We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millhouse

The Millhouse
Millbrook Resort, Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand
+64 3-441 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It really is excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wow. This was amazing!
My mum got a couple of vouchers off GrabOne. My parents visit Millbrook at least once a year and love it and this time they brought my brother and I along for dinner.
The food was really amazing! The amuse bouche was a venison dish and was delish! My entree was the short rib which my dad recommended and it was great. The others ordered the calamari and chorizo salad and the rabbit and were all very impressed with their entrees. For my main I ordered steak with market veges and the potato option. So delicious. Steak was cook perfectly for me not bloody but deliciously tender! The others had the market fish, the duck and the lamb. We were all so full by this point but knew dessert was to come! Dessert was amazing. I ordered the chocolate and raspberry assiette which was the best dessert I've had in ages. Mum ordered the same as me, my brother ordered the tastes of mango and my dad the hokey pokey ice cream. All were great.

The waiters were very nice and friendly. One also asked the kitchen for their secrets on certain dishes for us. :) thanks!

Will definitely be back. The GrabOne voucher really made it great value too! We hope you so another voucher like this in the future ... We will keep our eyes peeled!

Highly recommend The Millhouse!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear SuzyHunting,
Thank you for reviewing The Millhouse. Sounds like you and your family got to really experience everything that The Millhouse stands for - delicious food, relaxed environment and found memories for all guests! The Millhouse team have won New Zealand Beef and Lamb Awards for Excellence for the last two years and use our locally sourced seasonal produce in all their meal. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the food as the team know they’ve done another good job when we read reviews like yours. We hope to see you and your family back here in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Word of Caution ....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On the basis of mostly excellent reviews on this site, we made a booking 2 months before our short stay in Arrowtown and received written confirmation.
Arriving 5 minutes before our reservation time, we were dismayed to be shown to the only table for two in a large dining room, situated hard up against the open kitchen servery and adjacent to two large tables totalling about 30 people in what appeared to be a wedding party! The noise level was already unacceptable, so we asked to be seated elsewhere, only to be told there was nowhere!
Then the maître d' offered to take us across the lawn to the golf club dining area, which was entirely inappropriate to the evening we had planned, had dressed for and had confirmed.
We asked why they hadn't booked us at one of only four tables for 2 in an adjacent alcove to the main restaurant, to be told that "those people arrived earlier than you", although we had arrived early! When we asked why our reservation of two months previously was not sufficient to hold one of those tables, he had no answer.
This is absolutely no way to run a restaurant.
As friends of ours in upmarket hospitality remarked, this was "very shabby and unacceptable service".
It took us another hour and a half to secure another dinner reservation in Arrowtown, so thanks Millhouse, for ruining our special evening out.
We would like to hear from your management about this treatment we received - you have our email address.
HH

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Parnellian, Sincere apologies from the team at Millbrook about your experience at
The Millhouse Restaurant. Our Food and Beverage Manager will be in touch with you personally to invite you back to experience Millbrook Resort and The Millhouse Restaurant. We can only apologise just now for your disappointment and look forward to seeing you at Millbrook again in the near future. Kind regards, the team at Millbrook Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A difficult one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food was some of the best we have had on the South Island, the venison was absolutely amazing and cooked perfectly. The chocolate soufflé at the end was exquisite . Now the but, service was not what I would expect from the money I paid. The local gentry were clearly dinning that night and had the staffs full attention, we had to refill wine glasses, water glasses and go to the counter to pay the bill. I am only a tourist but I expect equal attention.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Graham R, Thank you for reviewing The Millhouse Restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and that the chocolate soufflé was exquisite – what a great word to describe the food! We are disappointed to read your comments on the service and will pass your review to our team to ensure we learn from your feedback and evolve. As you will see from our other reviews, this experience is extremely rare and we hope you visit us again in the future to experience |
The Millhouse. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC, FANTASTIC, FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant! The food was fabulous, the service and friendliness of the staff wonderful. The presentation 5 star. Definitely a fine dining experience. We rolled out of the restaurant like little piglets, fully fed and contented. My partner was looking for somewhere to pop the question, yes marriage proposal and when he saw this place he thought it would be nice for dinner, well thats what he told me. I had no idea what was being planned until it happened so The Millhouse will always have a special place in our hearts. All that aside, we would recommend you try it as you won't be disappointed. Yes it is a bit expensive, however it is fine dining.

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Glanna R, First of all congrats on your engagement from the team here at Millbrook. The Millhouse Restaurant is a very romantic place, your fiancée has very good taste! Millbrook is a popular place for Central Otago weddings and I’d definitely encourage you to visit the Wedding pages of our website – or even come back and stay for your honeymoon. It’s wonderful to hear that The Millhouse has a special place in your heart and we really do hope to see you back here in the future even if it’s for your wedding anniversary!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our dinner was AMAZING at Millhouse. The service was impeccable and the food was the best meal we had in Queenstown. Will recommend that anyone visiting Queenstown go to Millhouse!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Dionne B, Thank you for taking the time to review The Millhouse Restaurant. It’s a great testament to the team at The Millhouse when guests like you recommend our restaurant to your friends and family. The Millhouse Restaurant have won many awards over the past couple of years but it’s reviews like yours which are the icing on the cake for us. We hope to see you back at Millbrook Resort in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millhouse also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.