer rooms than the basic and have a lot more 'ambiance' if that is what you are after.
Very Good Hotel/service for a Country town - Thanks

Room Tip: Go the Executive King and not the standard if within the budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Secure undercover parking in basement with quick and easy access to rooms. No hassle check in. Free WiFi. Mini-bar well stocked good variety. Room reasonable - Queen room is a little cramped and the bathroom is not quite up to scratch. Some mold on tiles and shower glass. Bed comfortable and linen clean. TV pointless only has a few boring channels. Restaurant called the Attrium is attached to hotel and is very good. Some of the best steak I have had in a long time. Reasonably priced. I would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here because our usual hotel in Wangaratta was fully booked. Paid an extra $65 a night for this hotel as it was listed as 'superb' in booking engines. We were very disappointed with the overall experience from the 5 star restaurant prices (for average food) to the experience of listening to snoring from the room next door through painfully thin walls and the rattle of an ancient air conditioner. Great check in/out staff a small compensation.

Room Tip: Ask for one with solid walls if possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked a newly refurbished King room. The check in was extremely friendly and efficient. Undercover car spaces plentiful. Signage could be improved as we had a bit of trouble finding the room which was in a new section.upon entering the room the size was amazing. Plenty of room to spread out and a little balcony overlooking the back street. The bathroom was great with a huge shower and some nice amenities.
The bed was so comfortable I found it difficult to get up. We ordered toast for room service and was great to be able to toast it ourselves with the toaster provided. Would have been nice to have some power points by the bed though but that is just a pet hate of mine.well lit room with an air conditioner that works and not too noisy. Very impressed and will hopefully be back

Room Tip: Choose one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is a safe bet. The rooms are simple but adequate. Service is excellent and the on site restaurant is a great added benefit. The dinner menu was good and the cocktail bar busy. The breakfast buffet was good also. For a 4 star motor inn this place does a good job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway

Address: 29-37 Ryley Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wangaratta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.