We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, appalling service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar

Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar
28 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
03 442 1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Decent food, appalling service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were seated alone upstairs and the wait staff basically forgot about us. Our food (good, but not great) arrived after an hour's wait.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

On the night we went, we had the place to ourselves which was great. The atmosphere in the restaurant was great. The vegetarian curry was really great. The arancini balls were not that great, but not terrible either. We had heard mixed reviews about the place, but were quite happy with the service and the food when we went. We would happily go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint little place...nice food lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Had lunch here on our last day of our extended holiday due to being snowed in...

Feels like you have stepped back in time when you walk in.....furnishngs and stone work id very quaint.
The food was lovely and well priced....wine was also reasonable.
Staff were lovely, helpful ,chatty and on the ball.
Nice place for a laid back meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Awesome ambience and terrific food here...
Came in by chance, very pleasantly surprised with the great menu, excellent choices and delicious food.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Without doubt the best dining experience I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our family of four where ushered upstairs to a lovely warm spot in front of a roaring wood fire in beautiful surroundings with the added bonus of having the entire upper floor to ourselves! The service and food was fantastic, the waitress was very polite and cheerful and overall it was just the most beautiful experience in the most beautiful town in New Zealand! I will be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.