We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fine dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millhouse

The Millhouse
Millbrook Resort, Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand
+64 3-441 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alexandra, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great service. Tasty, inventive food attractively presented. My husband and I each had duck, but different dishes. One from the Grill menu and one off the Main menu. Both were excellent. The desserts were works of art they were so beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had read good reviews and decided as we were staying on site at the resort to go to their fine dining restaurant. From the time we entered the restaurant the service was top notch. The food was of a high standard, unfortunately we were full and could not do dessert so decided to return the next evening just for that course. So glad we did as it was one of the best presented desserts I have ever had and it tasted amazing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Idyllic spot by the lake at Millbrook - especially nice on a warm evening sitting outside. Nice food, though we only tried the standard menu which was pretty normal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
“Great use of local produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Local produce cooked with love. Warm and hearty meals to keep you warm. Yummy desserts. Great views over the pond.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztraylya
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I don't know if it is possible to meaningfully add to the splendid reviews of Millhouse Restaurant.

Wonderful ambience; warm and welcoming on a cold June evening; Fabulous food, and
each member of the table staff was friendly and very helpful.

Our meal was created, constructed and presented by artistic, masterful chefs with an obvious love for their art.

This wasn't just a meal, it was an experience; a truly special treat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millhouse also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.