We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fork and Tap

The Fork and Tap
51 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand (Formerly The Tap)
03 442 1860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Family Fare, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited during the afternoon, and the service, beer and food were all excellent.Some of the best ploughmans lunch I have encountered. Amazing ciabatta bread

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    81
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was fresh and delicious. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere was great. Beautiful location to sit, relax and unwind.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fork and Tap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great for kids and good old pub atmosphere the playground is fantastic. And the little touches like iceblocks being available and the pool table and foos ball make this a lovely place to spend time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“the fork and tap -- highlight of arrowtown trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

after a fairly active trip in new zealand, the boyfriend and i had a lovely quiet day in arrowtown. this place is wonderful! there is only a small stretch of shops and restaurants, with the fork and tap on one end of buckingham street. we had dinner here and the whole experience was fantastic!

first of all, the building is awesome. it is an old stone building which has a historical protection from the town. second, the prices are very reasonable. in general, the meals are $15-25 which is a good $10 less than other restaurants in town. plus, they have the same menu (and the same prices) for both lunch and dinner. third, the servings are immense! they do not skimp on the food here, that's for sure.

i ate the pork belly burger which was truly amazing. probably one of the top two pork sandwiches i have ever eaten in my life -- the pork had been braised in hoisin sauce and was really tender and tasty. the bf ate the special of the night which was a rib eye steak, 250 grams. he ordered it rare and it was perfectly cooked to his specifications. they have a very well stocked bar and we were very pleased with our speights cider.

although the food/prices are great, the real winning point for this restaurant is the ambience. this is where the locals come to relax and catch up with friends. there were very few tourists in the restaurant. i happened to strike up a conversation with 2 locals who live across the street and come every thursday. in a matter of moments, they had outlined an itinerary for my next trip to new zealand, whenever that might be, and gave me their contact info for when i find myself back in this area. it was not a lengthy conversation but really was the highlight of my meal. it was refreshing and heartwarming to find such happy, friendly people.

there are a lot of great restaurants in arrowtown but seriously, don't miss the fork and tap. the boyfriend and i just went through our mental list of restaurants on the north and south islands and we cannot think of any place better in terms of ambience and food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great little country bar with outside seating and safe play area for the children of all ages, Fantastic range of food reasonably priced

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fork and Tap also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Fork and Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fork and Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.