We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate there twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millhouse

The Millhouse
Millbrook Resort, Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand
+64 3-441 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ate there twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed in the condos near there and went for "a dinner." It was so good, we cancelled reservations elsewhere two days later and went back. Lovely food, great service. Pricely but worth it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear TerrieRobbins,
Thank you for your recent post. It's lovely to hear that people enjoyed their experience at The Millhouse so much they came back again within the same trip. Every evening at the Millhouse the chefs and management team provide something a little bit different, making no two dining experiences the same. One thing that is consistent is the superb food, great service and relaxed atmosphere, resulting in what we believe is one of the best dining experiences in the area.
Once again thank you for taking the time to make your comments, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort and The Millhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Beautiful taster provided, compliments of the chef. All courses were beautifully presented and tasted great. Highly recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear 2bouys,
Thank you for your post. The Millhouse is one of Queenstown's best fine dining restaurants and the chef and manager pride themselves on the extra little touches that make dining at The Millhouse extra special. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and your comments have been passed on to the team.
Kind Regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience / Superbe degustation menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had heard from a friend in Auckland about this restaurant and sent a special request by e-mail to know if a degustation menu was possible.

We were blown away by the quality of the 5 courses with matching wines that were served to us during this wonderful evening. The staff was great (especially Paul), the place is spotless, I STRONGLY recommend to anyone that wants to experience a very well constructed degustation menu at a very reasonable price .

The only drawback if you are staying in Queenstown is the Taxi fare to get there, but they offer a shuttle service from Queenstown CBD (even though the schedules of the shuttle weren't that convenient for us) but none the less, GREAT experience, definitely on our list the next time we pass by Queenstown

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear tlps,
Thank you for your very kind words on your recent degustation meal at The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook Resort.
I have passed your comments on to our executive chef and his team, who are pleased they could exceed your expectations. We hope to be able to match your fantastic experience on your next visit. Please be sure to contact us before hand, so we can make the necessary arrangements.
Kind regards and many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A delicious meal that we thoroughly enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Had three course dinner here on 5 Jan and it was fantastic. Great views, good service, great wine and really tasty and quality food (best company helped too). Highlights for me were the chorizo and calamari salad and the beef omlette with the steak - gorgeous.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hi Kiwicossie,
Thanks for your post on The Millhouse. Really glad you enjoyed your meal with us. The chorizo salad is definitely a winner with most diners! Personally, the Game Trio accompanied by a local Pinot Noir is my favourite. We hope you get the chance to come back and visit us again when you're next in Queenstown.
Many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rats, rats rats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would have to start by saying that if not for the rats, we had a pretty good meal. It had been several years since my last trip to The Millhouse and back then it was a cheerful Italian resturant. On this trip I took our young kids, the service was good, and the scotish waitress was helpful. We were dinning outside and half way through the entrees were visited by a massive rat, it was enough to freak out the kids and then either it mustered some friends or decided to return another three times. At this point we moved inside, the restaurant manager did not once visit our table to apologies which is incredibly poor, and I was shocked that they could have not offered the kids some free dessert or even a comp glass of wine for our gross experience. Needless to say this was some pretty poor service, and I just hope that no international visitors have to experience this. (Timbo Deaker)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millhouse also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.