We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Derailleur

Cafe Derailleur
38 Norton Street, Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5722 9589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and coffee made with experience and passion opposite Wangaratta Railway Station in this quirky and unique neighborhood cafe. Breakfast from 7am, Lunches from 11:30am, easy parking and relaxed atmosphere. Courtyard and street dinning options available. Licensed from 7am and reservations accepted. 7Am-4pm Monday - Wednesday 7am - 10pm Thursday Friday and Saturday 7am - 11pm
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good coffee, well priced and yummy meals and cakes in a quirky setting. It is the coolest place in Wangaratta and fast becoming "the" place to be.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wow! how all cafes should be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was blown away with the service, brekky and coffee. I had the french vanilla slice and it was better then the one I ate in Paris. My mother inlaw had thick sour dough toasted with homemade strawberry jam and a generous butter on the side. The cafe has quirky things to look at and it is buzzing with locals, always a good sign! I will go back when staying there again(Wang) as the menu looked wonderful and I am having the cooked brekky next time! Only one grumble, but not to sure if it may of been my fault as I was chatting too much! That was the coffee was a tad cool but it was good coffee!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The only negative thing I have to say...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

about this fantastic quaint little corner coffee shop, is that their takeaway coffee cups are far too small! haha! But seriously, best coffee in town. Directly across the road from the Wangaratta Railway Station. So, perfectly situated for that last minute morning coffee before your train leaves. Nice little selection of light snacks too! Friendly service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

A pearl! Great food, coffee, service is tops and the home made vanilla slice is heavenly! Retro furniture and my coffee arrived on a vintage tray from the glory days of Surfers Paradise. The service is warm, friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Melbournes cafe culture in Wang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a great find, right next to the Wangaratta Train Station. Lovely staff, fun tea cosines (made by a staff member - I hear) , great tea and wholesome food. I treasure in the rough of Wangs cafe offerings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Derailleur also viewed

Wangaratta, Victoria
Wangaratta, Victoria
 
Wangaratta, Victoria
Wangaratta, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe Derailleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Derailleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.