We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual take away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pesto - CLOSED

Pesto
18 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand
+64 3-442 0885
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Cromwell, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not your usual take away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Pizza and fries take away special for a cooking free late tea. Great food as usual but large pizza not worth $10 extra for 2 extra slices. Recommend go for medium size for better value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    39
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Love the Blue Room. Great pizza which was cooked just right. A restaurant that understands pizza is not all about tons of greasy cheese.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Delicious food, Excellent knowledge of food and wine matching by 'Mick'. Prompt service and reasonable serving sizes. Bought the cook book!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the pasta from a restaurant specializing in pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Store bought (dried) pasta in an Italian restaurant? Canned tomatoes too sweet for the sauce for the meatballs. My husband asked for some parmesan to give his meatballs more flavour and they brought out a shaker not even freshly grated parmesan? My "special " was read to us off the blackboard by the waitress but it sounded tempting enough. Clams with tagliatelle and a preserved lemon, dill and Pernod sauce : of the 6 clams 2 were practically raw and the sauce needed to be thickened up with a bit of creamed fraiche or something to make it coat the pasta. The "pizza crust " entrees was nice though so they must have a good Bacon supplier

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were disappointed in our dinner here for a number of reasons. Firstly, our meal was delivered almost 45 minutes after ordering, despite it being only one pizza! Simple pizza and pasta establishments like this is should be able to serve in a more timely fashion.
Secondly, our waitress poured the wrong wine for one of us, not showing us the bottle first to check. However, we stopped her after the glass was no more than half full and she said we may as well have it; that she'd worked a double shift and was really tired and so made a mistake.
On the plus side, a dietary requirement was properly dealt with.
Lastly, when our waitress brought the bill, she said because of the delay in our food, she wouldn't charge for the incorrect half glass of wine! Nor should she, when we didn't order it and it was her self-admitted mistake that it was poured at all !
All in all, rather disorganised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.