We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mondo

Cafe Mondo
Ballarat Arcade | 14 Buckingham St Arrowtown, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
034420227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Healthy, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The true Local favourite!!!Arrowtown's Breakfast and Lunch specialists.An sunny private coutyard off the main street and Cafe Mondo has New Zealand famous Allpress Coffee and Moa Beer. First class Central Otago wines from Rockburn and Peregrine.Come and enjoy Arrowtowns only freshly squeezed juices, with great friendly service and tasty food
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We chose Cafe Mondo because of it's attractive location down an alley way off the street and because the prices seemed more reasonable than others in the area.

The staff were friendly enough, and the service effecient, unfortunately the food was a let down. The $8 berry smoothie tasted like natural yoghurt and nothing else. We ordered a steak sandwhich and a chicken burger. The steak was overcooked and the onions seemed like they had come out of the fridge-ice cold. The chicken burger literally looked like it had been cut in half and the other half given to another customer. The taste was ok but not what you would expect from a cafe. The chips were nice. Overall, although its one of the cheaper places in Arrowtown, I would still expect more for the roughly $45 we spent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chilled Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cafe Mondo is a lovely little place situated in the beautiful arrowtown.

We had beers and a scone after a day exploring the area by bike. The scone was delicious and the beer fantastic and refreshing. (Moa blonde).

Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food and lovely service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently dined at Cafe Mondo in Arrowtown with my husband and child and friends with their 2 children. We were given exceptional service and the kids had a ball playing in the sunny courtyard and with the toys. The kids loved their fluffies and specially made fruit salad. Us adults had amazing meals. I especially loved my calamari salad, mondo combo juice and hot chocolate. Delicious! The Moa beers went down a treat when we returned later in the day. Thanks Cafe Mondo, we'll definitely be back for more!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Consistently good food and coffee. Great breakfast and good lunch selection. They also have a big range of teas

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“coffee in the lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great coffee and scones.......nice ambience outdoor seating in the sun in charming downtown Arrowtown!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mondo also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Cafe Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.