We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience / Superbe degustation menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millhouse

The Millhouse
Millbrook Resort, Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9196, New Zealand
+64 3-441 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience / Superbe degustation menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had heard from a friend in Auckland about this restaurant and sent a special request by e-mail to know if a degustation menu was possible.

We were blown away by the quality of the 5 courses with matching wines that were served to us during this wonderful evening. The staff was great (especially Paul), the place is spotless, I STRONGLY recommend to anyone that wants to experience a very well constructed degustation menu at a very reasonable price .

The only drawback if you are staying in Queenstown is the Taxi fare to get there, but they offer a shuttle service from Queenstown CBD (even though the schedules of the shuttle weren't that convenient for us) but none the less, GREAT experience, definitely on our list the next time we pass by Queenstown

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear tlps,
Thank you for your very kind words on your recent degustation meal at The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook Resort.
I have passed your comments on to our executive chef and his team, who are pleased they could exceed your expectations. We hope to be able to match your fantastic experience on your next visit. Please be sure to contact us before hand, so we can make the necessary arrangements.
Kind regards and many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A delicious meal that we thoroughly enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Had three course dinner here on 5 Jan and it was fantastic. Great views, good service, great wine and really tasty and quality food (best company helped too). Highlights for me were the chorizo and calamari salad and the beef omlette with the steak - gorgeous.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hi Kiwicossie,
Thanks for your post on The Millhouse. Really glad you enjoyed your meal with us. The chorizo salad is definitely a winner with most diners! Personally, the Game Trio accompanied by a local Pinot Noir is my favourite. We hope you get the chance to come back and visit us again when you're next in Queenstown.
Many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rats, rats rats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would have to start by saying that if not for the rats, we had a pretty good meal. It had been several years since my last trip to The Millhouse and back then it was a cheerful Italian resturant. On this trip I took our young kids, the service was good, and the scotish waitress was helpful. We were dinning outside and half way through the entrees were visited by a massive rat, it was enough to freak out the kids and then either it mustered some friends or decided to return another three times. At this point we moved inside, the restaurant manager did not once visit our table to apologies which is incredibly poor, and I was shocked that they could have not offered the kids some free dessert or even a comp glass of wine for our gross experience. Needless to say this was some pretty poor service, and I just hope that no international visitors have to experience this. (Timbo Deaker)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic New Years Eve degustation dinner. Very creative food and a solid wine list. Excellent service to match.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistently very good - classy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Easy to strongly recommend this place.

We've now eaten at the Millhouse at Millbrook several times - Queenstown being one of our favourite destinations.

Its a beautiful location, by the last green of the pictureque golf course, with a pond, baby ducklings, a genuine mill wheel turning, and inside, a fireplace and an atmospheric stonewalled room. If its warm enough we like to have a drink and entree outside with the view, then go inside for the main course as the evening gets cooler.. We're probably being pains, but it doesn't seem to worry the staff.

If I was picky I'd say neither the menu or wine list is that large, but they're sufficient and the main point is the food is sophisticated and very good indeed. I do remember once having a problem with slow service but mainly its been friendly and very good.

Its a small restaurant and usually quiet, but I understand (see another review I read below) how a big group could make it noisy, but that's true of most smaller restaurants.

This rates high as a serious night out

.And Millbrook is a be-au-ti-ful resort.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Hi John2a,
Glad you enjoyed your recent experience at the Millhouse Restaurant. The best way to enjoy it as you say with a pre-dinner drink by the pond, watching the cute ducklings and the sunset over the course, then head inside to the warmth for dinner. The menu does change seasonally and so there is always something a little different to try. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards the team at Millbrook Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millhouse also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.