We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar

Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar
28 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
03 442 1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lunch on the green in Arrowtown was fantastic. The stables lay it on fast and friendly. Thanks to the chef for a perfect fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    53
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had dinner on a Saturday night.

Waitress very friendly - her suggestions on the menu were great.

Sat outside initially - was not a problem to move to an inside table when it became chilly.

Portions were good. Food was tasty.

Would go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“From Pizza to Smoked Angus Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ate at Stables twice during a short break in Arrowtown. The first night we chose from the pizza menu and had a very tasty and reasonable meal. However, we were so taken with the meals being served to other tables nearby that we decided to eat there the following night and have the full deal. We then had the smoked Angus steak and belly of pork with crackling - both were excellent and filled us without need for desert. Despite that we did succumb to share a blueberry cheesecake which the chef was just introducing to the menu. All round excellent with a cheery and efficient waitress and friendly chef who was only to happy to discuss his technique for smoking the beef. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cosy meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I dined at Stables last week. We were in Arrowtown for a long weekend and
liked the look of the restaurant. We had a very enjoyable experience. The meals were tasty and we were pleased with our choice.
We dined in the room at the back of the restaurant. It was a cold and rainy night out and this was the warm part of the premises. Our host was warm and friendly and we would recommend the Stables to friends and visitors to Arrowtown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

great service, yummy food, good atmosphere catered for my vegetarian needs and my gluten free auntys dietary requirements the fire was going cool tunes playing ill definitely be going back here

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.